ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

Movie Review of Logan

Updated on July 27, 2017

I have finally gotten around the seeing the blockbuster Marvel comic movie, Logan. I heard mix reviews of this film. I was not sure how I would take it. It seems like the Wolverine character (Logan) from the X-Men series has plenty of films and origin films the explain this character. Wolverine is one of my favorite Marvel characters and my favorite X-Men. I must say, I was hesitant about seeing this film because of all the previous films the Wolverine character has been in. I will let you know how I rank it, but first a little bit of non-spoil background of the movie Logan.

Logan Plot

In the not so distant future, both Logan (Wolverine) and Professor X (Charles Xavier) are both living in secret near the Mexican border. Logan has dedicated his time to aiding Charles who is sick and dying. Logan himself is not to well either. Logan's quite little world is bright back into the big spotlight when a young mutant girl, Laura, into their lives. She is being chased by some dark forces who want her back. Now Logan must get the girl and Charles to safety which takes them on a long and intense journey north to the Canadian border.

Loaded with intense action, chase scenes and a whole lot of mutant fights, Logan delivers on all levels. This is finally the Wolverine movie I think fans deserves. Logan goes deeper emotionally with the character of Wolverine than any other movie has in the past. Hugh Jackman delivers is best portrayer of the claw fighter mutant. This film is way different than any other Wolverine or X-Men film which is why I think fans loved it.

Rating and Final Thoughts

I really didn't know what to expect about this movie. I must say, I really enjoyed it. It delivered and exceeded my expectations on so many levels. Hugh Jackman's performance was truly amazing. Patrick Stewart did a marvelous job as well. But, Dafne Keen stole the show. She was absolutely amazing. I really did not expect the cast to perform as well as they did. I did not expect to like this movie as much as I did. If you are a fan of the Wolverine or X-Men series, I would say you definitely would want to see this film. It is far different from any of the other films in the series, and trust me that is a great thing. I would rate this film four out of five stars. And I am glad they were able to make it R-rated because I felt that finally Wolverine could be the true badass that he really is.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Fullerman5000 profile image
      Author

      Ryan Fuller 10 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      Thanks Larry. I hope you guys enjoy it.

    • Larry Rankin profile image

      Larry Rankin 10 months ago from Oklahoma

      My wife and I have really been wanting to see this one.

      Great review!

    • Fullerman5000 profile image
      Author

      Ryan Fuller 11 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      That would be sweet. They could call it Laura. The ability she has with her feet too make her that much more awesome. I would definitely be down to see that movie. Hopefully same writers and director will make the film.

    • Violets3 profile image

      Violet 11 months ago from California

      Ryan, I believe they hinted at following her storyline. A few articles talked about it (director and some other people).

      I think there is a very high chance that we will follow this new group of mutants in the next few years.

    • Fullerman5000 profile image
      Author

      Ryan Fuller 11 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      Violet, are you telling me there will be a spinoff movie with her character? I hope so. She was amazing.

    • Fullerman5000 profile image
      Author

      Ryan Fuller 11 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      Linda, you really could probably just get a breakdown from your family to help set you up for this film.

    • Fullerman5000 profile image
      Author

      Ryan Fuller 11 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      Mary I agree he is amazing actor. I think because it had a R-rating that decided to not hold back on the gore.

    • Violets3 profile image

      Violet 11 months ago from California

      Saw this film a while back and loved it. it was definitely the most depressing comic to film adaptation. But once in a while, really depressing movies are great!

      and agreed, the daughter stole the show...which is great because we will follow her soon enough.

    • Carb Diva profile image

      Linda Lum 11 months ago from Washington State, USA

      Ryan, I have not seen any of the X-men movies, but my husband and daughters haven't missed a one. I will share your review with them. ...and you almost have me convinced that I should give this a try, at least (like Flourish) for the popcorn.

    • Blond Logic profile image

      Mary Wickison 11 months ago from Brazil

      I saw this film as well. Usually, I don't like this type of superhero/mutant, call it what you will, type of film.

      It was rather gory, and I was sad to see those who helped them, not survive.

      However, it was very watchable and Hugh Jackman is a great actor.

    • Fullerman5000 profile image
      Author

      Ryan Fuller 11 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      I always have to get movie theater popcorn too Flourish when I go see a movie. Thanks for the comment.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 11 months ago from USA

      I saw this with my husband and daughter even though I haven't seen other X-Men movies. I was there for the popcorn really but kinda liked it (even though I wasn't entirely following the story line). It's hard when you have no context. My family loved it though.

    • Fullerman5000 profile image
      Author

      Ryan Fuller 11 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      I am glad my review could help you Louise. I hope you enjoy this film.

    • Coffeequeeen profile image

      Louise Powles 11 months ago from Norfolk, England

      This sounds like an interesting film. I'll have to give this a go I think!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)