ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Nights in Rodanthe film review - a summary movie review about a great movie featuring beautiful wild horses

Updated on December 4, 2018
Journey * profile image

Nyesha loves writing about cooking/recipes, restaurants, movies, weddings, and poetry.

Nights in Rodanthe movie poster
Nights in Rodanthe movie poster | Source

Nights in Rodanthe movie

NIGHTS IN RODANTHE - Nights in Rodanthe Film Review :

Nights in Rodanthe the movie is a movie that is based on the novel by bestselling American author, Nicholas Sparks (who also wrote The Notebook, A Walk to Remember, and Message in a Bottle among others). This film, Nights in Rodanthe stars Diane Lane as a woman (Adrienne) who is distraught by her husband's infidelity.

In Nights in Rodanthe the movie, Adrienne's estranged husband is Jack (played by Christopher Meloni) and

  • her children are heartbroken by the development that is their parents' divorce.
  • The teenaged daughter (Amanda played by Mae Whitman) takes it especially hard.
  • Amanda is already at a rebellious age but she begins to rebel even more much to her mother's chagrin.
  • Amanda's fashion style is dark and can be taken to be a sign of her rebellion.
  • She becomes interested in getting tattoos without first asking her mother's permission.

Adrienne's daughter, Amanda is rebellious.

Viola Davis co-stars in Nights of Rodanthe as the character Jean, best friend of Diana Lane's character Adrienne

In the movie, Nights in Rodanthe, while Adrienne is dealing with all of the difficulties including her daughter's rebellion, her best friend who is named Jean (played by the actress Viola Davis) calls on her for help.

Jean inherited her mother's bed and breakfast and needs some assistance overseeing its upkeep while she goes on vacation.

Adrienne feels that looking out for the bed and breakfast can be her own vacation and she agrees to help her friend out. She needs to get away.

Adrienne needs to get away.

Nights in Rodanthe Trailer

The movie Nights in Rodanthe has beautiful scenery and features wild horses

Adrienne goes to the bed and breakfast in Rodanthe, North Carolina in the Outer Banks and there, she receives just one guest, Paul played by Richard Gere.

One of the strong points of this film is the beautiful scenery of Rodanthe, North Carolina and views of the gorgeous wild horses on the beach.

Nights in Rodanthe is the third film that Richard Gere and Diane Lane star in together. The last one was Unfaithful. Perhaps I should now add them to my hub, "Actors who work well together".

One of the strong points of the film, Nights in Rodanthe is the beautiful scenery.

Walking on the beach
Walking on the beach | Source

Diane Lane and Richard Gere star as Adrienne and Paul, falling in love in Nights in Rodanthe movie

Adrienne greets Paul, shows hims his room and prepares dinner. She seems a bit nervous and out of her element and the audience is left to wonder whether it is because she has never been a hostess at a bed and breakfast before or because she is already smitten with Paul.

Yes, a romance develops between them of course.

A romance develops.

The house that was used as the inn in Nights of Rodanthe the movie. Nights in Rodanthe was filmed in Rodanthe, North Carolina. This house, associated with the romantic movie, has been a tourist attraction.
The house that was used as the inn in Nights of Rodanthe the movie. Nights in Rodanthe was filmed in Rodanthe, North Carolina. This house, associated with the romantic movie, has been a tourist attraction. | Source

The event that seemingly brings Paul and Adrienne together, throwing them into each others arms, is a terrible storm that threatens to damage the majestic house that is being used as the inn.

Paul and Adrienne scatter about the inn, boarding up windows and trying to shield the inn as efficiently as possible. Eventually they meet up in a room and just fall down in fright and exhaustion, seeking comfort with each other.

So, their love affair begins.

Rodanthe Pier

Rodanthe Pier location
Rodanthe Pier location | Source

Hard times

Paul and Adrienne have both been experiencing hard times and with each other, they are finally happy again.

For Paul, a surgeon, he has been burdened by the thought that he hadn't made enough time to be a good father to his son as well as the possibility that he may have been at fault in a surgery that resulted in the death of one of his patients. Paul is trying to reconcile with the family of the patient (her husband and son) who blame him for her death.

Movie concept poster

Source

Support

As they seek support from each other, Paul reminds Adrienne that she deserves to be truly loved and not taken for granted. She helps him to work through his circumstances as well.

Paul reminds Adrienne that she deserves to be truly loved and not taken for granted.

Deeply in love

Paul also has plans to reconcile with his own estranged son (Mark played by James Franco), who is also a doctor, practicing in South America. Paul decides to travel to the area with the promise to return to Adrienne. By the time they have to part, Adrienne and Paul are deeply in love. They embrace, he goes to his car to drive to the airport. He runs back to her and they embrace again.

If you have not already heard a lot about this movie, you will be very surprised by what happens next and how the story ultimately ends. I think you'll have a greater appreciation for the film if you have no idea what to expect. If you have already read a lot about it or spoken with friends who have seen it, that will spoil it.

I recommend you go ahead and rent this dvd from red box, netflix, blockbuster, hollywood video, etc, or buy from the dvd retailer of your choice.

They embrace. He starts to leave. He runs back to her and they embrace again.

Source

I rate it 3/5 stars.

Rated PG-13

Starring Diane Lane, Richard Gere, Viola Davis, James Franco and others

Nights in Rodanthe the movie

3 stars for Nights in Rodanthe

Interview w/ Richard Gere and Diane Lane

Nights in Rodanthe Trailer (2008)

© 2009 Nyesha Pagnou MPH

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Thanks sameerk!

    • sameerk profile image

      sameerk 

      8 years ago from India

      very nice hub

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi Cari Jean, I haven't read the book but I enjoyed the film. Hope you'll give it a try. I am also a Nicholas Sparks fan and my favorite story of his is definitely The Notebook. Thanks for commenting.

    • Cari Jean profile image

      Cari Jean 

      9 years ago from Bismarck, ND

      I read the book, which I was not impressed with even though I am a fan of Nicholas Sparks. Wondered what the movie was like - thanks for the info.

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      9 years ago from USA

      Hi Nancy, thank you! And yes, about the ending, I know what you mean.

      Sandyspider, thanks!

    • Sandyspider profile image

      Sandy Mertens 

      9 years ago from Wisconsin, USA

      Nice review!

    • profile image

      Nancy's Niche 

      9 years ago

      Your review was nice and the movie was great! My only problem---the ending. Guess that’s the helpless romantic in me...

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      9 years ago from USA

      Lgali, Smireles and R Burow, thank you all for posting comments. R Burow, yes, I hope you'll give it a try. It's a very touching film.

    • R Burow profile image

      R Burow 

      9 years ago from Florida, United States

      It doesn't sound completely like my regular choice in movies, but you make it sound tempting to try. I may.

    • Smireles profile image

      Sandra Mireles 

      9 years ago from Texas

      Have not seen the film but the review is nice.

    • Lgali profile image

      Lgali 

      9 years ago

      very nice review Thanks

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)