ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Madame Tussauds Wax Museum Review

Updated on April 3, 2016
Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz Photo taken at Louis Tussauds Wax Museum in Niagara Falls, Canada
Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz Photo taken at Louis Tussauds Wax Museum in Niagara Falls, Canada | Source

Introduction

There are many wax museums throughout the world, featuring some of the most famous and influential people of all time. It’s both amazing and sometimes startling to see life-size wax figures of your famous movie stars, presidents, and many other well-known figures.

I have only been to two wax museums thus far, including Madame Tussaud’s wax museum in New York, and Louis Tussaud’s Wax Museum in Canada. When visiting Madame Tussaud’s wax museum in New York, I was totally amazed at how life-like the wax figures appeared, and when standing in a room with mostly wax figures, it was sometimes a little scary, like one of figures would come to life.

Why Does Madame Tussauds Wax Museum Get a 5 out of 5 Star Rating?

  • Wax figures look life-like
  • There were multiple levels (approximately 5 floors) filled with many wax figures, some with theme rooms and special effects
  • Presentation was well-done and very classy
  • It was impressive how they layed out the levels, very well thought out!

This critique is based on a visit to New York in approximately 2007/2008.

While traveling in Niagara Falls, Canada in 2012, I visited Louis Tussaud’s Wax Museum. I figured since it had the same last name as Madame Tussaud, it must be just as good. Unfortunately, it wasn’t as big as Madame Tussaud’s and some of the wax figures didn’t even look like the real person. There were even a few wax figures that I could recognize.

Who are Madame Tussaud and Louis Tussaud?

Marie Tussaud is the creator of the Madame Tussand Wax Museums. She was born in 1761 and was a French artist, known for her wax sculptures. Marie’s father, Joseph Grosholtz, was killed in war just two months before Marie was born. Marie’s mother, Anne-Marie Walder, then took Marie with her to Bern, Switzerland, where she worked as a housekeeper for Dr. Phillippe Curtuis, who created wax models to illustrate anatomy. He eventually used his talent to create wax portraits, and moved to Paris in 1765 to exhibit his wax portraits. Anne-Marie Walder and her daughter Marie moved to Paris a year later. Marie learned the art of wax modeling from Dr. Curtuis. She began working for him as an artist, and in 1777, at age 16, she created her first wax figure, of François-Marie Arouet, better known by his pen name, Voltaire. She also created a wax figure of Benjamin Franklin.

In 1794, Marie married Frances Tussaud, becoming Marie Tussaud. As her wax figures became more famous, she was known as Madame Tussaud. She founded her first wax museum in London, which is a major tourist attraction. There are many other Madame Tussaud Wax Museums located in America, including New York, Las Vegas, Hollywood, Washington, D.C.; in Europe, including Amsterdam, Berlin, Blackpool and Vienna; in Asia, including Bangkok, Hong Kong, Tokoyo, Shanghai and Wuhan; and in Syndey, Australia.

Louis Tussaud is the great-grandson of Madame (Marie) Tussaud. Louis Tussand created a wax museum similar to his great-grandmother, in Blackpool, Lancashire but it was closed. The Louis Tussaud Wax Museum in Great Yarmouth, also in England, faces closure and has been described as Britain’s worse museum. Many people still visit the museum, to still see the many faces of celebrities and famous people, even though they don’t always look like the people which they represent. The museum has developed a cult status.

Guess Who These Wax Figures Are

Below are pictures that I took when visiting Louis Tussaud’s Wax Museum in Canada. See if you can guess who the figures are. Some are easy to recognize, and some don’t quite match up. The answers are posted at the bottom of this article.

1. Who is she? I think they missed the boat with this one. She looks too much like an airplane attendant:

Source

2. Who is he? Hint: he normally doesn’t look this old:

Source

3. Who is she? Hint: She is related to #2 above:

Source

4. Who are they? This couple is easy to recognize:

Source

5. Who is he? The outfit may give this away, but not so much the face:

Source

6. Who is she? Easy to recognize, but do you remember what episode this is from?

Source

7. Who is he? Pretty easy to recognize:

Source

8. Who is he? I think you’ll know but why is he is leaning so far to one side and what’s with the fuzzy hair and deep frown?

Source

9. Who is this and what movie is it from? Also, can you name the type of car this is?

Source

10. Who is he, and what is the name of the character and movie?

Source

11. Who is he? Pretty good resemblance I think:

Source

12. Who are they? Can you name their real names, their character names and the show they were on?

Source

13. What is the name of this machine and what movie is it from? It doesn’t really look like the real one:

Source

14. Who is he?

Source

Answers:

  1. Princess Diana
  2. Former U.S. President Clinton
  3. Hillary Clinton
  4. Price William and Princess Kate
  5. Dalai Lama
  6. Lucille Ball (I Love Lucy, Vita-Mita-Vegge-Min episode)
  7. Harry Potter
  8. Michael J. Fox and the Delorian car from “Back to the Future”
  9. Michael Jackson
  10. Johnny Depp as Jack Sparrow from Pirates of the Caribbean
  11. U.S. President Barack Obama
  12. Fred Gwynne as Herman, and Al Lewis as Grandpa, from the show, the Munsters
  13. The Zoltar machine from the movie “Big”
  14. I’m not sure, but I think this is Pierre Trudeau, Former Prime Minister of Canada?

Other Pictures from Louis Tussaud's Wax Museum

The Wizard of Oz
The Wizard of Oz | Source
Batman and Joker
Batman and Joker | Source
Michael Jackson
Michael Jackson | Source

Conclusion

In conclusion, I would only give Louis Tussaud's Wax Museum in Niagara Falls, Canada 3 out of 5 stars, as compared to Madame Tussaud's 5 stars.

Be sure to visit one of the many Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum, which are highly quality and extremely life-like, more so that the Louis Tussaud’s museums.

Have you ever visited a wax museum?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Sam 

      4 months ago

      What is the cost if you want one made

    • easylearningweb profile imageAUTHOR

      Amelia Griggs 

      8 months ago

      Yes Glenn, I think they change figures depending on popularity, to change current president, etc. and for maintenance too. When I was in New York years ago I remember the Michael Jackson figure was in a glass window in the front of the museum. Now I’m thinking of going back soon. :-)

    • Glenn Stok profile image

      Glenn Stok 

      8 months ago from Long Island, NY

      I didn’t realize they change the figures. I didn’t see the one of Michael Jackson when I was there. It was about eight years ago. So I should go again to see what it’s like now. Thanks, Amelia, for bringing that to my attention.

    • easylearningweb profile imageAUTHOR

      Amelia Griggs 

      8 months ago

      Hey Glenn, Glad you enjoyed the pics, some did look real. I agree that the Bill Clinton one looked older. I do recall some good ones in New York as well (the Michael Jackson one in NY was better). I look forward to going back since they change them and there are always new ones added. This is one attraction that is definitely worth the trip!

    • Glenn Stok profile image

      Glenn Stok 

      8 months ago from Long Island, NY

      I’ve been to Madame Tussaud’s wax museum in New York, but the pictures you displayed here from Louis Tussaud’s in Canada are so much better than what I saw in New York.

      I enjoyed reading your review Amelia. By the way, I got most of them right. Of course, Bill Clinton does look older now since that one of him was made.

    • easylearningweb profile imageAUTHOR

      Amelia Griggs 

      5 years ago

      Thanks for your comment, bettybarnesb. :-)

      Be sure to visit one the "Madame Tussauds" museum. It's not to be missed. I can't wait to visit it again either in NY or at another location, because they change the figures from time to time, so you're sure to see someone new each time you go.

      Regards,

      Easylearningweb

    • bettybarnesb profile image

      bettybarnesb 

      5 years ago from Bartlett, TN

      Very interesting and some are really very good. I love art so it is enjoyable to see life-size images. Would like to visit someday.

      be blessed...

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)