ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Movie Reviews Avatar

Updated on March 31, 2014

Avatar Film Review

Avatar was a much hyped film at the time of it's release earlier in 2010 and much of the story had eluded me even though it was hyped up through advertising in many places, so when it came to watching Avatar I knew hardly anything about what it was about, except that it had blue aliens in it.

Avatar starts off quite slow but obviously as it has to ease us into the world of Pandora where the fantastically imaginative alien world and creatures live and for much of the movie we are there with the central character Jake Sully who has replaced his twin brother in a government funded Avatar program were a team of people are linked to Avatars which are exact clones of the aliens that the higher military types want to get rid of so that they can acquire a rich source of chemical compound for the planet earth.

As usual this story deals with us humans as we always mess with other life forms even on our own planet in real life, so it makes sense that we try and start a war just for our own greedy aims with aliens on their own home planet, fortunately there are a group of people who have a sense of right and wrong and do the right thing by the Na'vi, the alien race.

The special effects look fantastic and at sometimes you can't really tell what is special effect sometimes, the CGI is handled by Weta digital, (which at one time would have been Industrial Light and Magic), the same effects company that did the Lord of the Rings films and the effects look amazing and some of the creatures that live on Pandora are some of the most original I've seen in a film in a long while.

Back to the story, I think it was good to have a main character that couldn't walk, because it made the transition into his Avatar clone more real and identifiable as he would have felt more free to walk and run in his remote Avatar and so this makes the reasons for the characters change of character half way through the film which advances the story and gives it more of an emotional impact.

Not to give too much away if you haven't seen Avatar yet, but I like the fact that it has a happy ending as I feel endings like these are missing in today's films that always concentrate on the doom and gloom, but even though there are aliens that don't deserve to die in this film it is a rather colourful film with fantastic scenery and landscapes such as floating mountains and colourful alien plant life.

Sigourney Weaver is in this film too, which is probably a nod to Aliens when James Cameron directed that classic film all them years ago and now with this being another James Cameron film it just makes sense, because he hasn't made a film since Titanic and that was way back in 1997.

I do recommend this film though as it is a superb science fiction/fantasy film and one that will become a classic in the years to come.

Avatar

James Camerons Avatar.
James Camerons Avatar.

Avatar On DVD And Blu-ray At Amazon

Avatar

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      They are making a sequel and I heard it's set underwater....don't know if that's just a rumour as James Cameron directed a movie adventure The Abyss back in the late 80's?!

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yeah it's just as good...Wonder when it'll come out in 3D on dvd?

    • Sandyspider profile image

      Sandy Mertens 

      8 years ago from Wisconsin, USA

      I haven't seen it yet. I wonder if it is good on 2D.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yeah it certainly was a cinema watching film that I only saw on dvd too, I was expecting it to be dull, but I was pleasantly surprised! cheers Ethel!

    • ethel smith profile image

      Ethel Smith 

      8 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      We just watched this on DVD and I loved it. I wish now I had seen it at the cinema

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      I'll probably watch it again this weekend, because it is so cool!

    • Dame Scribe profile image

      Dame Scribe 

      8 years ago from Canada

      It is a great movie which my sons watch almost daily now, lol. :)

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers! tis a great film, I bought it the other day and I've watched it 3 times now!

    • profile image

      patriciarose7 

      8 years ago

      Well I too also watched it and it's is so awesome! Your review is very well thought out. Thank you for posting.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yeah I loved this movie, lots to look at and enjoy!

    • billyaustindillon profile image

      billyaustindillon 

      8 years ago

      Excellent review of Avatar - I agree it is destined to be a classic.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)