ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

Movie Review - The Wolverine with Hugh Jackman

Updated on May 18, 2018
Austinstar profile image

Lela earned a B.A. degree in Journalism from Sam Houston University in Huntsville, TX. She has been writing for the online world for years.

Wolverines in the wild

An actual wolverine
An actual wolverine | Source

The Wolverine 2013

Taking cues from Dwayne Johnson (The Rock), Hugh Jackman works out and eats until he is wonderfully fit. According to his interview on Dave Letterman, he has his eating and work outs down to a science, even going so far as to plan what his body will look like on 'shirts off' days on the set.

However he is doing it, it is truly working because his body is awesome to behold in this new movie. Every woman watching will want a piece of that beef cake!

Whichever cinematic genius picked Hugh Jackman to portray the X-Man known as the Wolverine, is a casting phenomenon. Jackman has played the Wolverine six times as of 2013, and all of the X-Men movies have done well.

The Wolverine Movie Plot

In the timeline of the X-Men, this particular movie plot follows X-Men, The Last Stand.

We find Logan (the Wolverine), alone and living in the frozen north woods of Canada somewhere. His appearance has degenerated to that of a caveman. Apparently he has not shaved nor bathed for quite some time. Indeed, the bath scene in which two Japanese women scrub the caveman down is one of the most interesting near nude scenes.

During a flashback scene, we see that Logan once saved the life of a currently very rich Japanese man named Yashida. Logan saved the young Yashida during the atom bomb drop over Nagasaki in WWII. The Wolverine is immortal. Yashida has summoned him to Japan to repay Logan for saving his life.

Things get complicated very quickly as Logan has many ghosts in his past, present and future what with being an X-Man and all. Yashida is betting that Logan will want to keep saving him by giving him the Wolverine's secret of immortality. The catch is that Logan will become mortal if he does so. Yashida tries to make Logan believe that giving up his immortality will be a gift from an old friend.

Logan struggles with strange and dark emotions regarding his mutant status, his love for another mutant (that he accidentally killed), his new feelings for Yashida's grand-daughter and his abilities as a warrior. Will he give up everything just to help a man he has already saved once?

Does this look like a cartoon to you? Why would the Wolverine give up immortality?

Source

The Cast of the Wolverine 2013

The last name of an Asian person may hold clues as to whether they are Japanese or Chinese. Chinese names have single syllables such as Lee, Wong and Tee. Japanese surnames generally have multi-syllables such as Kawasaki, Yashida and Okamoto. Although most of the cast of The Wolverine were Japanese, a few Chinese actors portrayed various parts. The movie was filmed extensively in Japan. Some scenes were filmed in Australia.

Tao Okamoto played the lovely and delicate Mariko. Mariko is Yashida's grand-daughter, the heir apparent to the Yashida empire. Mariko is pledged to marry some political Japanese playboy wannabe (Brian Tee). One of the funniest scenes in the movie is when Logan tosses the guy out of a window.

Rila Fukushima plays Yukio, Mariko best friend for life. Surprisingly, Yukio nearly steals the movie with her action scenes and her exotic face. She can also predict when someone will die which amuses Logan as he believes he will never die. Yukio predicts that Logan will cut out his own heart and hold it in his hand.

Hal Yamanouchi brings life to Yashida's character as the most powerful and rich Japanese mogul ever. He is both the hero and the protagonist of the movie. Yashida wants to control his family, his empire and his mortality. He will stop at nothing to achieve his goals.

Hiroyuki Sanada is Shingen, Mariko's childhood playmate and protector. He is a black samurai who is pledged to the house of Yashida. He will do what he can to protect Yashida and Mariko.

What do you think? Rate this movie:

5 out of 5 stars from 1 rating of The Wolverine 2013

How does The Wolverine rate as a movie?

New Japanese word to learn: Gaijin, which means American or Foreigner or Non-Japanese.

The movie is rated as PG-13 for violence, sexuality and language.

  • Violence - No joke! The Wolverine's adamantine indestructible claws rip through flesh and bone like butter. Then there are the katanas, Japanese steel swords of doom. If you have a phobia to slashing and even more slashing, avoid this movie.
  • Sexuality - No kidding! Any partially clothed scene with Jackman is sexual. The soft lit 'sex' scenes with Logan's previous mutant lover and the new scenes with the beautiful Mariko are hot, hot, hot.
  • Language - No shit! There are a few curse words, some of which are in Japanese, so who knows if they are curse words anyway?
  • Alcohol and other drugs - But of course! Alcohol is always present these days. Other drug use in this movie was relegated to poison darts and tongues. (oops! spoiler alert).

My personal opinion is that this movie is one of the best of the X-Men type movies. Hugh Jackman is a serious actor and plays this encounter with emotion and introspect. It's not gratuitously violent. The warrior world is violent.

The soundtrack was particular pleasing. It fit.

The background scenes shot in Japan are stunning and alive. The shot of the atom bomb exploding over Nagasaki brought actual tears to my eyes. It was difficult to watch.

The action scenes were amazing to watch. However, the scenes on top of the bullet train were unbelievable. By that I mean, the laws of physics were broken all to hell and back.

While the ending did not catch anyone by surprise, there was a moment or two that the audience clapped for. Strange how people will applaud scenes at a movie theater.

If you are a fan of the X-Men, I highly recommend seeing this movie. If you are not a fan, it will have less meaning, but the scenes of Japan are worth it anyway.

The Wolverine 2013

The Wolverine and the Black Samurai
The Wolverine and the Black Samurai | Source

Movie Poll: The Wolverine 2013

Will you be going to see The Wolverine 2013 opening (in the U.S.A.) July 25, 2013?

See results

© 2013 Lela

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • Austinstar profile image
    Author

    Lela 4 years ago from Somewhere in the universe

    I know that's true and I love you for it too. You are not the only one who confuses us. :-)

  • drbj profile image

    drbj and sherry 4 years ago from south Florida

    Forgive me for (hic) confusing your name, Lela, dear. It's cause I love you both! Truly!

  • Austinstar profile image
    Author

    Lela 4 years ago from Somewhere in the universe

    Heck, I might just go see it again!

  • Just Ask Susan profile image

    Susan Zutautas 4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

    I've seen all the X-Men movies and hope to see The Wolverine soon.

  • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image

    Justin W Price 4 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

    I've never been a huge fan of super hero/comic book films, but I've always enjoyed the x men and batman films. I intend to see this one as well. Nice work. UP shared, tweeted, et al.

  • Austinstar profile image
    Author

    Lela 4 years ago from Somewhere in the universe

    There have been several Wolverine movies, just like Superman movies. This one has a lavish budget, amazing sets, great actors and tons of action. It's almost believable. :-)

  • SimeyC profile image

    Simon Cook 4 years ago from NJ, USA

    I really got confused - wasn't there already a Wolverine movie based before the X-Men movies?!

  • Austinstar profile image
    Author

    Lela 4 years ago from Somewhere in the universe

    What kind of wine are you having tonight, drbj? I want some. Then we can go over to Holle's house and you will be able to tell us apart maybe. I'm the one from Texas. Holle is from Georgia (i think).

    Anyway, me, you and Holle Abee can go watch Hugh Jackman do his thing together.

    Lela

  • drbj profile image

    drbj and sherry 4 years ago from south Florida

    Hugh has my vote, Holle, he's a hunky actor who can act. Saw the trailer in the theater and he looks great even with those 'adamantine' silver claws. Will definitely catch the film. Thanks for this intriguing review.

  • Austinstar profile image
    Author

    Lela 4 years ago from Somewhere in the universe

    Hugh really has 'stage presence'. He moves just like the warrior you would expect from his character.

  • billybuc profile image

    Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

    I've never seen any of the X-Men series but I am a huge fan of Jackman. I think it's great that he didn't mail in his acting performance but instead gave it all of his considerable talent.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)