ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

New to Home Video: May 2, 2017

Updated on May 3, 2017
Source
Rotten Tomatoes Tomatometer
Rotten Tomatoes Audience Score
IMDb Rating
32%
75%
6.2/10
As of May 2nd 2017. For current rating information go to (rottentomatoes.com) or (IMDb.com)

Synopsis - A Dog's Purpose

A dog (Josh Gad) learns about the meaning of life and his role in the world by living being reincarnated as multiple different dogs. Through this process he becomes the companion of various people, teaches them to love, teaches them to laugh and then he movies on to his next reincarnation. During one of his lives, he forms a connection with a young boy named Ethan (Bryce Gheisar). The two form and unusually strong bond that lasts for the dogs lifetime. Decades later, Ethan (Dennis Quaid) has grown older and is reunited with the dog once again. Follow this dog on a dramatic journey that explores the meaning of life.

Official Trailer - A Dog's Purpose

A Dog's Purpose [Blu-ray]
A Dog's Purpose [Blu-ray]

Available Formats: Blu-ray, DVD, Amazon Video

 

Recommendation - A Dog's Purpose

This is not a perfect movie. There seems to be a huge discrepancy between casual movie goers and movie critics but I thought this was a decent movie. Not amazing, but decent. Another observation I have made is that this movie REALLY seems to hit home with dog lovers. In my opinion, this is a decent family drama that challenges the audience's opinion of the meaning of life. In a world filled with social media and "likes", movies like this are important. It brings tries to show its audience what the real meaning of life is and how dogs (or pets in general) can help us realize that. I think the movie does a good job at depicting the relationships that people can have with their pets which is something a lot of pet owners will connect with. This movie will make audiences laugh, cry and appreciate life.

While I do not recommend buying this movie, I think it is a movie that dog owners will love and other pet owners will appreciate. A non-pet owner may have trouble connecting this film but I think it is still relatable. So if you own a pet, I recommend renting this movie and, if you love it, go ahead and add it to your home video collection.

Source
Rotten Tomatoes Tomatometer
Rotten Tomatoes Audience Score
IMDb Rating
6%
26%
4.5/10
As of May 2nd 2017. For current rating information go to (rottentomatoes.com) or (IMDb.com)

Synopsis - Rings

Julia (Matilda Lutz) is concerned when her boyfriend Holt (Alex Roe) stops answering her calls so she goes to his college to confront on of his professors (Johnny Galecki). When the professor claims to not know who Holt is, she follows the professor to another room full of students and countdown clocks designated to different students. Julia then discovers a video that claims to kill its viewer seven days after watching it and, in order to save Holt's life, Julia watches the video. To make things even more strange, her video is different than what others have seen. Julia and Holt then begin their journey to learn why Julia's video was different, what it means, how to save their lives and how to stop the being in the video, Samara (Bonnie Morgan), from hurting anyone else.

Official Trailer - Rings

Rings (Blu-ray+DVD+Digital HD)
Rings (Blu-ray+DVD+Digital HD)

Available Formats: Blu-ray, DVD, Amazon Video

 

Recommendation - Rings

I would say that this movie was disappointing, but it met my expectations as the bad movie I thought it would be. It felt like a lazy attempt at modernizing a classic horror film by putting more thought into modern technology and less thought to delivering a good story. This movie also makes the mistake that so many horror movies make. It tries to give character development to a horror villain. This is something that almost never works. Part of a good horror movie comes from a, seemingly, unstoppable and unpredictable monster. As soon as you add character development, you remove the fear. This movie makes that mistake.

I think most audiences will be disappointed by this film. General audiences will find it to be more ridiculous than scary. Horror fans will find that it does not do justice to its genre and fans of the franchise will think it is average at best (certainly not worth a ten year wait). For these reasons, I cannot recommend adding Rings to your home video collection.

Source
Rotten Tomatoes Tomatometer
Rotten Tomatoes Audience Score
IMDb Rating
42%
46%
6.7/10
As of May 2nd 2017. For current rating information go to (rottentomatoes.com) or (IMDb.com)

Synopsis - Gold

Kenny Wells (Matthew McConaughey) is a desperate prospector that partners up with a geologist named Michael Acosta (Edgar Ramirez) in an attempt to find gold in the uncharted jungles of Indonesia. The two then embark on their adventure to find gold but, as they will soon discover, finding the gold is only half of their battle. The other half will be their attempt at hanging on to that gold in another kind of adventure that brings them face-to-face with some of the most powerful people on Wall Street.

Official Trailer - Gold

Gold [Blu-ray]
Gold [Blu-ray]

Available Formats: Blu-ray, DVD

 

Recommendation - Gold

I found this movie to be better than average but it fell short of greatness. Matthew McConaughey shows, yet again, that he is currently one of Hollywood's biggest talents. This movie is an entertaining adventure. It has exploration, danger, discovery and survival but I thought it was missing the "it" factor. What I mean by that is I had some difficulty putting a finger on exactly what this film was missing but I think it ultimately boils down to a somewhat unlikable and unrelatable main character. Through no fault of Matthew McConaughy, the character was written in a way that did not allow him to connect with audiences in an impactful way.

I liked this movie, but I thought it could have been better. So go ahead and rent this adventure, but I do not recommend adding Gold to your home video collection.

Which of these movies are you most interested in?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.