ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Lincoln- A Movie Review

Updated on March 23, 2014
Source

Lincoln- The movie

5 stars for Lincoln

Lincoln

The weekend of November 9th, brought the much anticipated release of the motion picture Lincoln starring, Daniel Day Lewis, Sally Field, Tommy Lee Jones and countless other great actors too numerous to mention.

The movie has been met with mixed reviews, but whether you liked the movie or not, you can be sure of a couple of things.

One: It was a very interesting history lesson indeed.

Two: Daniel Day Lewis is a shoe in for an Oscar nomination!

History in the making.

The movie opens to a bloody war scene where you first see Lincoln talking to black soldiers who have fought in battle. The whole movie centers around the time when Lincoln has just been reelected and was trying very hard to push for the 13th amendment to end slavery.

This is where many people's views may differ as to what Lincoln's agenda was during this time, or what kind of a man he was. Did he just want the bloody war to end? Sure he did, but it was quite evident in his Emancipation Proclamation, that not only did Lincoln want to end the war , but that he truly felt that every man deserved to be treated equal. Did he have reservations about blacks intermingling with whites? Sure he did, that was evident in the times in which he lived and the way that people were brought up but was he a cruel, uncaring man concerning the slaves, no and if you take anything from this film, I hope it would be that.

Lincoln held strong in his belief that everyone under God is equal, and he managed to convince enough votes to have the Bill passed, making History that would forever change the House of Representatives.

Source

Daniel Day Lewis

I have loved Daniel Day Lewis since I first saw him in the Last of the Mohicans, back in the day. I have enjoyed every performance no matter what movie he is in. He is just so convincing in every part he plays and in Lincoln he certainly does not disappoint, and actually goes above and beyond what my expectations were for this movie.

I don't think I have ever seen anyone play Lincoln as convincingly as Lewis did as his portrayal of the president. He completely becomes Lincoln in his whole persona. His mannerisms, his gentleness; especially in parts where he is interacting with his children.

But he also brings the weariness that Lincoln must have felt during those war years. His eyes, showed it all, it was as if he was letting you through to Lincoln's soul, somehow Lewis channeling him and allowing you to see inside him and what he was feeling. Someone mentioned that he aged 10 years in only 1 year by his outward appearance, evident also by not only the stress of being the most powerful man in the nation, but also the stress of trying desperately to comfort his wife Mary, whom was never quite the same mentally since their son Willie died: she also blamed Lincoln for their older son Robert joining the military.

I think this movie and movies like this are important, lest we forget the past and the horrors of war. This particular war still being the bloodiest time in our history, and a history that without Abraham Lincoln, would have just been that shameful time in our past, instead of the most controversial and ground breaking vote that has ever passed through this nation.

This is a world of compensations; and he who would be no slave, must consent to have no slave. Those who deny freedom to others, deserve it not for themselves; and, under a just God, can not long retain it.
--April 6, 1859

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • ladyjane1 profile imageAUTHOR

    ladyjane1 

    5 years ago from Texas

    Thanks khmazz i hope you enjoy it.....cheers!

  • khmazz profile image

    Kristen Mazzola 

    5 years ago from South Florida

    Great review, I wasn't sure if I wanted to see it or not (some people have told me that it is too slow) but now I think I will give it a try :)

  • ladyjane1 profile imageAUTHOR

    ladyjane1 

    5 years ago from Texas

    Thank you!

  • travel_man1971 profile image

    Ireno Alcala 

    5 years ago from Bicol, Philippines

    Thanks for this 5-star review. Can't wait to see this very well-noted film. I'm a Lincoln fan.

  • ladyjane1 profile imageAUTHOR

    ladyjane1 

    5 years ago from Texas

    You are welcome tirelesstraveler and I hope you enjoy. Cheers.

  • tirelesstraveler profile image

    Judy Specht 

    5 years ago from California

    This is on my list to see. Thanks

  • ladyjane1 profile imageAUTHOR

    ladyjane1 

    5 years ago from Texas

    THanks sis thanks for reading and if you see the movie I hope you enjoy it.

    drbj great to see you, thanks for commenting and I completely agree with you, in my book there is not a better actor around than Lewis. Cheers.

  • drbj profile image

    drbj and sherry 

    5 years ago from south Florida

    I saw 'Lincoln,' too, ladyjane, and I agree - Lewis is a consummate actor and should win the Academy Award for this role next year. He immersed himself in the role and I never felt like I was watching him be Lincoln. He was Lincoln!

    Excellent review. Voted up.

  • Whidbeywriter profile image

    Mary Gaines 

    5 years ago from Oak Harbor on Whidbey Island, Washington

    Great review, I want to see the movie now. You did an excellent job at drawing us (those who haven't seen the film) in and want to get more. Thanks.....sis love ya

  • ladyjane1 profile imageAUTHOR

    ladyjane1 

    5 years ago from Texas

    Hello Shin I appreciate you reading my review and I totally agree with you. I loved Lewis's acting in this and he is really brilliant in everything that he plays. He seems like he is totally consumed by every character I did enjoy his sense of humor in the film and how Lewis let that side of him shine through brilliantly. Cheers to you.

    europwalker thanks for reading and your thoughtful comments. I agree that this movie is far from boring and it certainly brought forth a lesson from our past that we should never forget. Cheers to you.

  • europewalker profile image

    europewalker 

    5 years ago

    Great review! I loved the movie but then again I am a big Daniel Day Lewis fan. I felt that I was actually looking at Lincoln and not Lewis. I always found American History boring in school, but this movie is certainly not boring and brings forth a most important time in America. Voted up.

  • shin_rocka04 profile image

    shin_rocka04 

    5 years ago from Maryland

    Good movie review. I saw it on Friday. I have to say overall I was thoroughly impressed with this film. Lewis clearly deserves an Oscar for this film because he really got into Lincoln's character. Not only was he able to capture Lincoln as a President tap into his personal life a bit with his family, but the idiosyncrasies/joker side of his personality.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)