ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Movie Reviews on Metro Manila Film Festival 2011

Updated on December 23, 2011

Official Movie entries bared

Filipinos are basically moviegoers; always topping the Asian survey of being tagged as movie buff of the region.

Aside from patronizing Hollywood movies and Asian movies circulating in the country, local movie productions and producers are always saving the best for last as December comes each year.

That's why, Metro Manila Film Festival will always be part of year-ending event in the Philippines as it features the best of movies that fanatics are craving during the Christmas season.

Aside from going to church to thank the Lord for the year's bounty, islanders will always be mesmerized by the unique 'highs' that those movies will bring to every member of the family that will be part of the mob that will watch those anticipated local productions.

For the year 2011, the 37th installment of the movie festival will feature movies both in the mainstream and indie (independent) categories.

The following movies are declared as the official films-to-watch by the moviegoers.

  1. Enteng ng Ina Mo - a collaboration of a fantasy-action-packed and family adventure of the season, featuring seasoned thespians in comedy, Vic Sotto and Ai-ai de las Alas.
  2. My Househusband (Ikaw Na!) - starring the reel-to-real couple, Judy Ann Santos and Ryan Agoncillo.
  3. Ang Panday 2 - starring action star-turned-senator Bong Revilla on its second installment on the adventure of this famous legendary smith.
  4. Segunda Mano - produced and starred by the former Presidential daughter/television host Kris Aquino, showcasing the mystery and horror of buying secondhand dresses, bags and accessories. A horror flick to watch for, so, they say.
  5. Shake, Rattle & Roll 13 - a horror trilogy that will always give us goosebumps and chills plus the screams once you see it.
  6. Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow - a drama entry starring seasoned protagonists Gabby Concepcion and Maricel Soriano plus handful of young stars.
  7. Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story - a movie filmed in black and white retelling the true-to-life bio of the so-called Robinhood of Tondo, Manila.


Metro Manila Film Festival 2011 Movie Trailers (1/2) c/o SuperYabang00

The official logo of the MMFF (Shared by Travel Man)
The official logo of the MMFF (Shared by Travel Man) | Source
Shared by http://www.pizzaandbeer.com.ph/
Shared by http://www.pizzaandbeer.com.ph/
Shared by http://ph.images.search.yahoo.com/
Shared by http://ph.images.search.yahoo.com/

The Escapist's Review for Asiong Salonga and other movie entries

If I will single out as to what movie should win this year, I will cast my vote on the Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story.

My personal biases go for this story that shaped the lives of the residents of Tondo, Manila as the character of Nicasio "Asiong" Salonga helped the impoverished people of his place to have a decent kind of living condition.

A notorious gang leader with a golden heart, Asiong was dubbed as the Robinhood of Tondo, gaining that moniker from a legendary western character that also inspired others to help the needy even though it will mean robbing banks or the rich people of the society.

By the way, seasoned cinematographer Tikoy Aguiluz served as the man at the helm of this flick which stars Mayor Jeorge Estregan, who's also the producer of the film.

For production value, as in visual effects, I would have my thumbs up for Ang Panday 2 of Senator Bong Revilla who also starred it. Digital enhancements for special effects will surely dominate this movie as new characters will ignite the new installment of this adventure film.

Horror flicks will always scare moviegoers but they'll also crave for it. Shake, Rattle and Roll on its 13th installment brings another scream-to-the-top trilogy. Segunda Mano will give it a run for the moviegoers money.

I don't know if a drama flick like Yesterday,Today and Tomorrow will bring revenue at the tills but it will bring honor to the thespians involved.

I would rather watch a comedy offering, like Enteng ng Ina Mo (plus its fantasy-adventure scenes) and a homebody husband in the movie, My Househusband (Ikaw Na!)

Copyright & Reviewed by travel_man1971 as of December 21, 2011.

Shared by http://ph.images.search.yahoo.com/
Shared by http://ph.images.search.yahoo.com/
Shared by http://ph.images.search.yahoo.com/
Shared by http://ph.images.search.yahoo.com/

Indie Films, to be taken seriously

Low-budgeted movies produced by independent filmmakers were staged and exhibited as early as December 17-21 in order for the early movie patrons to have a feel of the Philippine movie highlights come the 25th day of the month, the Christmas day.

14 independent films were produced this year, full length and short films highlighting the production of different colleges in Manila and nearby universities outside the city.

Full Length Category

  • Haruo - by Adolf Alix

  • Ritwal - by Yeng Grande

  • Dyagwar - by Ogie Diaz and Sid Pascua

  • Pintakasi - by Imee Marcos and Nelson Caguila

Student Shorts

  • Payaso - La Salle Lipa

  • Adivino - Asia Pacific Film Institute

  • Sanayan lang ang Pagpatay - Ateneo de Naga University

  • Biyahe ni Barbie - De La salle-College of Saint Benilde

  • Oras - International Academy of Film and Television, Cebu

  • Mate - Colegio de San Juan de Letran

  • I See Everything - Southville International School

  • Bagong Ligo - Mapua M.A.S.

  • Speechless - Miriam College

  • Ulan - Pixel Arts, La Consolacion College

A group of film jurors will select Best Independent Feature and Best Student Short Film during the MMFF Annual Awards Night at the New World Resort Hotel on December 28, 2011. That will be three days after the official showing of the main movie entries of the festival.

More and more awards are being given, aside from the characters' categories (best performances) and the technical values of each film.

Additional prize will also be given by the Quezon City Gender and Development Office for the Most Gender-Sensitive Film. I don't actually perceive its importance but I will guess, it's for the values given by the portrayal of each character in a film.

Shared by http://ph.images.search.yahoo.com/
Shared by http://ph.images.search.yahoo.com/
Shared by http://ph.images.search.yahoo.com/
Shared by http://ph.images.search.yahoo.com/

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • travel_man1971 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ireno Alcala 

      6 years ago from Bicol, Philippines

      @PI!! Nagdilang-anghel (?) ka, PI!! It's a very inspiring movie and every one is clamoring to see it at the silver screen.

      Better watch it on screen, not from pirated DVDs. Mas maganda pa rin sa sinehan kung manood ka.

    • profile image

      PI!! 

      6 years ago

      manila kingpin sana humakot ng award,,ganda kc..trailer plang tska song nla astig...pag wala pa makuha yan...itigil na nila mmff...at talagang marami ng pinoy na bobo at tanga

    • travel_man1971 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ireno Alcala 

      6 years ago from Bicol, Philippines

      @Tom: Thanks for the info. I already visited and liked it and even joined the site.

      It's a cross between Facebook, YouTube and Blogger where you can also write your blog, upload your video and photos as well.

    • travel_man1971 profile imageAUTHOR

      Ireno Alcala 

      6 years ago from Bicol, Philippines

      @earthbound1974: Thanks for appreciating. I'll be including the star parade photos soon. It will be on the 24th, starting 11:00 am at the Mall of Asia Grounds and roam the Roxas Boulevard in Manila until afternoon.

    • profile image

      Tom 

      6 years ago

      Metro Manila Film Festival is the most awaited event of the year. Christmas celebration is incomplete without the movie entries and parade of stars of Metro Manila Film Festival. By the way I found another blog about the upcoming film festival; you can also visit the blog post for more exciting updates about this event.

      Here’s the link:

      http://ixomsoft.tv/tv/index.php?do=/ixomevents/blog/2011-metro-manila-film-festival-official-entries/

      Good luck to all the nominees!

    • earthbound1974 profile image

      earthbound1974 

      6 years ago from Bicol, Philippines

      Wow! I wouldn't miss any of these films. It will surely a a big year ender for 2011 in the Philippine movie industry.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)