ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Movie Review: "Shark Night 3D" (2011)

Updated on January 20, 2012
Source

Before watching "Shark Night 3D", I actually thought it was a sequel to "Pirahna 3D" because both are horror movies about killer fish and both are in 3D. But hey, maybe I just need to take my movie happy pills. Then again, people who think that are probably the same stupid people who think "Land of the Dead" is the sequel to the remake of "Dawn of the Dead", you know, like people who are too lazy to do their own film research.

Anyway, "Shark Night 3D" makes "Deep Blue Sea" look like "Citizen Kane". Speaking of "Deep Blue Sea", I was upset to learn that "Shark Night 3D" used stock footage from that film in the opening titles; more specifically, the scene where the shark pops out of the water and eats LL Cool J's pet bird. Mind you, this sequence is accompanied by an immature rock n' roll soundtrack with ADHD editing.

Soon after that comes the first attack in which there is zero build-up or anticipation, then we jump to a couple of college roommates, one of whom is playing Xbox 360 while the other one is busy studying. Oh God, now I know what I'll have to endure for the next hour and a half.

In short, "Shark Night 3D" is about a bunch of idiotic college kids who cross paths with some villainous rednecks who trap them on a lake filled with a wide assortment of killer sharks that they've collected over the years. This sounds a bit like an aquatic version of "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre".

Is "Shark Night 3D" an interesting film? Does it do anything differently? If you really feel the need to ask those kinds of questions after simply watching the trailer alone, I feel sorry for you. However, the answer is no. "Shark Night 3D" is nothing but filler/fluff to help fill in the blank slots on Hollywood's uninteresting 2011 schedule.

Cliche Night 3D

The biggest issue that bulges out of this crap-fest of a movie is the cast of characters. They're all stereotypes whom we've all seen before. Let me see if I can list all of them here:

  • Jock guy
  • Nerdy guy
  • Slutty girl
  • Good girl
  • Comic relief guy
  • Best friend guy
  • A whole bunch of rednecks
  • And last but not least, let's not forget the black guy with the Spanish girlfriend -- Can we get any more "PC" than this?

Oh wait, there's more:

  • The bad guy explains his plan in detail as opposed to just killing his victim.
  • The girls are borderline prostitutes while the boys are obsessed with getting drunk and bump n' grinding.
  • The sheriff character turns out to be on the same side as the bad guys.

Oh, I have a headache, I can't continue with these stereotypes!

Random Things That Make No Sense

  • You have to admit, it's very interesting that this film was made as opposed to the long-awaited film adaptation of "MEG" -- A series of Steve Alten novels surrounding a massive ancient shark known as the megalodon, which was thought to be extinct. This movie has been in development hell since 1997, but all of a sudden, "Shark Night 3D" gets the go-ahead instead?

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • SPomposello profile imageAUTHOR

      SPomposello 

      7 years ago from NY

      Batman & Robin (along with Forever) and the last two Home Alones are already on my crap-list, I'll look into the others though.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      7 years ago

      by the way, here's the link to the brief teaser to the new movie if you're interested. lol

      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VqWmvEdrGig

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      7 years ago

      Mario Bros.

      Double Dragon

      Dungeons & Dragons

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      7 years ago

      Oh and add these films to the list of my requests:

      Street Fighter (Jean-Claude Van Damme version)

      Mortal Kombat

      Mortal Kombat Anihilation

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      7 years ago

      Oh i see, so you only review bad films, huh? Well in that case, I do have some requests then if you don't mind. I don't know if you do requests or not, but here are some really really really BAD movies that I'd like to see you review. Here's the list of them:

      Cool As Ice

      The Room (2003)

      Inspector Gadget

      Inspector Gadget 2

      Home Alone 3 & 4

      Batman & Robin

      Junior

      Supergirl

      Anyway, sorry I know it's a long list, but I'd definitely like to see what you'll say about these movies if you do take the time to review them. :D lol

    • SPomposello profile imageAUTHOR

      SPomposello 

      7 years ago from NY

      Stevennix2001,

      Just checked out Bucket Lister... hmm, not really, I noticed we're sorta detail-oriented among other things. My focus is usually on things that suck (and The Dark Knight is a really good film) because I find them so much more fun to pick apart, only so many good things can be said about movies that are actually good.

      As for Piranha 3DD... wow, that's really the title? I gotta look this up, lol.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      7 years ago

      Wow, your style of reviewing this film reminds me a lot of Bucket Lister's reviews. She's another film critic on hubpages if you want to check her out. Anyway, it sounds like a very bad film, as I appreciate the heads up about it. By the way, the sequel to "Piranha 3-d" is called "Piranha 3DD"...get it? ;) lol. Seriously, I'm not making that up either, as it's listed under that name on imdb. Of course, I'm guessing in addition to the adult piranhas being in the sequel, they'll probably introduce girls with Double D's to be the victims this time. lol. j/k.

    • Anna Marie Bowman profile image

      Anna Marie Bowman 

      7 years ago from Florida

      I knew I didn't want to see this movie when I first heard about it. Glad I didn't bother to see it.

    • stephwazere profile image

      stephwazere 

      7 years ago from England

      Nice review I was thinking about going to see this film but I'm sure I'd like it and Pirahna 3DD is out soon I think. Voted up and useful

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)