ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Michael Kelly Guitars: Review of the Patriot Custom

Updated on May 5, 2015

Patriot Custom Review

The Michael Kelly Patriot Custom is a beautiful guitar, but beauty isn't everything. A real guitar player wants great sounding tone, playability, comfort, reliability, and value. I have been playing for over 10 years, so I want it all now.

I started on an Alvarez strat copy, did some time with an Epi Les Paul, Epi Dot, and other strats including Fender. My styles include blues and modern rock. Usually I like a little grit in my tone, but not anything that covers the real tone of the guitar.

Getting the right settings on the amp seem to me to be more important that the guitar you are playing. That's my background and I give the Michael Kelly Patriot Custom a 9.2 out of 10 rating.  Read the details below.

Appearance Review

The Michael Kelly Patriot Custom is a gorgeous guitar. The flame maple, the colorful abalone fretboard inlays, the chrome hardware, and awesome sunburst stain make this a flashy guitar.

It looks like a high end PRS guitar blended with a Gibson Les Paul Custom. The back is mahogany and is also beautiful. It comes with black knobs which look much better than some of the Les Pauls which sport orange knobs.

In general, the Patriot Custom looks like an expensive guitar to me. No cheap looking parts make it look like a solid axe.  It may be a little flashy for my tastes if anything, but I can't mark it down any for that.

  • Appearance Rating: 10

Michael Kelly Patriot Custom Appearance

Sound/Tone Review

Probably more important than any of the looks of a guitar is it's sound. If you've got a great looking guitar that sounds awful, then you wasted your money.

In the case of the Michael Kelly Patriot Custom, the looks match the sound fairly well. The pickups have coil taps, so you can get a wide range of sounds traditionally produced from Strats, Tele's, and Pauls.

The most impressive sound is the bridge pickup on both the humbucker setting and the coil tap. You get a gritty or smoky tone that's bright enough to cut through the mix and thick enough to play lead rhythm parts.

Unfortunately, the neck pickup is not as bright, and I find myself wanting to turn the tone knob to 11 when I use only the neck pickup. I was able to adjust the pickup post heights and add a little more tone, and I am happy with what I have now. It's possible that the over winding of the Rockfield pickups gives them a thicker tone in general, but the contrast between the bridge and neck pickup is vast.

One other drawback is that there is only one volume and one tone knob, so you can't make your own mixes of varying degrees of each pickup on the fly. You can make adjustments with a screwdriver and get it set the way you want, however, so it isn't a big deal to me.

The best thing about the sound of the Patriot Custom is it's ability to get the variety of tones from Strat to Les Paul. I don't know that I would be able to tell you the difference between the Patriot and those others unless you were playing completely clean and you A/B'd them for me.

Grover tuners should keep you in tune, which is essential for great sound.  Locking bridge and graphite nut help too.  No upgrade needed here.

  • Sound Rating: 9 (because the tone wasn't automatically awesome)

Video Review of Patriot Custom

Playability and Comfort Review

I bought my Patriot Custom used, so I didn't set it up. It is set up great for playing right now, and I will work on intonation if I need to.

The shape of the neck is thin enough to get you around the fretboard with ease. The smooth ebony fretboard is very responsive to nuances in playing.  The action is low with no fret buzz thanks to a straight neck and good setup.

One minor drawback here is for those who are a bit on the wimpy side. The guitar is heavy. It is solid hard wood, and that makes for some weight around your neck. I play a couple hours worth at a time and have no pain or discomfort, but at 6'4" I am a larger than average guy.

The guitar is extra thick and the edge of the guitar digs into your wrist a little. I knew this was par for the territory when I bought it, and consider this a trade-off of comfort for solid craftsmanship.

Reaching the highest frets is a breeze because the Michael Kelly people angled the neck joint to allow you to feel the same neck thickness all the way up. I don't play that high that often, so I could take or leave this feature, but if you are a metal solo player, you'll probably love it.

  • Playability Rating: 9

Reliability Review

The Michael Kelly has been reliable for me so far.  I know some things go bad with time anyway like the switch or pots.  I will update this page if I have any problems with it that are due to workmanship.  Until then, I will have to give it a 10.

  • Reliability Review: 10 (no problems yet)

Michael Kelly Patriot Custom

The knobs have been changed out on mine to be chrome, but otherwise, this is what the Patriot Custom looks like.
The knobs have been changed out on mine to be chrome, but otherwise, this is what the Patriot Custom looks like.

Value Review

The Michael Kelly Patriot Custom seems to sell for around $600.00 new. I got mine used for less, but even if I had paid $600.00 it would be worth the price.

I think that if the Michael Kelly name was more popular like PRS for example, these guitars would be more than a grand each. I am finding the longer I play guitar that there are some guitars that are undervalued, and people who know what to look for can get a steal.

I think I got a steal with this guitar because it feels good and sounds great when I play. That makes it fun, and makes me want to play more. I think this could easily be a great alternative for someone looking for high quality with a limited budget. It was for me.

It is not American made, but I don't really care who makes the guitar as long as it is good.  The pickups are American made and the design is American also.  I understand that labor is cheaper in other parts of the world, so I evaluate quality on an individual basis.

  • Value Review: 10

Overall Review of Michael Kelly Patriot Custom

Overall, the Michael Kelly gets between a 9 and 10 from me.  The physical design could be modified for added comfort, and the neck pickup could have a little more of a bright tone, but otherwise I couldn't ask for more in a guitar.

Rate the Patriot Custom

4.7 out of 5 stars from 10 ratings of Michael Kelly Patriot Custom Electric Guitar

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Wilson Ho 

      6 years ago

      Any idea what's the thickness of the neck ? is it like a 60's neck? I have always played thin neck Strats and Ibanez so I don't mind a little thickness but not like baseball thick... appreciate the help thank you

    • profile image

      gosha 

      7 years ago

      Brand u.s.a, guitar made in Korea. Really,really good guitar, so easy to play)

    • profile image

      madeinusa 

      7 years ago

      What country is this guitar made?

    • rexy12345 profile image

      rexy12345 

      7 years ago

      my dad loves guitars and his fave is a gretch but he likes these too

    • richmediadp profile image

      richmediadp 

      8 years ago from Orange County, CA -USA

      Great article. I agree with you that Michael Kelly guitars are awesome. I bought mine 3 years ago after seeing and playing it at NAMM Show that year. Bought the Patriot Q and I am a happy camper.

    • profile image

      Vitali Tschernobyl 

      8 years ago

      Thanks again!

    • Blake Flannery profile imageAUTHOR

      Blake Flannery 

      8 years ago from United States

      Vitali,

      I tried checking out some YouTube videos of the V100 Les Paul. Most of them sounded horrible. I thought they sounded o.k. clean, very vintage in nature. I didn't like the thin, compressed sound when played with any distortion though.

    • profile image

      Vitali Tschernobyl 

      8 years ago

      Thanks, I'll give the Patriot Custom a try. I think I'll go with the amber finish. I also intend to try out a Vintage Icon V100 Les Paul. Do you have any experience with this guitar? It is also said to be very good for the price.

    • Blake Flannery profile imageAUTHOR

      Blake Flannery 

      8 years ago from United States

      Vital Tschernobyl,

      I have no idea about the neck radius. I know that I think it is a smooth and fast neck to play, but I usually prefer a thicker neck since I have long fingers. I have no experience with 60 Les Paul.

    • profile image

      Vitali Tschernobyl 

      8 years ago

      You write the neck is thin. Is it thinner or as equally thin as the 60's neck shape of a Gibsin Les Paul guitar? I'm asking because I'm having trouble with those 50's necks which for me are very hard to play. With Les Pauls I find the thinner the neck the better the playability...

    • whcobb profile image

      William Cobb 

      8 years ago from Clarksville, TN

      I'm gonna check that hub out... Thanks.

    • Blake Flannery profile imageAUTHOR

      Blake Flannery 

      8 years ago from United States

      There's a yes and no answer to that. I think playing complicated rhythms on acoustic is somewhat difficult. Playing metal solos on electric is somewhat difficult. Play acoustic for songwriting and rhythm, but play electric if you want to be a great solo player. Or better yet, play both.

      Yes, you are right in the simplest way, the action is usually lower on electrics and the strings are lighter making them easier to play. Unfortunately, your skill level isn't enhanced just because the mechanics of playing is easier. Get good on both, I think the skills of each compliment each other.

      I like blues, so I play both electric (lead) blues and acoustic (folk style) blues. I can't say which one is more difficult because I am about average playing both. The delta blues migrated to Chicago with the hope of a job and freedom for African Americans in the south. It's so closely related that it's good to understand both. That's just my take. I have a "How to write a blues song" hub where you can watch me play a blues song I wrote on acoustic.

    • whcobb profile image

      William Cobb 

      8 years ago from Clarksville, TN

      I hear electrics are much easier to play than acoustics... Is that true?

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)