ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Julie and Julia film review

Updated on May 26, 2017
photo credit, imdb.com
photo credit, imdb.com

Julie and Julia the movie - Based on a true story

Julie and Julia is a movie based on a true story as the actress, Amy Adams plays the character Julie.

The film, Julie and Julia actually advertises to be based on two true stories because it shows the life of Julia Child played by Meryl Streep as well.

There is a 50 year divide between the intersecting story lines of the two characters.

Julia Child was an American living in France, tired of government work and ready to try something new by going to cooking school. She found her niche as an expert cook and authored cookbooks that became renowned in America and internationally.

The more present day character Julie sees Julia Child as a legend and uses her legacy for inspiration.

Julie is working in 2002 in a Manhattan office near ground zero. It is a development corporation that works to help those affected by the tragedy of 9/11.

Julie is enthusiastic about trying her best to help others who may have lost a loved one or who might be experiencing health problems from the change in air quality. When she feels like her hands are tied, she goes the extra step to approach her supervisor and ask what could possibly be done for that desperate person she has holding on the phone line.

Julie makes slow and steady progress, trying her best at her job but she is feeling disenchanted and unfulfilled.

Julie has a husband and a cat and they have just moved from Brooklyn to Queens. She feels that it might have been a mistake since the new apartment is so small and she is feeling cramped in the inadequate space and unhappy.

Her husband is always surprisingly unwavering in offering support and reassurance and reminds her that this will be a good change for them, plus the apartment is close to his job.

Eventually, Julie decides (again with her husband's encouragement and support) that it would be good for her to have something she can call all her own. Julie makes a connection with the fact that she is a huge fan of the cook, Julia Child who passed away in 2004 at the age of ninety-one.

With the Julie and Julia film that is set in 2002, Julie still has high hopes to meet Julia one day. Julie decides that her personal project will be to prepare every single recipe in Child's Mastering the Art of French Cooking. She gives herself the deadline of one year to complete the project.

Blogging


With her husband's support, she also decides to write an accompanying blog about the whole experience, chronicling the project progress as she completes each recipe and shares the food with her husband and/or friends.

How did the dish taste? What was the difficulty level in preparing it? Can she continue on and really complete this project within a year? Julie uses Julia for inspiration all the way.

To her surprise, Julie gets quite a lot of followers on her blog. She also ultimately obsesses about it and the the whole project, much to her husband's chagrin. All of it starts to cause problems between them. How will they get through the trials on the other side?

Additionally, does Julie ever get to meet Julia in person? Rent this film today to find out!

Julia Child

1988 photo of Julia Child, photo credit, wikipedia.com
1988 photo of Julia Child, photo credit, wikipedia.com | Source

 123 minutes

Rated PG-13

Starring Meryl Streep, Amy Adams, Stanley Tucci and others

I rate it 3.5/ 5 stars

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Thanks for commenting Sage!

    • Sage Williams profile image

      Sage Williams 

      8 years ago

      Thanks so much for this review. I have been wanting to see this movie. Will definitely have to do so now.

      Sage

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Nancy's Niche, dohn121 and hubpageswriter, thanks for your comments.

    • profile image

      hubpageswriter 

      8 years ago

      Very interesting review.

    • dohn121 profile image

      dohn121 

      8 years ago from Hudson Valley, New York

      I heard a lot about this movie and have been wanting to see it. Thanks for sharing this review!

    • profile image

      Nancy's Niche 

      8 years ago

      Thanks for the review---I intend to see this show because the previews look good and I enjoy the extreme talents of Meryl Streep...

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi ethel and alekhouse, thanks for commenting. alekhouse, I'm glad the review is raising your interest in going to see the movie! I think you'll like it. ethel, I definitely agree. Meryl Streep is such a versatile actress.

    • alekhouse profile image

      Nancy Hinchliff 

      8 years ago from Essex Junction, Vermont

      Loved the hub and that full length photo of Julia Child. Haven't seen this flick yet, but looking forward to it, especially now that I read your review.

    • ethel smith profile image

      Eileen Kersey 

      8 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      Think I might enjoy this film. Meryl Streep is so verstaile.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)