ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Immortals--A Robwrite movie Review

Updated on November 18, 2011

IMMORTALS (Two & a half stars out of Five)

The 'Sword and Sandals' genre isn't as popular as it once was, but it refuses to die. Every year or two, we get another sword-swinging saga of Greco-Roman heroes hacking horrendous bad guys down to size. The latest is Immortals, which is a muddled and mediocre example of a Gods and Gladiators flick.

Directed by Tarsem Singh, Immortals covers much of the same ground as the recent Clash of the Titans, only without the advantage of being a remake of a cult favorite as Clash was. The films steals aspects of other 'Sword and Sandals' films like Troy and The 300, except that it doesn't have the star power of Troy or the exciting action sequences of the 300.

The good news is that the film looks amazing. The effects are superb and most of the sets are actually CGI images. The bad news is whoever wrote the plot doesn't have a very good working knowledge of mythology. The story gets some of the names right but almost everything else is a revisionist version of the Greco-Roman tales of Olympian Gods and heroic warriors we've all heard.

The plot begins with narration by a character known as "the Old Man" (John Hurt) but who has a better known name. The Old Man tells us that there once was a war between the Gods and the Titans. During this war, a bow capable of killing Gods was created, called the Epirus Bow. After the Gods defeated and imprisoned the Titans in Mt. Tartarus, they hid the Epirus Bow. A young Zeus (Luke Evans) is training a young, handsome peasant named Theseus (Henry Cavill) to be his ace-in-the-hole in case the Titans should be freed.

And that is just what King Hyperion (Mickey Rourke) wants to do. He is quite peeved at the Gods for not answering his prayers when his wife was dying, so now he wants to free the Titans from Mt. Tartarus and find the Epirus Bow to wipe out the Gods of Olympus once-and-for-all. To find what he wants, he needs the prophetic skills of lovely virgin Oracle Phaedra (Freda Pinto), who is having visions of Theseus. Theseus doesn't want to get involved until Hyperion does something personal he can't forgive, so he joins the people who are opposing Hyperion and quickly finds not only a new weapon, but also becomes the leader of the good guy's resistance.

The plot jumps from one action sequence to the next, many of them uninspired. The Gods pop in and out of the film at convenient moments, whenever our hero is in a spot he can't get out of alone. (What kind of hero needs to be continually rescued by Gods?)

It's always fun to see Micky Roarke in evil mode, and he does a nicely reserved performance here. Our hero Henry Cavill does an adequate job as a nobel man of action, which is good practice for him since he's playing Superman in the upcoming reboot of the Man of Steel Franchise. John Hurt makes his weak dialogue sound good and Freida Pinto just gets to look pretty, including one nude scene in a gratuitous sex scene.

The director tries to copy some of the action sequences of the 300 but doesn't manage to make his scenes nearly as exciting as the 300 fights were. (He even uses the same "Their numbers are useless in this small area" line). The Troy-like scenes of an enemy trying to breach a massive wall are a not overly exciting (the siege of Hogwarts in the last Harry Potter film was more entertaining.) There are several disturbing scenes of violence and torture. And when we finally see the dreaded Titans, they seem more like the leaping mutant zombies of I Am Legend than the Titans of Mythology.

The Immortals is a weak fantasy film, but if your expectations are not too high, it might be a fairly entertaining way to spend 110 minutes.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Robwrite profile imageAUTHOR

      Rob 

      7 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Thanks Jools; I enjoyed the 300. It was better than Immortals.

      Thanks for reading;

      Rob

    • Jools99 profile image

      Jools Hogg 

      7 years ago from North-East UK

      Good review Rob. I loved 300 because it was so different with the whole graphic novel thing going on but I'm not as keen to see Immortals. Might be a Sky Movies watch when it eventually gets onto satellite TV in the UK. Voted up.

    • Robwrite profile imageAUTHOR

      Rob 

      7 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi Flora; It didn't impress me. You aren't missing much by skipping it.

      Thanks for stopping by,

      Rob

    • Robwrite profile imageAUTHOR

      Rob 

      7 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi Cogerson; 46% sounds about right. It's very mediocre. I figure it'll do pretty well at the box office since nothing else that came out this weekend is likely to be a hit. And it is Vet's Day weekend, which means that Friday will be a bigger box office day than usual.

      Good to hear from you, as always,

      Rob

    • FloraBreenRobison profile image

      FloraBreenRobison 

      7 years ago

      Hmm. Doesn't sound like my kind of film. 2.5 out of stars, eh? Not your kind of film either.

    • Cogerson profile image

      UltimateMovieRankings 

      7 years ago from Virginia

      Nice review....it is not doing to well on rottentomatoes with a 46% rating the last time I checked...so that seems close to your 2.5 stars. But it is kicking some butt at the box office....15 million on Friday alone...should be the number one movie this weekend. I like Rourke so I am glad to see you mention he is good in his role. I am attaching this to my Top Films of 2011 hub....and as always I hope it brings you some traffic....voted up and useful.

    • Robwrite profile imageAUTHOR

      Rob 

      7 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi Steve; Ths one isn't as much fun as 'The 300'. It's nothing special. I think you're better off waiting for it on DVD.

      Thanks for reading,

      Rob

    • Steve Lensman profile image

      Steve Lensman 

      7 years ago from Manchester, England

      Hmmm I liked 300 but I think I'll give this one a miss at the cinema. I'll catch it on DVD next year. Thanks for the review Rob.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)