ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Les Miserables - A Review of Les Mis the Movie

Updated on January 4, 2014
Source

To love another person is to see the face of God

Les Miserables, the 2012 release, is a musical drama based on the long playing broadway musical of the same name, which in turn was based on the 1862 novel by Victor Hugo. If you are put off by actors singing their parts rather than speaking them, don't be, or at least suspend judgment until you have seen this movie. Once you see it you realize that the emotional impact of the story requires something more than just words. Based on the accolades the film has received within a month of its release, I'm not going out on a limb to say that Les Miserables is a classic. The screenplay, direction, casting and the acting make this movie a film for the ages.

The Bishop shows his mercy

The tragedy of Fantine

The Plot

The plot of Les Miserables is simple but emotionally profound. Sin, redemption, love and forgiveness. It's all there. The movie opens with the hero Jean Valjean, played by Hugh Jackman toiling as a prisoner. He has been in jail for 19 years. We later learn that his offense was stealing a piece of bread for a nephew who was starving. At the end of the day he is handed parole papers by his prison guard Javert, played by Russell Crowe.

On the edge of starvation, Jean Valjean tries to find work, but his prison background makes for a poor resume.

He is offered food and shelter by a bishop, played by Colm Wilkinson, who portrayed Jean Valjean on the stage in 1985. Still desperate, and hardened by his years in prison, he steals a bagful of silver and stalks off into the night, only to be arrested and brought to the bishop in shackles. The bishop tells the gendarmes that the silver was a gift to Valjean, and he hands him two more silver candlesticks saying that he had apparently forgotten them. This is a key dramatic part of the film. The bishop's generosity transforms Jean Valjean into a repentant soul who swears to do right. He breaks his parole and takes on a new identity. Upon discovering that Jean Valjean has broken parole, his former jailer Javert swears to find him and bring him to justice.

Jean Valjean eventually becomes a prosperous factory owner and mayor of his city. One of his employees, Fantine, played by Anne Hathaway, is found to be secreting money to her illegitimate daughter and is dismissed by the factory manager, unbeknownst to Jean Valjean. Desperate to support her daughter, Fantine turns to prostitution. After she assaults an abusive man she is arrested by none other than Javert, who is now moving up the law enforcement ranks. She's saved and taken to a hospital by Jean Valjean, but not before Javert recognizes him as someone from his past.

Valjean learns that a man has been arrested and is about to be incarcerated on the belief that the man is the fugitive Jean Valjean. With his new found humanity, Valjean simply cannot abide an innocent man's incarceration and confesses his identity before he goes to the hospital to see Fantine, who is dying. He swears to her that he will take care of her daughter, Cosette (Isabelle Adams).

Valjean finds little Cosette in the custody of a perfectly slimy couple of innkeeper con artists known as the Thenardiers, played to perfection by Sacha Baron Cohen and Helena Bonhom Carter. The scenes with the Thenardiers are the only comic relief in the movie. Jean Valjean ransoms Cosette and takes her with him as his new daughter.

The movie then absorbs itself into the beginnings of the revolutionary fervor that swept France at the time. The ever so diligent inspector Javert masks himself as a revolutionary, only to be discovered as a Quisling. He is handed over to Jean Valjean who, presumably, will mete out his justice. I shall stop there. If you are not familiar with the story or have not seen the play or movie I shall not rob you of this scene. Another dramatic scene has Jean Valjean carrying a wounded and unconscious rebel to safety. The rebel would later to marry Cosette, something she and her husband only learn toward the end.

It's exhausting to watch Les Misearables because the actors are singing at you in full throat, often in close ups. Tom Hooper, the director, opted for the actors to sing their parts live rather than lip synching. The effect is powerful. Although Russell Crowe performs with his own rock band, his voice cannot be described as theater-ready. Nonetheless Crowe gives it his best and the result is good. Hugh Jackman could perform a musical part in any play.

The closing scenes of the movie involve the fate of Jean Valjean, Javert, Cosette and her new husband. Bring tissues, and be prepared to use them.

Instant classic sounds like a cliché, and perhaps it is. But Les Miserables is just that, a classic. I'm confident that years from now anyone reading this will agree.

Copyright © 2013 by Russell F. Moran

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • chateaudumer profile image

      David B Katague 

      4 years ago from Northern California and the Philippines

      Hi Russ, just joined Hubpages. My wife and I saw the movie in a big screen as soon as it was release here in Northern California last year. I will never get tired of watching the movie and indeed it is a classic. Have a good day!

    • rfmoran profile imageAUTHOR

      Russ Moran - The Write Stuff 

      5 years ago from Long Island, New York

      Thanks for stopping by and for your kind comments. Yes, Crowe did an excellent job although he's not a singer by trade.

    • rfmoran profile imageAUTHOR

      Russ Moran - The Write Stuff 

      5 years ago from Long Island, New York

      You will love it!

    • pstraubie48 profile image

      Patricia Scott 

      5 years ago from sunny Florida

      thank you for this glowing review. I have the theatrical production of this but not yet the movie. You have convinced me that I must go .

      Sending Angels to you this evening...:) ps

    • hawaiianodysseus profile image

      Hawaiian Odysseus 

      5 years ago from Southeast Washington state

      Our son saw the play performance in California and strongly suggested that my wife and I go see the movie. I am so glad we did. You know, I simply did not recognize Hugh Jackman in the opening scenes. He looked emaciated, reflecting the degree to which an accomplished character will go in order to bring realism to the role. What a voice! And I gotta say that even if the music director did lower the key in several of the songs for Russell Crowe, he did a stand-up job overall.

      Your review is excellent. I can see the attorney's sharp recall of detail reflected in your writing. Thank you for sharing. Best wishes for continued success here on HubPages.

    • Monis Mas profile image

      Aga 

      5 years ago

      I will give it a try :-)

    • rfmoran profile imageAUTHOR

      Russ Moran - The Write Stuff 

      5 years ago from Long Island, New York

      Monis, it will restore your faith in musicals. It's really actors singing their lines. Sounds weird but it works

    • rfmoran profile imageAUTHOR

      Russ Moran - The Write Stuff 

      5 years ago from Long Island, New York

      I haven't seen the musical yet either, but I'm planning on it after seeing this great movie.

    • Monis Mas profile image

      Aga 

      5 years ago

      I am a bit hesitated to watch it, since I am not so much into musicals, but I just may have to! Thank you for the interesting review!

    • Deborah-Diane profile image

      Deborah-Diane 

      5 years ago from Orange County, California

      I loved the movie. I never saw it performed live on a stage, so I am especially thrilled that I was able to enjoy the movie!

    • rfmoran profile imageAUTHOR

      Russ Moran - The Write Stuff 

      5 years ago from Long Island, New York

      A true classic in every sense

    • rfmoran profile imageAUTHOR

      Russ Moran - The Write Stuff 

      5 years ago from Long Island, New York

      Colm Wilkinson does a great job as the bishop in the movie

    • rfmoran profile imageAUTHOR

      Russ Moran - The Write Stuff 

      5 years ago from Long Island, New York

      One of my top favorites as well.

    • rfmoran profile imageAUTHOR

      Russ Moran - The Write Stuff 

      5 years ago from Long Island, New York

      Thanks Louise. don't miss it!

    • rfmoran profile imageAUTHOR

      Russ Moran - The Write Stuff 

      5 years ago from Long Island, New York

      Thanks Bill. Yes, Hathaway was great

    • breakfastpop profile image

      breakfastpop 

      5 years ago

      I saw the show on Broadway twice and I saw the movie. I thought the movie was fantastic and very true to the show. The performances were amazing.

    • vocalcoach profile image

      Audrey Hunt 

      5 years ago from Idyllwild Ca.

      You have given an excellent review of this absolutely amazing, touching and inspiring movie. I saw the stage version with Colm Wilkenson a few years ago - twice. ( I also was musical director for community theater including Les Miserables.) I wanted to "sing along" with every song :)

      Although my history includes just about every musical ever made, none can compare with Les Miserables and it continues to be by far, my favorite.

      Thank you Russ. Voted up +++ and sharing!

    • dikedykewilliams profile image

      dikedykewilliams 

      5 years ago from Nigeria

      This is one of my best movies ever! I love this...

    • Louise Lately profile image

      Louise Lately 

      5 years ago from London, UK

      I really want to see this film! I saw the musical in London and it was great:)

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      5 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Thanks Russ! We saw it a few weeks ago and loved it. I thought Hathaway was spectacular.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)