ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Legend of the Seeker: Review - Creator

Updated on March 27, 2010

Our Heroes

Episode Airdate: 3/27/10 - Creator

This review contains spoilers so if you have not seen this episode yet, please do not read this review until you have.

I always begin by explaining that I have read the books and understand that the show is just an interpretation of the story in the books and not an exact reenactment. Please feel free to read my other Hubs about Legend of the Seeker and the series of books it's based on, The  Sword of Truth by Terry Goodkind.

OK, where do I begin...

I think the premise of this episode isn't really bad.  Richard has done some strange things and we already know that he serves the Keeper in a variety of ways, the characters know that as well so they aren't really telling us anything new.  They waste half this episode showing us clips from previous episodes this season so it seems like they are using this episode as an introductory episode for new watchers - sometimes you DO need to do that so I can't complain too much about it.

What I don't care for is how the writers have so radically changed certain aspects of the story.  The Sisters of the Light and the Prelate created this Creator to pass judgment on Richard.  I have to say that its an odd twist - and if all of them have given their Han into this one being - who expended it to close the rift, then we as viewers have to ask - Are the Sisters, of the Light or Dark, even relevant anymore???  It looks like all of the Sisters of the Dark were killed trying to make a sister who could kill Nicci and steal her Han (which also houses Richard's Han).  From this episode, all of the Sisters of the Light, and I guess we can assume the Prelate too, died (or at least are no longer magical beings) in order to make this super-being who used the power up.  Making the Sisters of the light into "bad guys" probably wasn't necessary...

So I don't really know what's going on with the Sisters but this episode didn't move the story along at all, Richard is no closer to finding the Stone of Tears.  We find out that Darken Rahl can displease the Keeper (though we don't see any consequences of that), we had a great unerworld scene with Darken Rahl firing up the 2 Sisters of the Light.  And we know that Richard is a good guy even though he may unwittingly be serving the Keeper which we already know is happening. 

I know that I often compare the Books to the show and I'm also the person who says that the readers really shouldn't do that.  I have to say that as main characters are so completely changed by the show writers, the readers really need to separate these stories - they aren't the same anymore, they aren't remotely the same anymore. 

This no longer can be considered a different interpretation - as I have been stating in all of my episode reviews.

The way this is being presented doesn't remotely resemble the story in the books.  That may be what the writers are going for - I don't really know - but I don't see this as a good thing.  The book, because it's a book, and not a syndicated television show, has a flow and continuity to it that the show doesn't have   The episodes being presented are recognizable every so often as a Sword of Truth story but most of them are only recognizable due to having the same named characters and I have to say that while we were learning about them in Season 1 that was OK, in this season it's not.

Almost none of these episodes have any effect on the next one and I think it's time for the writers to believe in the intelligence of the show watchers and build this storyline correctly.  Not every episode has to resolve with Richard, Kahlan , Zedd and Cara walking up a grassy hill together into the next episode.  This book and the story presented in it is very involved (as are all of the Sword of Truth books) and the story is very good.  A few continuous episodes with this storyline would really be appreciated - though since the characters have been dramatically changed, I'm not sure how to do that...

For people who have never read the books, the writers are presenting to you a good show, but probably not the best show they could be.  While Richard is at the Palace of the Prophets, you should have met Grratch, a baby gar that Richard befriends.  Nathan Rahl and Warren, prophets who help Richard immensely to figure out how to defeat the Keeper with the Stone of Tears - I can't see how we will ever meet these two wizards, and Nathan Rahl is an ancestor of Richards, yes an ancestor - he's about 1000 years old and one heck of a character.  I hope the writers treat you to some real parts of the story presented in the book because it's great material you would enjoy.

I'm not even going to rate this episode since there really isn't anything to rate - it truly felt like an episode created simply to explain the show's premise to viewers - and that's fine - but rehashing 20 clips from earlier this season isn't something I should rate. 

Next week is a rerun of the episode "Resurrection" which was an absolutely awesome episode featuring Denna.  Sorry if this was too long and featured too much "I hope they do it differently" statements but I do believe the writers could be giving you much better episodes that incorporated things from the book, without being "the book".  So many things have been changed, I'm not even sure what I'm watching anymore...

ONE LAST THING:  I've mentioned the fact that Richard is the most powerful wizard born in 3000 years and they have mentioned it a few times on the show without really doing anything with that knowledge.  I find it interesting that even in this episode, they mentioned it again.  Somewhere down the line, some way, they will give Richard his magic back.  Without it, there isn't much more to building Richard as a character - but I think it's coming soon...

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • dblyn profile imageAUTHOR

      dblyn 

      8 years ago from Staten Island, NY

      I have to admit that I don't know what's coming for the show. In the books, I can tell you that there are many more books and a lot more of Richard and Kahlan's story to be told. As things stand now, in the show, Richard and Kahlan CAN'T get married because they haven't resolved the point that her power would destroy him. In the books, this point is already resolved, Richard figures out how to get around Kahlan's Confessor power. Until this is resolved in the show, they won't be married. Darken Rahl is an agent of the Keeper and he never turns away from that. In the books, Richard and Kahlan finally do get married at the end of Temple of the Winds. Hopefully we'll see that someday..

    • profile image

      enita  

      8 years ago

      wat happens next you guys are really not getting anywhere dose richard defeat the keeper or the story just stop the next thing we know the sisters of the light turn bad and the seeker might die they name another seeker the prophecy changes i mean you guys should get the story right i think there should be a triumphant scene here if not your viewers might leave also do kahlan and richard get married these are the questions that taunt me why the not be a scene where the keeper betrays rahl and he destroys him then rahl seeks vengeance at least they will have the same enemy

    • dblyn profile imageAUTHOR

      dblyn 

      8 years ago from Staten Island, NY

      Verna is definitely a very good character in the show (though I think they casted her a bit too old looking). Your explanation for her would be a good way to keep her around and I agree with you that she should be kept involved in the storyline. It sounds like you've read the books so you know how important she really is - but I think the Sisters of the light are important too - though not as they are currently used... Should be interesting to see how they resolve all of these plot strings...

    • profile image

      Arsinuwin 

      8 years ago

      I did actualy enjoy this eposide. I found that the Sisters of the Light was a valid addition to the episode because it helped me to answer the questions I had since watching the eposides Dark and Perdition. After Richard left the Palace of the Prophets despite the prophecy and the sister's warnings the eposides never brought in what the Sisters of the Light will do about what they precieve as Richard's threat to the world. I thought that the producers bringing in the Sisters of the Light in the eposide Creator was a nice touch because the audience saw what the Sisters of the Light thought about Richard through the Prelate telling Maya that Richard is the most loyal and dangerous servant of the Keeper and must be destroyed to save the world. What happens to the Sisters of the Light now they are without their han and according to the Prelate's words fulfiled their divine mission? This could be a conclusion to the Sisters of the Light thread or it could be a steping stone to what they are going to do with this group. What happened to Verna after she disappered at the end of Perdition? She must have gone back to the Palace so she was either amoung the Sisters who gave their Han or it is possible she got demoted to being a novice like in the books. If she was a novice again wouldn't she be spared the fate of the Sisters giving away their Han? The Prelate could not have been too happy with Verna's actions in Perdition. While I don't think we will be seeing Verna again I hope we do, I really like her character.

    • thevoice profile image

      thevoice 

      8 years ago from carthage ill

      unique hub thanks

    • dblyn profile imageAUTHOR

      dblyn 

      8 years ago from Staten Island, NY

      I agree and I'm trying to give the writers some leeway too. I do understand that this is TV and things need to be done differently than in a book, but I don't need high-tech and really, there isn't much high-tech to the book. I can't imagine building, say, the Mud People's village, would have been costly and so much of Richard and Kahlan's relationship is built there that it amazes me that we haven't seen them. I'm not what the future holds for the show, but I still love it, and the books - I just want there to be a little more consistency between the two...

    • profile image

      Necros 

      8 years ago

      I'm sure they'll give Richard back his powers soon too and I also feel I need to speak up for the writers. The way things are done isn't only up to them. The studio (Disney-ABC) and the format requires them to make all these changes. They can't include everything because there simply isn't enough time and as I've read about it some of the content just can't be shown in an adventure show like LOTS. And their budget isn't really huge either, so that's a restriction too.

      But I think I read that Warren will be in at least one of the remaining episodes. I'm not sure though.

      Maybe if season 3 will move to Syfy they can tackle some more serious stuff. I'm sure it would be one of the most viewed programs there. Perhaps they'd get a bigger budget too. Okay, the last part is wishful thinking.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)