ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Movie Review of Patriots Day

Updated on July 17, 2017

Plot

It is April 13th, 2013 and the marathon in Boston is about to take place for the annual Patriots Day celebration. Little did the runners and the bystanders know, they were about to become victims of a horrible terrorist attack. Two brother terrorists, with their homemade bombs, unleash two attacks that left many dead and several more wounded. After the bomb's explosions, both Boston Police Department and the F.B.I. must race against time to launch a manhunt and capture the two terrorist before they strike again. The two terrorist brothers realize that the police and F.B.I. are close to identifying them and must accelerate their plan on leaving the city of Boston. Time against both the officials and the terrorist.

Review and Rating

Patriots Day is a great action thriller with loads of drama. Once again Peter Berg and Mark Wahlberg team up to bring another tragic true story to the big screen without disappointing. These two teamed up and brought you Deepwater Horizon and Lone Survivor, and are at it again with this new thriller. I would rate this movie 3.5 stars out of 5 stars. I felt they told the story well, expressed true emotion without deviating from the true story that happened. Once the events start to unfold, the movie does not slow down. Berg does a great job, like in his other films, to put you right in the action as if you were there.

I remember when this tragedy happened. Makes me think back at all the tragic events that I have been able to witness on television during my life time. I felt the movie stayed true to the tragedy without sacrificing and adding a bunch of Hollywood magic to make the film unbelievable. Berg and Wahlberg seem to make a great team.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      15 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      Thanks for stopping by Cooper. I agree Wahlberg makes some great films. And I know this one was more of a personal one being that he is from that area and his brother usually runs in that marathon.

    • wpcooper profile image

      Finn Liam Cooper 

      15 months ago from Los Angeles

      Curious about the movie. Even though Walbergh's biography is a bit scandalous, I think he is a fine actor.

      A nice review of an interesting film. I'm just a little disappointed that almost every event now is turned into a major story - not to belittle the orignal bombing.

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      15 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      I do agree with you Linda and thank you so much for the comment. I hope you enjoy this film.

    • Carb Diva profile image

      Linda Lum 

      15 months ago from Washington State, USA

      I had forgotten about this movie, and glad you gave it a review. If we did not make movies of tragic events our catalog of movies would be reduced by at least 25 percent, don't you think?

      If the events are trivialized or not presented objectively, then yes I agree that it is unethical. But movies that are honest and present the facts are an homage to the lives involved, don't you think?

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      15 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      I would definitely say it is worth a watch. Yeah I usually love his films.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      15 months ago from USA

      Even though you gave it a less than enthusiastic rating, I may be inclined to watch it because of Mark Wahlberg. I've loved him since he was a Marky Mark. He could be selling dog food and I would watch. For educational value of course. Mr. FlourishAnyway just shakes his head.

    • Fullerman5000 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ryan Fuller 

      15 months ago from Louisiana, USA

      Thank you for stopping by and posting a comment Rachael. I don't really feel it's unethical to make films about tragedy as long as they tell the true story. I mean I know some of it will be distorted to entertain audiences, but I felt this was a film that did not do that. I mean magazines, newspapers, documentaries and other outlets make profit off of tragedy.

    • RachaelLefler profile image

      Rachael Lefler 

      15 months ago from Illinois

      Do you really think it's ethical for a company to profit off of a recent tragedy though? I feel icky about this kind of the way I did about all those goddamned country songs after 9/11.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)