ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

LAW ABIDING CITIZEN: A REVIEW

Updated on July 24, 2012

OFFICIAL TRAILER

Source

GENERAL INFORMATION

Run Time: 109 Minutes


Budget: $40,000,000


Gross: 473, 343, 413


Rating: Rated R for strong bloody brutal violence and torture, a scene of rape, and pervasive language.

WHAT IS YOUR TEN YEAR PLAN?

Have you ever had so much revenge and bitterness swelling up inside you, that you could hardly contain it?

"Law Abiding Citizen" was released on October 16, 2009 under the direction of F. Gary Gray. If you are unfamiliar with Gray, he also directed a classic heist movie, "The Italian Job"(2006). This movie stars, Gerard Butler(Shelton) and Jamie Foxx(Rice) Before we delve into the summary and so forth, lets take a glimpse into the incredible actors and their careers. Gerard Butler has played in big hits such as "Ugly Truth", "300", and "Phantom of the Opera". Jamie Fox has starred in "Collateral" with Tom Cruise and "Ray", and "Miami Vice", just to name a few. These men have both played diverse roles, whether it be a hilarious comedy or a suspense thriller.

"Law Abiding Citizen" is a movie about revenge, the attempt to redeem what has been taken. In the opening scenes, the most precious treasure in Shelton's life was taken from him, his wife and daughter. He immediately goes to the "system" to receive his due justice, but nothing can be done. The one who had brutally murdered his daughter has been set free due to a plea bargain. So what does he do? He decides to do what no normal man would do; he goes against the seemingly unjust system and takes things into his own hands. He not only targets the one who killed his family, but also everyone involved in his family's case. So what does he do to enact his revenge. Well, if I leaked that information out the movie would be ruined. So, you will have to see for yourself!


Why Some Poeple Do No Like This Movie

I love this movie for several reasons. But before I share those reasons, I am going to share a reason why some viewers do not like this movie. And that is due to the fact that some of the stunts Shelton pulls to carry out his revenge seem implausible and unrealistic. To this response, I point back to the title I used to illustrate my review: "What would you do if you had ten years?" Shelton had ten years to plot and devise methods to get back at those who had taken away what was most dearest to him. Even so, realism was probably not Gray's goal in this movie; but instead to show what happens inside a man's heart when he looses something as precious as his family.


Why I Love This Movie

So, why is movie incredible? I love the actors Gray chose to star in this movie. The chemistry between Foxx and Butler is, to say the least, is brilliantly amazing! They played their roles with emotion and power. I had no problem understanding what Butler was trying to convey in his role. In fact, his role even caused me to wonder what I would do if put in the same situation. And Foxx did a remarkable job portraying the know-it-all detective who wanted the easy way out.

This movie is one of those movies that keeps you on the edge of your seat, because you are constantly wondering how Shelton is able to pull off his revenge in prison. Not only are they seemingly implausible, but He is in prison? How is a locked up man able to make such irrevocable chaos in such short amount of time? These questions and much more can be revealed once you get off that couch and go find yourself a copy of this movie!

What are your thoughts? Did you like the movie? What could have made the movie a better success? Please share!


Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • easylearningweb profile image

      Amelia Griggs 4 years ago

      Yes, I agree...it was a really good movie!

      Welcome to hubpages and good luck with your writing. :-)

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Thank you for your comment!

    • bernard.sinai profile image

      Bernard Sinai 4 years ago from Papua New Guinea

      This film was great. Vengeance is best served cold.

    • CrisSp profile image

      CrisSp 4 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      I haven't seen the movie but your review sounds interesting. So, I'm noting it down and will go check it out; will come back to you. Welcome to HP. I look forward to reading more from you.

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Thank you all for your feedback, CrisSp, thanks for the encouragement! If you have any recommendations, let me know!

    • Civil War Bob profile image

      Civil War Bob 4 years ago from Glenside, Pennsylvania

      Josh...good hub, voted up, interesting. Great movie; I wonder how many REAL guys are "out there" doing that kind of brain work for whatever agencies various countries have? I've seen this one 3 times. It also makes me think, "Vengeance is Mine, I will repay!" Grace and peace.

    • CrisSp profile image

      CrisSp 4 years ago from Sky Is The Limit Adventure

      Hey Josh! So, as promised I've seen the movie today and it's my kind of movie actually. Thrilling, I'm glad I've read your hub about it or I wouldn't know. I like the twist at the end although it's somehow predictable. I don't care how Shelton did his impossible revenge, I enjoyed the movie. Thanks to you. I had a relaxing day off!

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Well I am very glad you enjoyed and thank you kindly for the encouraging words on my hub!

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      @CWB, I have thought the exact same thing! Kind of a scary thought. Thanks for the vote and the read!

    • TToombs08 profile image

      Terrye Toombs 4 years ago from Somewhere between Heaven and Hell without a road map.

      I am like the tide; I come and I go. And sometimes, I leave behind stinky fish.

      Tag, yer it...no tag backs. NEENER NEENER!!! :)

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      What??? I do not even know what to say, I am laughing to hard! Here I come to see what insightful comment you have on the movie, and I get thrown into a tag game where I can not even tag? I love it TT! :)

    • Civil War Bob profile image

      Civil War Bob 4 years ago from Glenside, Pennsylvania

      Josh, which is the scary thought, that you thought that there are real guys "out there" or that you think like I do? ;p

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      What do you think it is? :)

      Hehe, both CWB, both :)

    • TToombs08 profile image

      Terrye Toombs 4 years ago from Somewhere between Heaven and Hell without a road map.

      *giggling like a little kid stealing candy*

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      LOL, I do not think I ever giggled when I stole candy or cookies from the jar; I think I was more nervous I would get caught :)

      But, anyways, did you ever watch this movie I reviewed, just curious?

    • TToombs08 profile image

      Terrye Toombs 4 years ago from Somewhere between Heaven and Hell without a road map.

      Actually, I did. I enjoyed the movie very much and loved the ending. :) Nice review, too.

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Thank you very much for the comment, you should check out my other review, I loved Glory; brilliant cast of actors and and portrayal of controversial themes!

    • TToombs08 profile image

      Terrye Toombs 4 years ago from Somewhere between Heaven and Hell without a road map.

      I will have to do that this evening. :)

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Ok sounds good! :)

    • Michelle Taylor profile image

      Michelle Taylor 4 years ago from New Jersey

      How is it I never heard of this movie before! I love both Gerard Butler and Jamie Foxx and after watching the trailer and reading the review I will definitely be adding this to the Netflix que!

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      I do not know, it is an awesome movie! You will love it!

      Thanks for stopping by and reading and commenting, I really appreciate it! :)

    • Steve Orion profile image

      Steve Orion 4 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      Good Hub! I did like the movie, though I don't remember wanting to see it again after first watching it, so its re-watch potential is rather low, in my opinion. It was, though, definitely a solid addition to the revenge-flick genre, a genre I do love. Thanks for the review and keep them up!

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Thanks for stopping by! I loved this movie and did enjoy its re-watch value, but we are all different, that is why movies are so great! Check out my glory review as well! You are welcome for the review!

    • MargaritaEden profile image

      MargaritaEden 4 years ago from Oregon

      Looks like a very serious movie, I would have to close my eyes in certain parts :) but looks like it's worth watching, I like movies with interesting twists, great review Josh!

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Margarita,

      Yes, very serious, but great movie!

    • Sunshine625 profile image

      Linda Bilyeu 4 years ago from Orlando, FL

      I never saw or heard of this movie. How did I miss this? It's my kind of flick! Excellent review. I will check out this movie because of your first hub!:)

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Linda,

      You so should check out this movie! Thanks for stopping by and giving this little hub some love! I appreciate it! Let me know what you think of the movie.

    • tillsontitan profile image

      Mary Craig 4 years ago from New York

      Okay Josh, now that you made me go back and read this hub I have to see the movie. I like the way you describe it without giving away the farm. You made it sound interesting and I like the 'edge of your seat' factor.

      Voted this up, useful and interesting!

    • Janine Huldie profile image

      Janine Huldie 4 years ago from New York, New York

      Josh, I will be honest and tell you that I never did actually see this movie before reading your article, but after reading it you have made me want to see it. So I do believe you did your job in writing this article to explain and persuade others to want to see this movie. Great job and as always voted up and shared!!

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Janine,

      That is totally awesome! I am glad you were persuaded to go see it from my review. That means I have done my job. :). Thanks so much for everything!!

    • menash profile image

      menash 4 years ago from USA

      One of my favorite movies, these days all acting sucks but, what still has a little talent is the story line which this movie has a great one, from start to finish was genius. great review...

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Mary,

      I am glad you enjoyed this hub and also that it makes you want to see it! :)

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      menash,

      I totallya greewith you regarding acting! :( Glad you enjoyed this review!

    • Vellur profile image

      Nithya Venkat 4 years ago from Dubai

      After reading your review, I want to watch this movie. Great review without giving much away.

    • josh3418 profile image
      Author

      Joshua Zerbini 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      Vellur,

      Thanks for the good feedback; thas was the goal of my review! :)

    Click to Rate This Article