ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Portrait of Jennie Film Review

Updated on October 4, 2017
Coffeequeeen profile image

Louise is a film enthusiast and enjoys films particularly from the 40's and 50's era & enjoys writing about films she has seen.

Source

Film Details

Producer: David O. Selznick, David Hempstead

Director: William Dieterle

Genre: Romance, Fantasy, Drama

Running time: 1 hr 26 mins

Budget: $4,041,000 (approx)

Distributed by: Selznick Releasing Organisation

Source
Actor
Character
Jennifer Jones
Jennie Appleton
Ethel Barrymore
Mrs Spinney
Joseph Cotten
Eben Adams
Cecil Kellaway
Matthews
Lillian Gish
Mother Mary of Mercy

About the film

Eben Adams is a painter that in recent times has been struggling with his work. On one occasion when he is in Central Park he meets the young Jennie Appleton. She has come to retrieve a scarf which she has left in a newspaper. What is strange from this first encounter is the way she is dressed. The young Jennie is dressed in such a style of clothing which is old fashioned for the time. The film is set in 1938, but the newspaper the scarf is in is dated from the 1910's. What is also strange in this first instance is when she has finished talking to him, she dashes off. But when he turns to see where she has gone, she has disappeared.

This is a hauntingly beautifully made film where we find that Jennie isn't all she seems to be. She seems to grow up very quickly, much quicker than we normally do. But this doesn't stop Eben from having a fondness for her. He notices her beauty, and from that first encounter with her in Central Park, he sketches her. As she grows into a woman she does, indeed, become more beautiful and radiant. He asks if he can paint her, to which she accepts. As we see throughout this movie, the pair fall in love and seem to fill a void in both of their empty lives. But, things aren't all what they seem with Jennie, as we shall see towards the end of the film. Jennie agrees to sit for a portrait for Eben. This portrait, ultimately, is Ebens saving grace, but it does come at a cost. Throughout the film we see a lot of how Jennie enters Eben life and disappears as quickly as she appears.

When Jennie spots one of Ebens paintings, she tells him that it makes her sad. The painting is of a lighthouse on Cape Cod. She doesn't tell him why it makes her sad though. But he quickly moves the painting from her view without question. As Eben grows ever more attracted to Jennie, he decided to dig a little deeper into the life of Jennie, which takes him to a convent where Jennie was educated. He meets Mother Mary of Mercy, where he finds out some unexpected news about her.

Source

In Summary

I found this film to be a truly magnificent masterpiece. It has a slight gothic, haunting feel to it. But on the other side, it is ultimately a love story which includes hope, love and sadness. I love how they portrayed Jennie at the beginning of the film as a young girl, and we swiftly see her growing up in the film. Jennie isn't all what she seems, but one thing I do know, is that she ends up helping Eben in the end and making his life effectively better. The story was excellently well written and thought of. The film is based on the book by Robert Nathan that was published in 1940. The acting I found to be just perfect, especially from the 2 main people in the show, Joseph Cotten and Jennifer Jones. Would I recommend this film? Most definitely! This is a film I'm not going to forget in a hurry. Yes, it did make me cry, but also left me feeling I could really connect with the character of Eben Adams.

Award
Won
Nominated
Academy Awards
Best Effects, Special Effects
Best Cinematography, Black-and-White
Venice Film Festival
Best Actor, Joseph Cotten
Best Actor, William Dieterle
 
 
 

Portrait of Jennie Trailer

© 2017 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      10 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou Robin for the lovely comment. Yes, I love these old films. They don't make films like that these days, do they?

    • RobinReenters profile image

      Robin Carretti 

      10 months ago from Hightstown

      I immensely enjoyed this writing I love the classic the movies they were so delightful than the time of today your pictures took me into another time truly awesome

    • annart profile image

      Ann Carr 

      11 months ago from SW England

      Sounds like a great story and film; I'll look out for it.

      Ann

    • Larry Rankin profile image

      Larry Rankin 

      12 months ago from Oklahoma

      Looks interesting.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      12 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks for the review. You make me want to meet Jennie and follow her journey.

    • littlebluefeather profile image

      JL Reyes 

      12 months ago from Saturns Rings

      Hey! Haha love your review!! there's no spoilers haha I wonder what he finds out about her past....

    • shprd74 profile image

      Hari Prasad S 

      12 months ago from Bangalore

      Fantastic review. Can't wait to watch. :-) Hope I can get it on play store.

      - hari

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      12 months ago from USA

      I’ve never heard of this one. I don’t know how you find all these old movies to review. I enjoyed reading about Jennie and Eben.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)