ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Obsessed film review

Updated on March 22, 2012

Beyonce stars in movie Obsessed

Obsessed is a film that stars Beyonce Knowles and Idris Elba as a young well to do couple who have just moved into a new house. The opening scene of the film shows the happy couple driving up to the new house in their Mercedes Benz SUV. Beyonce, who plays the character Sharon, skips over and removes the "for sale" sign from the front yard while grinning from ear to ear. An adorable little boy plays their 2-3 year old son. They take him out of the car seat and enter the house. This is just about the only time in the movie that the family has to themselves before they suffer the intrusion of a woman (Lisa played by Ali Larter) stalking Idris Elba's character, Derrick.

Derrick drives the Benz over to his office and immediately has a brush with a new temp in the elevator. They find that they are both going to the same floor and will be working together. The new temp is Lisa and she immediately has eyes for Derrick. Derrick does not exactly discourage it but thinks his flirtation is innocent. Who knew Lisa would get Obsessed?

The event that really takes things over the edge is when Lisa is found in the office break room by Derrick. He is just on his way to the refrigerator to grab his lunch but she is sitting at the table crying (or feigning crying) and he can not resist going over to comfort her. (This is the point where I am thinking, man, keep on walking out of the room. You know the movies where the victim is just doing something silly and you are wondering why he/she is doing it? There will be consequences later.)

Lisa asserts that she is grieving over man troubles and somehow Derrick feels that he has to take the responsibility to compliment her, boost her confidence and get her out of her funk. Little does he know that fawning over her with this attention causes Lisa to become .....Obsessed.

The film is a psychodrama/ psychological thriller and horror movie. Until the ending, this is not a bloody or gory horror movie. The setting is mainly a beautiful house, a beautiful office building, a beautiful car. The actors have a great wadrobe and everything always looks clean and crisp on the surface but there is a family in turmoil because of the deranged outsider, Lisa.

Lisa's antics makes this film reminiscent of The Hand that Rocks the Cradle at one point. Although Lisa is no nanny, she gains access to Sharon and Derrick's home and their child. The babysitter is oblivious to the fact that the seemingly nice lady is an intruder.

Ali Larter gives an outstanding performance as the antagonist. Perhaps she is just working with a particularly devious role that is written for her but some of her actions are just difficult to fathom. At some points you are just shaking your head and thinking, I can't believe she did that! You would have to see it to believe it. Idris and Beyonce also give strong performances. The movie is not always very predictable. The unpredictability is something that the audience can appreciate when watching. I recommend you pick up this rental today.

I rate it 3/5 stars.

Rated PG-13

Starring Idris Elba, Beyonce Knowles, Ali Larter, and others

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      7 years ago from USA

      Thanks Sandyspider!

    • Sandyspider profile image

      Sandy Mertens 

      8 years ago from Wisconsin, USA

      Nice review.

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi alekhouse, thanks for commenting. The movie should be comming out on Netflix pretty soon if it is not already. I rented it from the Red Box.

      Peggy, thanks for commenting!

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 

      8 years ago from Houston, Texas

      This sounds interesting. Will keep it in mind. Thanks!

    • alekhouse profile image

      Nancy Hinchliff 

      8 years ago from Essex Junction, Vermont

      Good review. I really would like to see this movie, but will wait until it comes out on Netflix.

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi R Burow, thanks for commenting!

    • R Burow profile image

      R Burow 

      8 years ago from Florida, United States

      My daughter liked this one too.

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Thanks Smireles!

    • Smireles profile image

      Sandra Mireles 

      8 years ago from Texas

      Very nice review. Thanks.

    • Journey * profile imageAUTHOR

      Nyesha Pagnou MPH 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hi Nolimits Nana and Nancy,thanks for leaving comments. Nolimits, you and I were both watching this movie last night!

    • profile image

      Nancy's Niche 

      8 years ago

      Nice review and a movie I will add to my “be sure and see” list. I like physiological thrillers.

    • profile image

      Nolimits Nana 

      8 years ago

      Good review. We watched this one last night - very reminiscent of "Play Misty for Me" - an early Clint Eastwood and Jessica Walter psycho-drama. People in the theatre audience cheered when that demented stalker met her doom!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)