ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Music

Labrador Retriever, the 36th single by Japanese Girl Pop Music Group AKB48

Updated on July 1, 2017

The Type A Regular Edition cover for the single

On the cover are Sayaka Yamamoto, Minami Takahashi, Mayu Watanabe, and Haruka Shimazaki. The girls had to go to Hawaii to film the music video for the song.
On the cover are Sayaka Yamamoto, Minami Takahashi, Mayu Watanabe, and Haruka Shimazaki. The girls had to go to Hawaii to film the music video for the song.

About the single and the track listings

Japanese pop music/idol group AKB48 have released lots of singles throughout their career. On May 21, 2014, the group released their 36th single called Labrador Retriever. Labrador Retriever followed the release of the single Mae Shika Mukanee. That single was released on February 26, 2014 and it also was the last single to feature Yuko Oshima as the center of the single. Here are the track listings for the original CD as well as the Theater Edition for Labrador Retriever: however, the regular edition track listing follows along with information about Labrador Retriever.

Regular CD edition track listing

  • Labrador Retriever
  • Kyou Made no Melody
  • Type A exclusive track is Kimi wa Kimagure
  • Type K exclusive track is Itoshiki Rival
  • Type B exclusive track is B Garden
  • Type 4 exclusive track is Heart no Dasshutsu Game (this one has no vocals).
  • The no vocals version of Labrador Retriever
  • The no vocals version of Kyou Made no Melody.
  • The no vocals versions of all of the tracks listed in the third track.

Theater Edition track listing

  1. Labrador Retriever
  2. Kyou Made no Melody
  3. Futari wa Dekiteru (features the participation of Haruna Kojima and Kenji Kitagawa)
  4. The no vocals version of Labrador Retriever
  5. The no vocals version of Kyou Made no Melody
  6. The no vocals version of Futari wa Dekiteru

Why is the song Labrador Retriever a significant release?

The same Japanese girl group that introduced fans to famous singles such as Heavy Rotation, Sayonara Crawl, and UZA once again show that they can write songs which are upbeat and entertaining. Labrador Retriever marked the first time this was a single in which some of the members were participating in it. These members were Nana Owada, Nana Okada, Miki Nishino, Ryoha Kitagawa, Shu Yabushita and Nagisa Shibuya. This was also the 9th time in AKB48 history that only one girl was featured on the cover. As of this writing, Labrador Retriever has sold 1, 778, 592 copies. It spent 11 weeks inside the top 200 of the music charts. Mayu Watanabe was chosen as the center for this single. Watanabe who is now 21 made news back in 2011 when she released her photo book called Mayuyu. Mayuyu features the idol singer dressed in a school uniform or she is dressed in bikinis of different colors, thus showing a sexy side of her that people may not have seen before. AKB48 released their 37th single as a group called Kokoro no Placard on August 27, 2014. Following that single, AKB48 would go back to work and release their 38th single called Kibouteki Refrain. Mayu Watanabe once again would take the center position for a single. This time, she would be joined by Sakura Miyawaki.

Labrador Retriever was first performed during an AKB48 concert at the National Olympic Stadium on March 29, 2014. It also became the best-selling single in 2014 in Japan selling almost 1.8 million copies!

The song Labrador Retriever performed LIVE

Rate the AKB48 song Labrador Retriever

Cast your vote for AKB48 Labrador Retriever


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.