ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Hurt Locker film review - the dangerous job of bomb disarmament

Updated on August 10, 2018
Journey * profile image

Nyesha loves writing about cooking/recipes, restaurants, movies, weddings, and poetry.

The Hurt Locker movie

The Hurt Locker is an extraordinary, visually intense and realistic movie depiction about the dangers of working at bomb disarmament. The Hurt Locker was the winner of the Best Picture award at the 82nd annual Academy Awards. The Hurt Locker also won for various other categories including Best Director, Kathryn Bigelow. The Hurt Locker movie won 6 Academy Awards in all.

This film, The Hurt Locker is not for the faint at heart. A fictional depiction of the war in Iraq, it is presented in documentary style with the film editing and offers a very realistic platform. The director of the film, The Hurt Locker has spoken about telling the story of individuals who have what is perhaps the most dangerous job in the whole world. That job is bomb disarmament.

The story begins with following a team leader and his two colleagues as they set about this dangerous work of bomb disarmament. Tragically the team leader is killed. There are sad scenes of his personal affects being gathered and packed to be sent home to his family.

Clearly, his colleagues had an excellent rapport with him. They grieve him and will miss him.

Shortly after, the team leader is replaced by a much more arrogant man First Class Sargeant William James (played by Jeremy Renner) and his colleagues have a lot more difficulty getting along with him.

It is so important to be able to trust your partners in this type of work and they are presented with a man who just likes to do his own thing. He even throws his headset to the ground to discourage the needed communication with his partners.

While he is very arrogant, he is also incredibly highly skilled and very gifted in his work. His work is of course heroic as he is able to disarm bombs with quick precision and get many people out of danger. Included among the missions for Sargeant William James are the disarmament of car bombs as well as bombs on suicide bombers who regret the decision to place a bomb on the body and want to relinquish it.

photo credit: imdb.com
photo credit: imdb.com
photo credit: imdb.com
photo credit: imdb.com
photo credit: imdb.com
photo credit: imdb.com

First Class Sargeant William James' distinguished career in bomb disarmament is described in The Hurt Locker movie

During The Hurt Locker film, it is noted that William James has disarmed over 800 bombs during his career. The film depicts only one of his failed attempts and it is very gripping and sad.

The film, The Hurt Locker will definitely keep your attention. You'll be very focused on what is going on from beginning to end.

photo credit: imdb.com
photo credit: imdb.com

Rated: R

Directed by Kathryn Bigelow

Starring: Jeremy Renner, Anthony Mackie, and others

I rate it: 4/5 stars ****

Theatrical release poster

photo credit: wikipedia.com
photo credit: wikipedia.com

The Hurt Locker Movie Trailer

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      7 years ago from USA

      Hey bogerk, thanks for posting a comment to this hub and sharing your opinion about The Hurt Locker. I actually haven't seen Jarhead. I'll add it to my list!

    • bogerk profile image

      bogerk 

      7 years ago from Midwest

      I finally got around to seeing The Hurt Locker just recently. Was it a good movie? Sure. Was it a Best Picture? I don't see how.

      Nothing I haven't seen before, even as recently as Jarhead only a few years back.

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi TINA V, yes it was a good one. I'm glad you'll give it a try. Thanks for commenting.

    • TINA V profile image

      TINA V 

      8 years ago

      I missed to watch this movie. I'll try to look for it next time. Thanks for the review.

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      :-), thanks for commenting Hello, hello.

    • Hello, hello, profile image

      Hello, hello, 

      8 years ago from London, UK

      Judging by that machine gun I don't think I go anywhere near it. Thank you for your review.

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Thanks Sandyspider!

    • Sandyspider profile image

      Sandy Mertens 

      8 years ago from Wisconsin, USA

      I enjoyed watching this movie. Great review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)