ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

In The Nick Of Time: A Movie Review

Updated on September 13, 2011

I saw someone with the name of InTheNickOfTime77...and it brought to mind a movie I had seen called In The Nick Of Time, starring Johnny Depp. Whenever I think about that movie, and it is funny I should see someone using that name as I was actually just thinking of it again last night even though I had not seen it in over a year...I always wonder what I would do if I was in his position.

I can't imagine anyone watching this movie and not asking themselves that question. This man and his little girl are kidnapped, and his little girl is held as a hostage against him, with the condition that if he does not kill the governor they will kill his daughter. He does everything he can to find a way to save his daughter while not killing the governor, even to warning her that he has been sent to kill her. But they always seem to be one step ahead of him and it seems he simply has no choice but to kill her if he wants to keep his daughter from being killed.

I think about it and I would like to say I would do the same as he did. I would like to think I would choose the right thing no matter what...But is the right thing always black and white? Is it always clear what the right thing is? Sure, murder is wrong, but so is allowing someone to kill your child. On the other hand, if you killed the target and thus saved your child...well, the way I look at it is like this...If you give in to their demands and kill the target to save your child, what promise do you have they will keep their word and not kill your child and you as well...they are killers after all...And even if they do let you live, you will not only have the guilt over your head, they will control your life with blackmail. So really, it would make more sense to try to save your child while trying to save the governors life at the same time. If you kill, the guilt is yours...If they kill the guilt is theirs.

This movie is intense and action packed from the start, not to mention the little girl is incredibly cute. Johnny Depp makes a believable dad doing everything he can to save his beloved daughter. I am sure everyone has seen this movie by now...But if you haven't, it is certainly a must see.

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • tlmcgaa70 profile imageAUTHOR

    tlmcgaa70 

    7 years ago from south dakota, usa

    Thank you Eiddwen, I am glad you enjoyed it. Have a great day and thank you for stopping by.

  • Eiddwen profile image

    Eiddwen 

    7 years ago from Wales

    A great review and thanks for sharing.

    Take care

    Eiddwen.

  • tlmcgaa70 profile imageAUTHOR

    tlmcgaa70 

    7 years ago from south dakota, usa

    hi Parrster, lol, i know huh, been thinking about doing that myself. really good movies are worth watching over...and over...lol. thanks for stopping by...have a great day...

  • parrster profile image

    Richard Parr 

    7 years ago from Australia

    Great movie, in fact, you've inspired me to get it out and watch again.

  • tlmcgaa70 profile imageAUTHOR

    tlmcgaa70 

    7 years ago from south dakota, usa

    hi huba90...thanks for stopping by, i also like these kinds of movies, they are intense and make you stop and think. i don't have children of my own, but i do not find it hard to imagine what i would do if i did. i agree with you that i would rather die than let anything happen to them. wow! 20 stories and they lived...totally amazing!

  • huba90 profile image

    huba90 

    7 years ago from Egypt

    I really like this kind of movies,about the main question i think that i couldn't kill my daughter nomatter what,and i would rather be dead before anyone touch here.

    About what happens to her after that,only god can answer.

    Not from a long time ago someone here in Egypt felt from the 20th floor and guess what,he didn't die!!

  • tlmcgaa70 profile imageAUTHOR

    tlmcgaa70 

    7 years ago from south dakota, usa

    Hi Cogerson, thank you for stopping by...and you are right...i should have mention Walken, he made an incredibly wicked bad guy. I never noticed about the time though, i was to caught up in the action, lol. i will have to make a point to notice it next time. thanks for bringing it to my attention.

  • Cogerson profile image

    UltimateMovieRankings 

    7 years ago from Virginia

    Nice review of a movie that I am sure many of Johnny Depp fans might not even remember. Christopher Walken is great as the bad guy. The movie moves at the same pace as real time....just like the classic movie High Noon...when Walken tells him has 90 minutes to kill the senator...it is 90 minutes later in real time before the movie ends. Voted up and useful.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)