ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Television & TV Shows»
  • TV Shows


Updated on July 31, 2014

Story Summary

Outlander is a new TV drama series which will be hitting our screens on August 9th 2014. The series is based on the best-selling 'Outlander' novels written by Diana Gabaldon.

The first season follows the story of Claire Randall who is a married nurse from 1945. She is recently back from the war and reunited with her husband and enjoying a second honeymoon in Inverness, Scotland. She walks through a standing stone and is suddenly thrown back in time to war torn Scotland and the year is 1743. She is an 'outlander' and her life is threatened. She meets James Fraser, a chivalrous and romantic young Scottish warrior, and becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire. Claire's heart is torn between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

Outlander spans the genres of romance, science fiction, history, and adventure into one epic tale. It references real historical events, in particular the lead-up to the Battle of Culloden.

Sam Heughan as Jamie Fraser


Outlander First Look Trailer

Loch Rannoch  Perthshire
Loch Rannoch Perthshire

Filming Location

The filming took place in several locations across Scotland at the end of 2013 and was completed in early 2014, after 38 weeks and at a cost of more than 50 million pounds. It seems the show could well be Scotland's answer to Game of Thrones as fans are already flocking to the locations. A month was spent filming at Doune Castle in Perthshire and since then, the castle have been welcoming lots of American fans of Outlander and tour companies such as Brit Movie Tours are running dedicated tours to all the locations.

The very early scenes were filmed in Falkland. The picturesque location was turned into 1947 Inverness and the Falkland Parish Church was renamed Dalneigh Parish Church. Pollok Park in south Glasgow, Loch Rannoch in Perthshire and Culross in Fife have were all used to film scenes.

Doune Castle

Castle Leoch
Castle Leoch
Culross in Fife
Culross in Fife

The Cast

Sam Heughan plays Jamie Fraser - A Scottish soldier and American landowner

Caitriona Balfe plays Claire Randall - She is a nurse then later a doctor, and a time-traveller who lives both in the 20th century (where she was married to Frank Randall) and the 18th century (where she is married to Jamie Frase).

Gary Lewis plays Colum MacKenzie - Jamie's maternal uncle

Tobias Menzies plays Frank/Jonathan Randall - Known as "Black Jack" who was a minor knight in England during the time of the Jacobite Rising of 1745

Graham McTavish plays Dougal MacKenzie - The War Chieftain of Clan MacKenzie.

Lotte Verbeek as Geillis Duncan - The wife of the procurator fiscal, Arthur Duncan.

Annette Badland as Mrs Fitzgibbons - The head housekeeper of Castle Leoch, Murtagh Fraser's aunt by marriage,

Stephen Walters plays Anghus Mhor - Colum MacKenzie's body servant and bodyguard.

Laura Donnelly plays Janet Fraser Murray (Jenny) - the second child to Brian and Ellen Fraser.

James Fleet plays Rev. Dr. Reginald Wakefield - Local vicar and good friend of Frank.

Duncan Lacroix plays Murtagh Fraser - Jamie's godfather and companion.

Roderick Gilkison plays Hamish MacKenzie - son of Colum MacKenzie.

Bill Paterson plays Ned Gowan - Lawyer from Edinburgh, legal advisor to Clan MacKenzie.

Simon Callow plays The Duke of Sandringham -

Grant O'Rourke plays Rupert MacKenzie - tacksman of clan MacKenzie, and a cousin of Colum and Dougal.


Insights from the Outlander cast and crew

Claire and Jamie

Diana Gabaldon
Diana Gabaldon | Source

Diana Gabaldon - Author of the Outlander Novels

Diana Gabaldon is an American author and best known for the Outlander series of novels. Diana was born on January 11th 1952 to Tony Gabaldon and Jacqueline Sykes and grew up in Flagstaff, Arizona.

She studied for a BS in zoology at Northern Arizona University then a Masters in Marine biology at the University of California and then a PhD in Behavioral ecology from Northern Arizona University gradutating in 1978. In the 1980s she went to work as a full time assistant professor in the Center for Environmental Studies at Arizona State University and taught university classes in anatomy and other subjects. During her time there she wrote software reviews and technical articles for computer publications, as well as popular-science articles and comic books for Disney.

It was in the late 80's that she decided to write a novel without any intention of showing it to anyone. She wanted to learn how to write a novel to find out if that was something she wanted to do. She took inspiration from an episode of Doctor Who. She decided to post an extract of her novel on the compuServe Literary Forum where author John E. Stith introduced her to literary agent Perry Knowlton. But it was only when her second book was finished she resigned from her job to become a full-time author. The Outlander series presently contains seven published novels, with the eighth installment scheduled to be released on the 10th June 2014. Outlander won the Romance Writers of America's RITA Award for Best Romance of 1991.

The Books

The Outlander series of novels are written uniquely in structure so they don't have to be read in order. But the order or writing

  • Outlander - published in 1991 (published in the UK under the title “cross stitch”)
  • Dragonfly In Amber - published in 1992
  • Voyager - published in 1994
  • Drums of Autumn - published in 1997
  • The Fiery Cross - published in 2001
  • A Breath of Snow and Ashes - published in 2005
  • An Echo In The Bone - published in 2009
  • Written In My Own Heart’s Blood - publication release date June 10, 2014

The series is published in 26 countries and 23 languages with more than twenty million copies in print worldwide.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.