ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Movie Review of Patriots Day

Updated on July 17, 2017

Plot

It is April 13th, 2013 and the marathon in Boston is about to take place for the annual Patriots Day celebration. Little did the runners and the bystanders know, they were about to become victims of a horrible terrorist attack. Two brother terrorists, with their homemade bombs, unleash two attacks that left many dead and several more wounded. After the bomb's explosions, both Boston Police Department and the F.B.I. must race against time to launch a manhunt and capture the two terrorist before they strike again. The two terrorist brothers realize that the police and F.B.I. are close to identifying them and must accelerate their plan on leaving the city of Boston. Time against both the officials and the terrorist.

Review and Rating

Patriots Day is a great action thriller with loads of drama. Once again Peter Berg and Mark Wahlberg team up to bring another tragic true story to the big screen without disappointing. These two teamed up and brought you Deepwater Horizon and Lone Survivor, and are at it again with this new thriller. I would rate this movie 3.5 stars out of 5 stars. I felt they told the story well, expressed true emotion without deviating from the true story that happened. Once the events start to unfold, the movie does not slow down. Berg does a great job, like in his other films, to put you right in the action as if you were there.

I remember when this tragedy happened. Makes me think back at all the tragic events that I have been able to witness on television during my life time. I felt the movie stayed true to the tragedy without sacrificing and adding a bunch of Hollywood magic to make the film unbelievable. Berg and Wahlberg seem to make a great team.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Fullerman5000 profile image
      Author

      Ryan Fuller 4 weeks ago from Louisiana, USA

      Thanks for stopping by Cooper. I agree Wahlberg makes some great films. And I know this one was more of a personal one being that he is from that area and his brother usually runs in that marathon.

    • wpcooper profile image

      Finn Liam Cooper 4 weeks ago from Los Angeles

      Curious about the movie. Even though Walbergh's biography is a bit scandalous, I think he is a fine actor.

      A nice review of an interesting film. I'm just a little disappointed that almost every event now is turned into a major story - not to belittle the orignal bombing.

    • Fullerman5000 profile image
      Author

      Ryan Fuller 4 weeks ago from Louisiana, USA

      I do agree with you Linda and thank you so much for the comment. I hope you enjoy this film.

    • Carb Diva profile image

      Linda Lum 4 weeks ago from Washington State, USA

      I had forgotten about this movie, and glad you gave it a review. If we did not make movies of tragic events our catalog of movies would be reduced by at least 25 percent, don't you think?

      If the events are trivialized or not presented objectively, then yes I agree that it is unethical. But movies that are honest and present the facts are an homage to the lives involved, don't you think?

    • Fullerman5000 profile image
      Author

      Ryan Fuller 4 weeks ago from Louisiana, USA

      I would definitely say it is worth a watch. Yeah I usually love his films.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 5 weeks ago from USA

      Even though you gave it a less than enthusiastic rating, I may be inclined to watch it because of Mark Wahlberg. I've loved him since he was a Marky Mark. He could be selling dog food and I would watch. For educational value of course. Mr. FlourishAnyway just shakes his head.

    • Fullerman5000 profile image
      Author

      Ryan Fuller 5 weeks ago from Louisiana, USA

      Thank you for stopping by and posting a comment Rachael. I don't really feel it's unethical to make films about tragedy as long as they tell the true story. I mean I know some of it will be distorted to entertain audiences, but I felt this was a film that did not do that. I mean magazines, newspapers, documentaries and other outlets make profit off of tragedy.

    • RachaelLefler profile image

      Rachael Lefler 5 weeks ago from Illinois

      Do you really think it's ethical for a company to profit off of a recent tragedy though? I feel icky about this kind of the way I did about all those goddamned country songs after 9/11.