ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Movie Review and Summary: Precious

Updated on September 7, 2013

Precious Movie


I just finished watching the movie Precious, and I just had to come into the office and write a review! It affected me more than any movie has in a long, long time. You must see this film. It’s based on the novel Push, by Sapphire. It’s one of the most powerful movies I’ve ever seen. The plot is painfully raw, and the acting is so real that it’s almost like watching a documentary instead of a Hollywood creation.


Untrained actress Gabourey Sidibe shines in the title role of Claireece Precious Jones, a morbidly obese black teen from a Welfare home. Precious has been abused her entire life, by both her father and her mother. He father’s abuse was sexual. Because of his rapes, Precious has two children by him.


Precious’ mother constantly abuses her, also – verbally, emotionally, and physically. She uses the girl as a servant and as a meal ticket for her Welfare checks. The only stability in Precious’ life at this point is the grandmother, whose fear of her daughter prevents her from aiding her granddaughter.


Because of all the abuse, poor Precious has absolutely no self esteem. The two people in her life who should have been her protectors, her parents, served as her tormentors, instead. She describes herself as “ugly black grease to be washed from the street.” That's just so sad to me - that anyone could describe herself in those words.


Precious’ mother, Mary, is played by Mo’Nique. Who knew she was such an amazing actress? The scene with Mary and the social worker is truly unforgettable. In fact, it’s some of the best acting I’ve ever witnessed. As I was watching the scene, spellbound, I was wondering where Mo’Nique found all the razor-sharp emotion. There really are no words to describe it. You’ll just have to see it for yourself.


And speaking of the social worker, Mrs. Weiss – that part is played by Mariah Carey, whom I didn’t even recognize without all her glitter and makeup. She does an admirable job, also. I think it playing the part was a big step out of Ms. Carey's "comfort zone," if you know what I mean.


Precious is practically illiterate, yet in her inner city Harlem school, she’s considered a good student because she’s quiet and rarely causes any trouble. Obviously, her teachers don't care about learning - they seem to care only about classroom behavior. Because she doesn't cause the teachers problems, she receives little attention from the educators. Her life changes, however, when school officials discover that she’s pregnant and is subsequently kicked out of school. Her only option is to attend an alternative school.


The alternative class is taught by Ms. Rain, played by Paula Patton. Rain is a truly dedicated teacher who cares deeply about her students. Once Precious learns to trust and believe in Ms. Rain, she begins to believe in herself and starts to turn her life around. This really hit home with me and with many other viewers: It's amazing how one person can have such a profound impact on someone else's life.


This movie touched me on several levels, probably because of my years teaching at the high school level. Precious reminded me of several students I’ve known – lost souls searching for a way to assuage the pain in their lives. And I taught in a small town, so I can’t imagine how many teens in the crime-ridden public schools of the inner cities are suffering a similar fate to Precious. Unfortunately, far too many of these youth simply fall through the cracks. They don’t all have a Ms. Rain to catch them.


The only parts of the movie that didn’t completely work for me were Precious’ fantasies. She often daydreams about being a movie star or some other celebrity, where crowds of fans adore her. I suppose they fit in a way, however, since Precious’ ultimate goal was finding love and acceptance. I suppose one reason this was hard for me to relate to is because I had a very happy childhood, with two wonderful parents.


Precious is an inspirational story of an improbable heroine overcoming almost insurmountable obstacles. The film will shock and anger you, but in the end, you’re sure to find it uplifting.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      guest 

      6 years ago

      It was not a good film, based on the agenda and promotion.

    • silentwolf profile image

      silentwolf 

      7 years ago

      Great job on the summary and review. I myself blog on here too, so I was wondering do you mind looking at my page. and letting me know what you think? and if you dont mind leaving comments.thankyou for your time.

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      7 years ago from Georgia

      Lovely, I haven't been here much, either. Good to see ya!

    • lovelypaper profile image

      Renee S 

      7 years ago from Virginia

      It sounds like a very touching movie. I love tear-jerkers. Hope you're doing well, Habee. It's been a while since I've been active on here.

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      7 years ago from Georgia

      Nicky, get out the tissues, girl!

    • Nicky Smart profile image

      Nicky Smart 

      7 years ago from United Kingdom

      sounds like one I need to watch at home so I can blubber without anyone watching me. Thanks for the review

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      7 years ago from Georgia

      cheryl, Precious was an awesome movie. I think I'm ready to watch it again!

    • Cheryl J. profile image

      Cheryl J. 

      7 years ago from Houston, TX

      Habee,

      A great review and summary. I was amazed. I learned so much from watching the movie. Great hub.

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      7 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks, Sarah!

    • Sarah Masson profile image

      Sarah 

      7 years ago from Melbourne, Australia

      I understand what you mean about the fantasies, I didn't really like that either. Great Review :)

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Genny, hope you enjoy it!

    • genny2000 profile image

      genny2000 

      8 years ago

      good review i think i might watch the movie i was thinkin of seeing it and now i will !!!!!!!!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Don, how old is your daughter? The language is rough.

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Sneak, I didn't cry - I was inspired!

    • Don Simkovich profile image

      Don Simkovich 

      8 years ago from Pasadena, CA

      My daughter is wanting to go see Precious . . . sounds like it's worthwhile and thought provoking.

    • profile image

      sneakorocksolid 

      8 years ago

      Is it a crying movie? I hate to cry at the movies! Great Hub!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Joe, isn't it awesome?? Thanks for reading!

    • JOE BARNETT profile image

      JOE BARNETT 

      8 years ago

      whew! i just saw it and. . . whew! it's really raw;a must see! great hub!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Okie dokey, Laurel!

    • lorlie6 profile image

      Laurel Rogers 

      8 years ago from Bishop, Ca

      I thought it was only in theaters now...duh!

      Bye!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Great, Idunn!

      I'm tellin' ya, Msannec, Mo'Nique blew me away! She was unbelievable!

    • msannec profile image

      msannec 

      8 years ago from Mississippi (The Delta)

      Awesome review! I just saw the movie, and it is spectacular. Monique gave an interview, and in it she revealed that she was able to play that part and put so much into it because she was sexually abused by her brother when she was younger. She was incredible! So were Gabby and Mariah. I loved this movie, although it made me want to cry. Thanks for sharing your view!

    • profile image

      Iðunn 

      8 years ago

      Yeah I just caught the ad for selling them yesterday. I am going to get. :)

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks, Sis! LEt me know how you like the movie!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Idunn, it's already out on video here, so maybe you can get it soon!

    • Angela Blair profile image

      Angela Blair 

      8 years ago from Central Texas

      Superb review, Habee. I had planned on seeing the movie and after your review I'm definitely gonna see it. Thanks so much. Best, Sis

    • profile image

      Iðunn 

      8 years ago

      great review, I so want to see this movie. Mo'Nique got the Oscar for it, I think the movie ended up with 4 Oscars actually.

      It's not out for rent yet, so I haven't had a chance, but it's on my list.

      You sound like me. I cry at everything. Sad movies, scary movies, happy movies, even boring movies. :p

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Nemi - I am a super softie! I cry at commercials!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Good, Sandy! Hope you like it!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Prasetio, you probably don't want to watch it with kids - BAD language!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Veronica, there's just a snippet of the actual sexual abuse, but I understand how such a movie would be difficult for you. You turned into a wonderful adult!!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Pam and Michael, I hope you like it, and many thanks for reading!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Duchess, refer to comment I made to Herbi!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Actually, Herbi, it didn't make me cry - and I cry at commercials!

    • Sandyspider profile image

      Sandy Mertens 

      8 years ago from Wisconsin, USA

      Great review. This movie is on my list.

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Oh, Granny, you are too kind!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Ethel and Bpop, it's def worth a watch!

    • Nemingha profile image

      Nemingha 

      8 years ago

      Sounds like a movie that big softies like me would find too hard to watch. Glad you enjoyed it though.

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks, HH! I think you'll like this film!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Sadly, James, you're right. Glad you stopped by.

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks, GoGranny!

    • prasetio30 profile image

      prasetio30 

      8 years ago from malang-indonesia

      good review Habee, IT looks interesting movie. I try to rent the DVD and watch it with my family. Thank you for this information. good work

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Thanks, Rob. I'll check it out now!

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Laurel, I rented it last night.

    • Veronica Allen profile image

      Veronica Allen 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      You know habee - I haven't worked up the courage yet to see this movie.

      A survivor of sexual abuse by the hands of my stepbrothers; movies like these tend to be extremely hard for me to watch.

      I fortunately, had a mother who was truly my life-support then and now, in addition to friends and other family memebers that supported me. (I know that that is what contributes to my fearlessness and almost lionesses like approach when it comes down to protecting my own children) I think the rawness of the film is what will effect me the most.

      The fact that both her parents - the ones who she should have been able to trust the most - abused her is so unsettling, especially since we know that these things do actually happen.

      I can attest to her daydreaming however - it's a way to remove yourself out of an upleasent situation, a coping mechanism.

      Although I haven't seen the movie and probably never will, I think you did a great job at reviewing it.

    • Michael Shane profile image

      Michael Shane 

      8 years ago from Gadsden, Alabama

      It sounds precious! I went & put it in my que...

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 

      8 years ago from United States

      Habee, This definitely sounds like a movie I would like to see. Great review.

    • profile image

      Duchess OBlunt 

      8 years ago

      sounds like one I need to watch at home so I can blubber without anyone watching me. Thanks for the review

    • theherbivorehippi profile image

      theherbivorehippi 

      8 years ago from Holly, MI

      I have been dying to see this movie! My mom wanted me to go with her to see it when it was in the theater and I refused, knowing it would be one to make me cry and I hate sitting in a movie theater crying. lol Thanks for the review!

    • Granny's House profile image

      Granny's House 

      8 years ago from Older and Hopefully Wiser Time

      As always a great hub. I love the way you write!

    • breakfastpop profile image

      breakfastpop 

      8 years ago

      Dear habee,

      This is a terrific review. I have to see this movie.

    • ethel smith profile image

      Eileen Kersey 

      8 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      I shall have to check this one out. Thanks

    • Hello, hello, profile image

      Hello, hello, 

      8 years ago from London, UK

      Thank you, habee for giving such a great review. It really gives the longing to see it. You were great.

    • habee profile imageAUTHOR

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Glad to see you here, Chris!

    • Unchained Grace profile image

      Unchained Grace 

      8 years ago from Baltimore, MD

      Habee, I've seen this and it hits. Hits hard. From a different perspective you and I both have seeen children who bear the scars of this disgusting but often silenced behavior of those who prey upon children. You've seen it in the classroom. I've seen it in the streets of Baltimore.

    • GoGranny profile image

      GoGranny 

      8 years ago from Southeastern PA

      I think you did well on this review. Your comment about this movie having the feel of a documentary was good and I agree.

    • Robwrite profile image

      Rob 

      8 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Very nice review. I liked it a lot, too. I did my own review of it on my weekly movie review site, if you want to take a look.

    • lorlie6 profile image

      Laurel Rogers 

      8 years ago from Bishop, Ca

      I'm not sure if Precious will find it's way to our small town, Habee, but given your review, I'll definitely look for it on DVD.

      Thanks,

      Laurel

    • carolina muscle profile image

      carolina muscle 

      8 years ago from Charlotte, North Carolina

      Habee: Great review.. I really got a feel for the pic!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)