ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Shallows (2016) Don't Mind the Haters, It's Actually a Good Flick.

Updated on July 7, 2018
NessMovieReviews profile image

Horror movies with hunters in them are my personal favorite. Sharks, bears, crocodiles. snakes. How many have you seen?

Source

What's It About?

Nancy needs to get away. She is rethinking the whole being a doctor thing. Her mother is dead and Nancy doesn’t know what to do with her feelings. A keen surfer just like her mother she decides to find the beach she surfed at when she was pregnant with Nancy. The beach is in Mexico and so off she goes. This adventure might just giver the clarity needed to grieve before returning home to her father and sister. What could go wrong?

Source

"Anthony Jaswinski’s screenplay bogs down this no-brainer survival premise (“get off the rock and don’t die”) with needless back story and inchoate themes. Can’t a heroine just survive a vicious shark attack without also having to overcome a family trauma and decide about whether or not she wants to be a doctor?"

— The A.V. Club's Ignatiy Vishnevetsky

Quick Film Info

Movie Title: The Shallows

Director: Jaume Collet-Serra

Writer: Anthony Jaswinski

Date of Release: June 2016 USA

Genre: Horror with a dollop of thriller

Cinematography: Flavio Labiano

Box Office: Budgeted for $17 million and made $119.1 million at the cinemas

Source

The Shallows - Trailer

The Writers and Cinematographer

I had to include Flavio Labiano in this section as well as the writers. Falvio's work in this film left me awestruck. I found it breathtaking and immediately wanted to know what else he had done. He works on mainly Spanish pieces so if you have heard of Dead Space (1990), Non-Stop (2012) or Kidnap (2014) he worked on those too.

Anthony Jawsinky is a screenwriter who practically only writes thriller and horror themed things. He has worked on many movies listed in the table below. His breakthrough came from directing The Machinist (2004.) He also worked on Vanishing on 7th Street (2010) which, the latter, I have seen and it’s right up there among movies I love and watched a few times. I have also seen Kristy (2014) and it, if anything, is a great story.

An interview from Onwriting.com quoted this about the writer:

His new film, THE SHALLOWS (Columbia Pictures; Opens June 24, 2016), is

“unequivocally the best shark movie since JAWS” according to Indiewire. The film is a gripping thriller in which a surfer (Blake Lively) finds herself stranded on a rock 200 yards from a secluded beach as she is hunted by a great white shark.

Anthony Jaswinsky - A List Of Things He Has Worked On

(click column header to sort results)
What  
   
   
Satanic (2016) Movie
Wrote the screenplay and Exec Producer
A movie about a woman and a cult
The Shallows (2016) Movie
Wrote the screenplay
See above review
Vanishing on 7th Street (2011) Movie
Wrote the screenplay
A city full of people vanish except for one last group
Killing Time (2001) Movie
Wrote the screenplay
A woman and her lover plan to murder her husband
Backwoods Tv Show
Writer and Director
A show about rednecks who shoot things
Kristy (2014)
Writer
A student stays back on campus alone during the holidays and is terrorised by a group of people
Xtra Credit (2009)
Wrote the screenplay
A lad has it off with a woman whose husband is found murdered
A long impressive list by this writer - I hope to add most of these to my watch list
Source

My thoughts on the Film

Shark movies, they are fantastic. I grew up on Jaws and I remember as a youngster trying to watch it. Every time the signature Jaws music started, I would run upstairs until it was over. My respect for the dangers of the water is healthy but I still to this day panic a little when swimming in the ocean and find myself further out or further away from groups of people than I would like.

You will never catch me swimming laps in the ocean or surfing despite my love of a dip in the salty goodness. To say I'm fascinated by this marvelous species is an understatement.

If you didn’t know by now – I am Australian and guess what? The first photography shot in New South Wales and Queensland (where I now live.) Consider my mind Blown lol. Originally they planned to shoot in Texas but were not able to get a permit.

The first thing that hit me was the cinematography. Oh-my-gosh. I was right there up close and I felt like I was in the shoes of Nancy herself.

Blake Lively is great, I found her refreshing in this movie. The idea of her decision-making is not unbelievable for her situation and I thought the commentary by her throughout made sense to me. Being a horror fan, I have to trudge through a lot of duds to find movies that impress me. A lot of this genre of movie rely upon the stupidity of character. Most, at best ignore technical aspects of reality. This story is not in the far-fetched class like giant sharks terrorizing beaches or tornadoes with sharks in them.

The Shallows, in my opinion, is how I see the situation playing out if I ever found myself in the shoes of the main protagonist Nancy and, of course, was fit and buff and had all the physical and mental attributes that she has (which I don’t, so I would be in effect dead and eaten.)

None the less, Nancy's story is about immersing herself in her late mother’s footsteps. She is a surfer who loves nothing more than a clean wave breaking and she is super smart, studying to become a doctor. Some people who watched it questioned the guys who drove her to the beach not taking he home. The locals who initially drive her to the beach are surfers, why would they think to track her down before they leave and escort her personally back to whence she came? She has pretty good technology on her, maybe she called a friend? It’s not like they got her life story on the ride there. They are all free spirits, they probably just assumed she left because they couldn’t see her.

I once went on a tour while on holiday in Hawaii. Suddenly I found myself snorkeling way, way away from the group I was in. I was following a turtle with one flipper and the other was missing. After following it for some time, I remember thinking “you are following a lame turtle...there could be sharks out here?" I immediately stopped trailing behind it and swam as fast as I could to where the group clustered together. Scary but true, being stranded in the water with a shark could really happen. I didn't die but a lot of people spurn movies saying they aren't believable scenarios. Split decisions in most cased can cause unfortunate events.

I loved this movie and I have watched it a few time. The free feeling of the water scenes in the first quarter is enough to make you want to grab your towel and hit the beach and the last half is enough fast-paced action to make sure you always tell someone to check on you if you aren't back by a certain time.

I give The Shallows 4 injured seagulls out of 5.

Nancy: Hey, sis.

Chloe: Hey.

Nancy: I just wanted to let you know I made it here. Mom was right, it took forever to find, but it’s perfect.

Where it all began - Jaws the Original (1975) Trailer

© 2017 Mother of Movies and Series Reviews

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • GetitScene profile image

      Dale Anderson 

      13 months ago from The High Seas

      Looking forward to your next review and now following you. I've been living overseas for over twenty-five years now and as soon as someone knows that I am an Aussie, they immediately start talking about sharks. It's actually pretty funny.

    • NessMovieReviews profile imageAUTHOR

      Mother of Movies and Series Reviews 

      13 months ago from Moreton Bay, Queensland

      @Dale, Not sure - I think sharks are more prevalent in other countries aren't they? I think we (Aussies) are just a bit obsessed - look at Vic Heslop - I used to live in Hervey Bay for a bit and he is nuts. All in all though - I loved The Shallows, I've seen it 3 times. About to watch 47 Meters so look out for my review on that.

    • GetitScene profile image

      Dale Anderson 

      13 months ago from The High Seas

      I found this movie by accident. I was visiting Melbourne, Victoria and was staying in a hotel in South Yara. I was sitting on the bed, working away on my laptop and The Shallows came on the TV. In very short order, work was forgotten and I was captivated by this movie. I thought the effects were a little much but the idea of the story itself was believable. Maybe because I'm an Aussie, I think too much about shark attacks? Nevertheless my advice is watch this flick, it's entertaining.

    • Violets3 profile image

      Violet 

      13 months ago from California

      @Vanessa. Ur on! Might look through and put link to ur articles that are on same movie..or if I'm too lazy, I'll do it on later movies. LOL.

    • Leslie Mcsweeney profile image

      Leslie Mcsweeney 

      13 months ago

      I have watched this movie. It was pretty good. There was not much to the movie but it always kept you entertained

    • NessMovieReviews profile imageAUTHOR

      Mother of Movies and Series Reviews 

      13 months ago from Moreton Bay, Queensland

      Hey thats not a bad idea! Creates more traffic. I will if you will!

    • Violets3 profile image

      Violet 

      13 months ago from California

      I was a fan of GG too. I saw it long ago. Loved Chuck Bass! I won't spoil who GG is.

      And lol, I guess we can complement each other. I show the bad, you show the good = but we still both usually end up enjoying the film.

      And heyyy! Sometimes I gush over the good regardless of the bad. I mean, I usually even recommend films even when I spend most of the review talking about all the bad. heh.

      I guess I'm weird like that.

      Maybe I'll just tell my readers to check your review of the same movie for a more positive review. ha.

    • NessMovieReviews profile imageAUTHOR

      Mother of Movies and Series Reviews 

      13 months ago from Moreton Bay, Queensland

      @violet, no Ive not seen Adeline, I was a fan of Gossip Girl, though lost track of it and have still managed to avoid hearing who GG is. I saw a negative review on hub moved to the niche site and although there is plenty to shred I like to defend the goodness (another great point of difference between you and I)

      Thanks for your comment.

    • Violets3 profile image

      Violet 

      13 months ago from California

      Ha. I've seen nonstop and Kidnap. Great action films. I watch anything with liam neeson. I should really review some of his movies. There's just so many movies on my list...it's going to take some time.

      Also, if you liked this movie..u will really enjoy 47 Meters down(I LOVED the twist--but again, im gonna shred this movie too. LOL). It was reallllly good. Of course, like most shark films..it's sorta unrealistic because sharks don't behave like that....but its fun!!

      If you like Lively...you should see The Age of Adaline (2015)...unless you've seen it?

      Oh and when I review this movie..I'm going to shred it too(though I found her commentary/reaction pretty believable. I will shred other stuff)..lol. I love shredding movies...but usually i still enjoy the movie a lot regardless of its issues.

      Great review!!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)