ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

"The Names of Love" Movie Review

Updated on January 6, 2015
Sara Forestier & Jacques Gamblin
Sara Forestier & Jacques Gamblin | Source
Sara Forestier
Sara Forestier | Source
Meeting the Parents
Meeting the Parents | Source

"The Names of Love" (Le Nom des Gens)

The Names of Love is a delightful, wacky little French comedy which will be enjoyed by anyone who's interested in politics and isn't offended by Sara Forestier's several nude scenes. (No body doubles for her! She's well-equipped for nude scenes.) Forestier plays a young, modern French hippie, Baya Benmahmoud, half Algerian Arab and half French, who brags that she always jumps into bed on her first dates.(She has many first dates!) She's a far-left socialist whose motto is "make love not war" and whose mission in life is converting conservatives who she refers to as "fascists" by taking them to bed. She attributes her success to her observation that there are "a few brief moments" in bed when conservatives are susceptible to changing their political orientation.

Forestier's performance won the French Oscar-equivalent, and she overshadows her co-star, Jacques Gamblin, who plays Arthur Martin, a repressed bird disease expert, who is devoted to the :"precautionary principle" in his work for the French government health department collecting dead birds and testing them for possible dangerous viruses. He may be the first person whom Baya wasn't able tot get into bed on their first encounter. Baya is attracted to Arthur Martin (the name of a popular French washing machine brand) and is thrilled when she learns that his maternal grandparents died in the holocaust. She excitedly proclaims "That's so cool! The two of us embody France. We're the future of humanity!"and pledges her love for Martin. At the inevitable dinner for their parents to meet, Baya and her sixties, left-wing hippie mother manage immediately to offend Arthur's conservative parents.

Aside from Forestier and Gamblin's romance and humor straight out of Stiller, DeNiro, Hoffman, Danner and Streisand's Meet the Fockers, the movie offers a cameo performance by Lionel Jospin, former Prime Minister and two-time candidate for President of France. (Jaspin denies he was converted to socialism by Baya!)

The couple's parents were ably played by Zinedine Soualem, Carole Franck, Michele Moretti and Jacques Baudet. The movie was written and directed by Michel Leclerc.


[Click on photos to enlarge them.]

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      6 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Thanks. It was a fun movie. I only do reviews on movies that i like.

    • 88888888 profile image

      88888888 

      6 years ago

      Nice Moviee

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      6 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Thanks, all, for your comments.

    • JamaGenee profile image

      Joanna McKenna 

      6 years ago from Central Oklahoma

      Haven't looked, but I'd bet the farm that the public library here in Bible Belt Central doesn't have this movie. Which means, of course, that I *MUST* find and watch it! Thanks, Ralph! ;D

    • SweetiePie profile image

      SweetiePie 

      6 years ago from Southern California, USA

      Sounds like a witty movie, and I read and understand enough French that I might understand great bits of it.

    • profile image

      Patrick Wise 

      6 years ago

      Thanks Ralph. Great review.

    • profile image

      mewlhouse 

      6 years ago

      I will definitely look for it. Netflix, I hope? Great review, Ralph. Thanks.

    • Harvey Stelman profile image

      Harvey Stelman 

      6 years ago from Illinois

      Ralph, You've open my eyes to this movie, and I hate reading movies. H

    • Ralph Deeds profile imageAUTHOR

      Ralph Deeds 

      6 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Thanks for your comment. My wife and I and my sister-in-law enjoyed the movie.

    • lundmusik profile image

      lundmusik 

      6 years ago from Tucson AZ

      Great Review,,,, I've got it on my list!!!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)