ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Love Comes Softly~Love Series

Updated on June 6, 2016

This is the first movie of a series from the “Love Comes Softly Series” by the Best Selling Author Janette Oke.

Mrs. Oke did not have time to write until after her four children became teenagers. Her family came first before her love of writing.

 Marty Claridge and Clark Davis
Marty Claridge and Clark Davis

One of My All Time Favorite Series

Her first book was published in 1979---titled “Love Come Softly.” If you would like to learn more about Janette Oke search in Google; and you will be glad you visited, because she is an amazing woman.

I know you will love the Love Comes Softly series as much as I do.

This movie was made in 2003 for TV and directed by Michael Landon, Jr. who is also a co-executive producer.

I am sure most viewers remember his father, Michael Landon who played “Little Joe” on Bonanza.


Clark, Marty and Missie Davis
Clark, Marty and Missie Davis

Their story begins in 1800's

This story begins in 1800’s when Marty Claridge (Katherine Heigl) and Aaron Claridge (Oliver Macready) leave their home in the East and join a wagon train.

The young couple started their journey with optimistic hopes and romantic dreams for their future.

They talked constantly on the trip about the home they would build on the land that was waiting for them. And they both envisaged who the children would favor.

They had traveled in the wagon train for almost a year; both Marty and Aaron felt tired and weary.

And, patience arose in short commodities, because every spot on their bodies ached and longed for a cool river bath.

One day, Ben Graham (Corbin Bernsen) a leader of the wagon train stopped the Claridge’s wagon and gave them directions to their land.

After leaving the wagon train, Marty and Aaron started out looking for their dream to be fulfilled.

Aaron was following the directions he thought that Mr.Graham had given them. After they rode longer than Marty thought they should, she became irritable and made Aaron stop the wagon.

He called to her to get back to get in the wagon, and she said he was going the wrong way. The directions showed going northwest and he was going north.

And, after they exchanged a few disagreeable words while they were walking and suddenly they both stopped, because before them was their land with a stream running behind it.

It was breathtakingly beautiful so picturesque, they had found their dream, and then they kissed from the joy of it all and because they loved each other.

Marty Davis sitting outdoors
Marty Davis sitting outdoors

Aaron and Marty Spent the Night in the Wagon

They spent the night in their wagon and in the early dawn Aaron woke Marty up to tell her one of the horses was missing, and he was going to look for it. She wanted to go but he said no stay here and make me some pancakes.

Marty had finished the pancakes, and still no Aaron, so she began washing their clothes, and while she washed the clothes in the creek she heard Aaron call her name she stood up and smiled. But Aaron was not there, and so she finished washing the clothes with a worried look on her face.

Much later she is reading a book when in a distance she sees Ben Graham riding towards her. Ben has brought her Aaron home to her rolled in a blanket dead. He had fallen off his horse and broken his neck.

Marty could not say anything instead of replying she runs and climbs into the wagon and cries. Ben said through the back wagon tarpaulin the preacher is leaving tomorrow, but I will bring him in the morning for the funeral. Marty sits in her wagon all night rocking and saying we will be alright, we will be alright.

No one comes until the next morning Sarah Graham (Teresa Russell) Ben’s wife walks to the back of the wagon and tells Marty it is time for the funeral. Then Marty tells her she cannot do it. Sarah looks at her gently and says you have to Marty.

After the funeral Marty is sitting by Aaron’s grave and it starts to rain. However, she did not seem to notice the rain, but she did look up when Clark Davis (Dale Midkiff) said he had a proposition for her, a marriage of convenience, and he apologized for rushing her, but the preacher was leaving today. He told her he needed a mother for his Missy (Skye McCole Bartasick) and she needed a place to live, and if she would do this, and if she want to go home come next spring he would pay her way.

In 1800’s a marriage of convenience was common for widows who had young children to raise. Times were hard as most families lived on a farm, and everyone had chores to do. But their faith carried them through even as two families through marriage became one.

Step-mothers and step-daughters learned to work together as well as step-fathers and step-sons and their respect grew into love. Affection in some marriages of convenience happens gently; making it a quiet surprise sometimes.

I will stop here, because I do not want to spoil the rest of this wonderful movie for you. I have the entire set. And I waited each year from 2003 through 2009 to buy each DVD when it was available. So it took me six years of being patient which I am not---I am only patient with children and animals.

Marty Davis in Love's Enduring Promise
Marty Davis in Love's Enduring Promise
Nate and Missy Davis
Nate and Missy Davis

Love’s Enduring Promise---My Movie Review

Second Movie in the Series of “Love Comes Softly” was made in 2004.

Marty Davis (Katherine Heigl) and Clark Davis (Dale Midkiff) is a couple who married out of inevitability and whose feelings mature into true love.

Marty and Clark now have two sons, Aaron Davis (Kesun Loder), Arnie Davis (Logan Arens) and their daughter Missie Davis (January Jones).

This movie opens with Marty and Clark sharing a quiet moment lying in the grass talking. She thanks him for her wonderful life and he said he would never leave her.

Marty looked at him and said promise. Clark said when two people who love each other and marry then they shall become one, and then he kissed her.

Clark and Marty are struggling so hard to keep their farm going to show a profit, as they fight against the environment to keep their farm producing so they will have a great harvest.

Missie has grown into a beautiful young 19 year old lady and is teaching school. She has one wealthy man Grant Thomas (Mackenzie Astin) who wants to marry her and take her away from her hard labor of life.

And then she has another man who has loved Missie since they were children together. He left the area after a tragedy happen in his family at the age of 13.

However, he came back into her life as a grown man who is now a stranger to her. But will he stay a stranger? He now goes by the name of Nate (Logan Bartholomew).

Nate helped the Davis Family after Clark had an accident and could not plant his crop. He even saved Clark’s life by cleaning his infected injured leg and medicated it. He was a blessing to the family in more ways than one.

Who will Missie fall in love with and marry? You will know when you watch Love’s Enduring Promise. Could Nate be thinking of a marriage proposal?

Why did Nate look so sad at times when he thought no one was looking? Was his great sadness because he lost his brother?



PurvisBobbi44 is the sole author of this article and if copied anywhere else on the Internet or printed in magazines or books it was taken without written consent and is strictly prohibited.


Do you like to visit the 1800's by watching movies like Love Comes Softly?

See results

© 2012 PurvisBobbi44

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile imageAUTHOR

    PurvisBobbi44 

    13 months ago from Florida

    Hi again,

    Peter Marshall was her first husband.

    Happy Thanksgiving if you live in the USA.

    Bobbi Purvis

  • shanmarie profile image

    Shannon Henry 

    13 months ago from Texas

    Yes, thank you. I couldn't recall her name when I was replying. I thought "Julie" was very well-written. I do recall that, like "Christy", some of the elements of the story are based on historical events. Wasn't Peter her husband?

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile imageAUTHOR

    PurvisBobbi44 

    13 months ago from Florida

    The author was Catherine Marshall--she also wrote a book "A Man Called Peter" I read this book in elementary school. I probably need to read it again. I remember it was a great book. I will look for the book "Julie" because if Catherine wrote it--it is good.

    Bobbi Purvis

  • shanmarie profile image

    Shannon Henry 

    13 months ago from Texas

    Oh my. She gave me that book, too! And I remember the television series based off of it. That same author wrote a book called Julie. If you haven't read it, I highly recommend it. It is based off of a true story about a damn that broke. Despite warnings, no one truly believed disaster was coming. So this book tells the story of the character Julie before and after it broke.

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile imageAUTHOR

    PurvisBobbi44 

    13 months ago from Florida

    Hi,

    You can still buy these movies are they are very good. Another great series is called Christy, about a young school teacher in 1912 who leaves her parents and her home in the city to teach poor children in the Appalachian Mountains. Enjoy I watch mine over and over again--at least once a year.

  • shanmarie profile image

    Shannon Henry 

    13 months ago from Texas

    My grandma used to read books by Janette Oke and a few other authors , and then she would give them to me. This was my favorite series by this author. I've seen the movies, but I believe they had a television series based off of the books that I wanted to see. I never have, though. Sweet memories, thanks to your review. :)

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile imageAUTHOR

    PurvisBobbi44 

    13 months ago from Florida

    Hi,

    The first movie was amazing and I enjoyed the ones that followed.

    Have a great October.

    Bobbi Purvis

  • Athlyn Green profile image

    Athlyn Green 

    14 months ago from West Kootenays

    I enjoyed that first movie. I've read the author's books, as well.

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile imageAUTHOR

    PurvisBobbi44 

    4 years ago from Florida

    Hi Sylvestermouse,

    I love her books and the movies. I watch the movies over and over again. And, when I was in bed for 2 1/2 months with my broken leg, I read all my books again. And, I enjoyed ever word.

    I hope you have a great week. And, thanks so much for your visit and comment.

    Bobbi Purvis

  • Sylvestermouse profile image

    Cynthia Sylvestermouse 

    4 years ago from United States

    I have read these books and loved them. It has been a while, so your review was quite timely for me. I did see the movie, again a while back, but I thought they cast the characters quite well. I do believe it is time for me to read this series again!

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile imageAUTHOR

    PurvisBobbi44 

    4 years ago from Florida

    Hi,

    I did not read the book---I have the movie of Love Comes Softly. And,Marty had a baby by her first husband that was killed when his horse threw him. I have all the movies and I had to wait for years to collect them all, and I still enjoy watching them.

    Thanks for your visit and comment.

    Bobbi Purvis

  • profile image

    Nero Walker 

    4 years ago

    I love historical movies. This one was good. Had a minor pet peeve though - isn't the little girl that becomes Marty's stepdaughter supposed to be a baby in the book? Thought that changed the dynamic a bit.

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile imageAUTHOR

    PurvisBobbi44 

    6 years ago from Florida

    Lord,

    Thank you for the visit, and the Teepee update, as I can always count on you for great details.

    You take care.

    Your Hub Friend,

    Bobbi

  • Lord De Cross profile image

    Joseph De Cross 

    6 years ago from New York

    You gotta be patient with us as well Lol! A little late for the series, and it shows your love for Country and a greener life back then. What a change we have witnesed in the last 40 years. The plot is astounding and will keep checking them out. Katherine Heigl, besides a good acting and that Southern beauty can deliver in her acting. Great review Bobbi. For your info, Teepees had the hole on top for ventilation and was covered as needed. On wintertime, was proudly covered with buffalo or deer skin, dried a few generations before.

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile imageAUTHOR

    PurvisBobbi44 

    6 years ago from Florida

    Hi Jackie,

    Thanks for the visit and your comment. I love this series, because it shows people living during the 1800's and how their faith is tested from all the hardships.

    This series is more true to life, and I do not care for the movies that just preach.

    Thanks,

    Bobbi

  • Jackie Lynnley profile image

    Jackie Lynnley 

    6 years ago from The Beautiful South

    I once ran a bookshop and I know how popular Janette Oke was with the Christian ladies. I am sure being so popular the movies have to be great and look really interesting. I don't watch much because of what it is but really should look into these, they sound like a collection I'd want and now I think I have to read the books too, lol.

    Thanks.

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile imageAUTHOR

    PurvisBobbi44 

    6 years ago from Florida

    KDuBarry03,

    Thank you for the visit and I appreciate the comment.

    You will not regret buying the books or the movies. This is a great series.

    Thanks,

    Bobbi

  • profile image

    KDuBarry03 

    6 years ago

    Wow, this is a very beautiful story and the acting looks very realistic. Thank you for sharing a great Hub! Definitely gonna pick up the books and watcht he movies.

    -KD

  • PurvisBobbi44 profile imageAUTHOR

    PurvisBobbi44 

    6 years ago from Florida

    Hi Debbie,

    I am reviewing the series, and I know you will enjoy them as much as I still do.

    Your have a great weekend.

    And Thank you for the visit and your comment.

    Your Friend,

    Bobbi

  • Deborah Brooks profile image

    Deborah Brooks Langford 

    6 years ago from Brownsville,TX

    Bobbi..this story is amazing...i want the whole series...thank you for posting..debbie

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)