ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Kill la Kill review

Updated on October 27, 2015
Kill la Kill anime cover
Kill la Kill anime cover | Source

Kill la Kill Preview

Information

Anime title: Kill la Kill (キルラキル)
Genre: School-life, ecchi, comedy, action
Rating: R – 17+ for violence and profanity
Duration: 24 episodes (24 min per episode)

Status: Complete

Synopsys: "Ryuuko Matoi is a vagrant school girl traveling from place to place searching for clues to the truth behind her father's death—the "woman with the scissor blade." The journey has led Ryuuko to Honnouji Academy.

Honnouji Academy—where an elite group of students is granted superhuman power by their special uniforms called the "Goku uniform." With the power of the uniform, the student body president, Satsuki Kiryuin rules the students with unquestioned power and fear.

Satsuki holds the secret to the "scissor blade" and Ryuuko confronts Satsuki to gain information but... Was their encounter a mere coincidence or fate? The clash between the two will soon consume the whole academy!" (Source: http://myanimelist.net/anime/18679/Kill_la_Kill)

First Impressions

I went into this anime with very little knowledge of what it was actually about. There was a sudden explosion of Kill la Kill cosplayers roaming around the local anime conventions, postings of fan art on every anime website, and every mention of Kill la Kill brought on a very lively discussion between my friends. My first impression was one of a serious, drama filled anime with a deep plotline.

Five minutes into the first episode, I realized how wrong I was.

Source

Review

Kill la Kill is ridiculous. Everything about it is absolutely, positively, without a doubt, something that should NOT be taken as a serious anime. However, is it worth the time to watch it? ABSOLUTELY.

Why?

While there is nothing revolutionary about Kill la Kill, it does hold a certain amount of entertainment value for the watcher. Each character was purposely designed to be over-the-top with their assigned archetype, creating an environment of hilarious chaos while simultaneously encouraging the viewer to continue watching (if for nothing more than to watch the shenanigans). The ecchi part of Kill la Kill is pretty much what you would expect of it to be. Hot young high school girls transform into slutty outfits after an overdrawn transformation sequence that shows them nude for longer than really necessary. There are plenty of panty shots as well.

Unlike most ecchi anime, the fanservice in Kill la Kill actually contributes to the plot. The plot, of course, being that clothing is trying to take over the world. (Seriously, the clothing has magical powers and comes to life!)

Overall, the thing that makes Kill la Kill most worth the watch is, in fact, the plot. Setting aside how cheesy it sounds, the show shifts into a setting that is (mostly) serious. All the events that seemed pointless at first end up lending a huge part near the end, and there is a plot twist that I can guarantee you will never see coming.

Conclusion

I highly recommend that anime lovers watch Kill la Kill at least once. If you have tried to watch it before, go back and force yourself to get through it. You won’t be displeased!

Personal Rating: 8/10 for overall story, characters, and soundtrack.

Ryuuko and her rival Satsuki, both transformed by their clothing.
Ryuuko and her rival Satsuki, both transformed by their clothing. | Source
Gamagoori Ira
Gamagoori Ira | Source

Personal Favorites

Ira Gamagoori

Gamagoori is the head Student Council Disciplinary Committee. He is loud, dedicated to his goals (and the goals of others), and has great pride in what can only be described as a sense of duty, justice, and gentlemanship. His body has the amazing ability to never be the same size at any given point, and he transforms into a weird bondage mummy monster. What’s not to love?

Mako Mankanshoku
Mako Mankanshoku | Source

Mako Mankanshoku

Mako is the main character, Ryuuko Matoi’s, best friend and fellow classmate. She is a sweet, kind, and goofy girl who is generally the source of both comedic relief and a driving force in the story line. As shown in all her “hallelujah” scenes (where Mako has a spotlight on her and she gives a short, sometimes confusing speech about something that other characters have not noticed), Mako is incredibly observant where it counts and she is very considerate towards her friend’s needs.

Episode List

Episode and Air Date
Title
Japanese Title
Episode 1 (October 3, 2013)
"If Only I Had Thorns Like a Thistle..."
"Azami no Gotoku Toge Areba" (あざみのごとく棘あれば)
Episode 2 (October 10, 2013)
"So Sexy She Might Pass Out"
"Kizetsu Suru Hodo Nayamashii" (気絶するほど悩ましい)
Episode 3 (October 17, 2013)
"Junketsu"
"Junketsu" (純潔)
Episode 4 (October 24, 2013)
"Dawn of a Miserable Morning"
"Totemo Fukō na Asa ga Kita" (とても不幸な朝が来た)
Episode 5 (October 31, 2013)
"Trigger"
"Hikigane" (銃爪(ヒキガネ))
Episode 6 (November 7, 2013)
"Don't Toy With Me on a Whim"
"Kibun Shidai de Semenaide" (気分次第で責めないで)
Episode 7 (November 14, 2013)
"A Loser I Can't Hate"
"Nikumi Kirenai Rokudenashi" (憎みきれないろくでなし)
Episode 8 (November 21, 2013)
"I Will Wipe My Own Tears"
"Ore no Namida wa Ore ga Fuku" (俺の涙は俺が拭く)
Episode 9 (November 28, 2013)
"A Once in a Lifetime Chance"
"Chansu wa Ichido" (チャンスは一度)
Episode 10 (December 5, 2013)
"I Want to Know More About You"
"Anata o Motto Shiritakute" (あなたを・もっと・知りたくて)
Episode 11 (December 12, 2013)
"I'm Not Your Cute Woman"
"Kawaii Onna to Yobanai de" (可愛い女と呼ばないで)
Episode 12 (December 19, 2013)
"Spit Your Sadness Away"
"Kanashimi ni Tsuba o Kakero" (悲しみにつばをかけろ)
Episode 13 (January 9, 2014)
"Crazy for You"
"Kimi ni Barabara... Toiu Kanji" (君に薔薇薔薇…という感じ)
Episode 14 (January 16, 2014)
"Ride Like the Wind"
"Isoge Kaze no Yō ni" (急げ風のように)
Episode 15 (January 23, 2014)
"Don't Stop Me Now"
"Dōnimo Tomaranai" (どうにもとまらない)
Episode 16 (January 30, 2014)
"The Girl Can't Help It"
"Onna wa Sore o Gaman Dekinai" (女はそれを我慢できない)
Episode 17 (February 6, 2014)
"Tell Me Why"
"Naze ni Omae wa" (何故にお前は)
Episode 18 (February 13, 2014)
"Into the Night"
"Yoru e Isogu Hito" (夜へ急ぐ人)
Episode 19 (February 20, 2014)
"Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head"
"Tadoritsuitara Itsumo Amefuri" (たどりついたらいつも雨ふり)
Episode 20 (February 27, 2014)
"Far from the Madding Crowd"
"Tōku Gunshū o Hanarete" (とおく群衆を離れて)
Episode 21 (March 6, 2014)
"Incomplete"
Mikansei" (未完成)
Episode 22 (March 13, 2014)
"Tell Me How You Feel"
"Kuchibiru yo, Atsuku Kimi o Katare" (唇よ、熱く君を語れ)
Episode 23 (March 20, 2014)
"Imitation Gold"
"Imiteishon Gōrudo" (イミテイション・ゴールド)
Episode 24 (March 27, 2014)
"Past the Infinite Darkness"
"Hateshinaki Yami no Kanata ni" (果てしなき闇の彼方に)
OVA (September 3, 2014)
"Goodbye Again"
"Sayonara o Mōichido" (さよならをもう一度)

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • iviskei profile imageAUTHOR

      Kyou Capps 

      3 years ago from In your computer, stealing your internet.

      She's a nutjob, but I love her so much too. XD

    • Mena Guy profile image

      Mena Guy 

      3 years ago from New York

      I love Mako so much lmfao she's crazy

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)