ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Movie Review - 2012 (2009)

Updated on November 16, 2009

This is How the World Ends..... Again

If you haven’t seen this movie this review will be filled with spoilers. I am a disaster movie fan. I’m not picky about how they destroy the world just that they do it. Disease, Celestial bodies looking for a planetary booty call or the always popular human screwed it up scenario. The more widespread the destruction the more interesting it is for me. After chatting with some friends we decided to call such movies. Catastrophe porn. Thus making me a disaster fangirl. They thought disaster slut gave the wrong impression.

Hail the Mayans
Hail the Mayans
California goes boom.
California goes boom.
Nevada becomes beach front property.
Nevada becomes beach front property.
Viva Las Vegas
Viva Las Vegas

According to the Mayan calendar the world will end on the winter solstice in 2012. That means if you have anything important to do, you have two years to get it done as your chances of survival are going to be pretty darn slim. From what I’ve learned from this movie is that unless you are a billionaire and/or have a highly useable skill you can kiss your future goodbye.

Made by the same guys who did the Stargate Movie and Independence Day, the world gets nailed big time. Earthquakes, super volcanoes and tidal waves pretty much wipe out all the works of man rather thoroughly. The earth’s core is super heated by record solar flares that release some sort of radiation. And it all might because of some great galactic alignment.

The concept of the movie is based on the Mayan calendar which comes to an end on that date. Or we’ll enter a new age. Or aliens will land on the Nazca lines. There are many schools of thought and not all make sense. It’s all very confusing. Chariots of the gods redux.

For disaster effects, the movie fairly rocked. California drops into the ocean. Yosemite turns into a monster super volcano. Tidal waves and Tsunamis (they are the same thing) reaching the Himalayas. The magnetic poles shift. The South Pole is now somewhere in Wisconsin.

Gemmy's Snark

Don't you love how the radiation from the super solar flares seem to have no effect on anything else in the world. No global rash of sunburn or wilting plants. They call them neutrinos. I thought that had something to do with warp drives.

John Cusack plays himself.
John Cusack plays himself.
She made a better contract killer.
She made a better contract killer.
Why is he here.
Why is he here.
Loved him in Serenity
Loved him in Serenity

While the effects were great the characters were two dimensional and dull. John Cusack plays Jackson Curtis who is a divorced science fiction writer and limousine driver. I have never imagined Cusack as a sci fi action hero and he doesn’t quite measure up. Amanda Peet as his ex-wife did a better job in the Whole Nine Yards. Woody Harrelson’s presence in the movie added nothing other than a vehicle to put a map in the hero’s hands. Characters died and it had little impact. On the other hand Chiwetel Ejiofor as Adrian Helmsley was a pleasure to watch as a passionate scientist who actually cared about trying to save people.

Great arks are being built in the Himalayas. Tidal wave comes through. Afterwards I found myself wondering if I was watching Waterworld again.

It was a great watch but it could have been so much better. There is a rumor that there is going to be a series based on the movie. That should be interesting. Emmrich is probably miffed about losing the franchise on Stargate and is looking for a new vehicle.

End of the World Movies - How do you want to go?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Philipo profile image

      Philipo 

      8 years ago from Nigeria

      Very nice. Thanks for sharing.

    • Gemsong profile imageAUTHOR

      Madalain Ackley 

      8 years ago from Richmond, Virginia

      How silly of me. Thanks for pointing that out, honey.

    • profile image

      Finley 

      8 years ago

      You're missing an option in your poll- destroyed by a Vogon Constructor Fleet to build a hyperspace bypass.

    • Gemsong profile imageAUTHOR

      Madalain Ackley 

      8 years ago from Richmond, Virginia

      I will of course be adding this to my collection of End of the World movies. :)

    • profile image

      lynnechandler 

      8 years ago

      Well, hmmm... will wait for this one to come to DVD. Thanks for the heads up.

    • Gemsong profile imageAUTHOR

      Madalain Ackley 

      8 years ago from Richmond, Virginia

      hehehehe. Hollywood has been destroying earth for decades. I doubt they'll stop now. Especially with Fangirls like me. :D

    • myownworld profile image

      myownworld 

      8 years ago from uk

      Most of the movie reviews are so over critical/or promotional, that this seemed downright straight and to the point! After Armaggedon, I'd thought there was nothing more hollywood could do to 'end the world', but lol..it seems there is still much more they can! cheers for this!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)