ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Preview: Paranormal Activity 4

Updated on August 2, 2012

Another day and another sequel to the incredibly terrifying and the incredibly profitable Paranormal Activity series. Now, in my opinion the first two films were both very good and the third stumbled as it lacked some of the more frightening scenes that the first and the second had. Paranormal Activity is a series that will always be one of the top horror films in my opinion solely based off of the way I felt when I left the theater upon seeing a midnight viewing of the first film. Mind you, I am not one that is easily scared, yet when I walked out after seeing the first, I was visibly shaking. I had never seen anything like it, a film building tension and anticipation for an hour and a half making your fears of what could be the driving force of the experience. In terms of story-telling, surprisingly it doesn't falter as it does just enough to keep you engaged. After the third, it can be hard to judge whether or not a fourth film is really necessary but it can be done. In this article I will go over some possible scenarios as to where the fourth could go.

The Signature Scene of the Series (DON'T WATCH IF YOUR EASILY SCARED)

Katie and Kristi as children again? Possibly
Katie and Kristi as children again? Possibly

Prequel: Katie and Kristi Visit the 90's

I have read a rumor of the fourth one going in the direction of Katie and Kristi and their mother moving in with their father in the 1990's. Katie and Kristi obviously at this point would have no recollection as to what happened in the third film, while Julie will most likely remember or simply be an emotional wreck. Which makes sense when you take a look at the second film and how Katie tells Kristi what she remembers from when they were kids. Katie told her that she remembers how scared they always were and how Julie and Kristi at times would go extended periods of time without even saying a word. The film most likely will introduce more of the cult that their grandmother was in, as they will be around much more frequently. For all we know Katie and Kristi's father could be apart of the cult.

What happened after Katie took Hunter?
What happened after Katie took Hunter?

Sequel: The Hunt for Hunter

I like many others I think, are a little interested as to what happened after the second film. However, if the fourth or fifth film go in that direction it would then become something completely different than what has made the first few films so successful. So frequently the real terror behind this movies is the build up we create with our own imagination as we hear creepy noises and see people getting dragged by nothing. If you do go the direction of Ali and possibly the rumored Micah's brother chasing down Katie that goes out of that realm, which could also create a scarier more in your face type of experience that would be more likely to turn people off from the series if done poorly.



ITS A SEQUEL!

CONFIRMED. It is a sequel in fact considering the new trailer that was released yesterday on 8/1/12. It shows a new family with a blonde teenager being the main character as she tells her mom that they have new neighbors across the street that are a bit odd. The next scene shows her talking to her boyfriend through her webcam about the creeping people that moved in. The lights begin to flicker and she explains how it must be the boy. Oddly enough, we see a little boy with two eerie shadows standing in her driveway. He eventually turns to face her and when he does all of the lights go off outside and electronic interference occurs after that forcing her boyfriend to hardly understand her. The houses alarms then can be heard going off saying "front door open", "back door open", "side door open." The lights in her room also go off and you see a familiar figure standing behind her at the doorway...leading everyone to believe it is in fact Katie. My only gripe with the trailer and the premise would be why is Katie and Hunter haunting this innocent family that has nothing to do with the deal the initial family made? I understand demons are all about chaos and havoc and so forth, but still for a film it has to have some sort of reasoning. If they get away from the formula that has made these films so popular as well then they run the risk of losing some fans. Although, I personally think it is the most logical way to go. The third to me was a disappointment as it never had any signature moments that really left you shaking with fear. By going with a sequel, with two people we have grown attached to possessed, it has plenty of potential for many more truly terrifying scenes.

I don't think they will jump the shark just yet...I hope not
I don't think they will jump the shark just yet...I hope not

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      GothicSerpent 

      6 years ago

      I too have to wonder what the direction will be for PA4. But, somehow, I don't think it will be another trip back in time largely because- as one poster stated- it would likely occur in the 1970s, which would be before Katie and Kristi. And, I really don't feel that it will go into the 1990s either. Just seems a bit too far fetched to go that route as it would just drag the story arc along. Too long in fact. So, I would definitely be open to a hunt for Hunter story because I think that is what most PA fans want to know- what happened to Katie and Hunter after part 2? As for my opinion of PA3, I thought the whole idea of grandma being part of a witch coven was too cliche'. Personally, I would have opted for a different approach than witches conjuring up demons in order to haunt the girls until the first born male child comes. But, if they do do a hunt for Hunter concept, then more than likely, part 3 will actually make a little more sense and actually bring about closure to the over all series.

    • profile image

      Lou 

      6 years ago

      None of you lot can spell on here. Get your asses back to school

    • profile image

      Damon 

      6 years ago

      i like the idea of the hunt for hunter (im only 12) because they could search in the woods and get chased by demons and stuff, i really want a number 4 and i hope its a hunt for hunter as that would be the coolest one yet!!! :D keep up the good work

    • profile image

      zeus1111111111111111 

      6 years ago

      1 was ok

      2 was horriable

      3 was awesome

    • profile image

      Christian 

      6 years ago

      The third one was gay it was not scary

    • profile image

      Yusuf 

      6 years ago

      Dudes, whichever direction PA4 may take still gives me the yeebi-jeebies.... Cos we get to meet Toby again... :-o

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      maybe its my lack of sleep lately...but i dont follow what you are saying at all

    • profile image

      isaiah 

      6 years ago

      Well i know for a fact the main character in part 4 is katie. Now for their mother i am assuming that when they got brain washed that their grandmother gave them a adopted mother because in part 3 it specifically says that julie and dennis die. Also their mother is still alive, because in part 1 when the priest came to talk to katie and her boyfriend he says it thrives on negative energy, and then katie boyfriend says then we probably should not see your mother anymore. Which basically proves she is stil alive and probably in a mental instatution

    • profile image

      Kaitlyn 

      6 years ago

      I, personally, liked the third one and thought it was just as good as the others. But, I hope in the fourth they keep going the way they have been, back in time, and go to maybe the grandmother's or mother's childhood. Or, go further into Hunter. Either way works for me.

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      They will milk it. They could really change it all by going past PA2, which would take away the appeal of the series as you would no longer have the buildup of tension.

    • profile image

      Jason 

      6 years ago

      Clearly the 4th will go into the girls teenage years in the 90's. If you go back before number 3, you have to film in the 70's and that film quality is just garbage. If you go forward after Katie steals the baby then it won't make any sense, the whole story is based on taking the first born son and that happened in number 2, The End....unless demons carry cameras. They have the 90's to go to, and that's pretty much it.

    • profile image

      Jahlyn evernden 

      6 years ago

      I was so scared all the way throuh PA3 it fightened me so bad I had to go under the blanket.

    • profile image

      hunts 

      6 years ago

      paranormal activity 3 was alright the blanket scene was the best bit with babysitter

    • profile image

      annpetro 

      6 years ago

      I absolutly HATED para. normal activity 3

    • profile image

      hunter 

      6 years ago

      the second one was the scariest

    • profile image

      jullian 

      6 years ago

      the first one was bad the second one was bettar and the third one was lame so i hope the fourth is bettar!

    • profile image

      Desiree 

      6 years ago

      I think that the paranormal movies are a little cool but at the same time a little confusing. I think that the paranormal movies should be a little bit more scary. And why does it go back in time like can't we have one about

      B-Mary or something scary.

    • profile image

      Taylor 

      6 years ago

      Okay I love paranormal activity even though I'm ll years old anyway r any of them true I always thought the 1 one was true but I do t know about the other ones. Also why does it go back in time I just don't get it

    • profile image

      Haven 

      6 years ago

      I dont think all the movies were that bad

      I do think that they should pick up on the hunt for hunter

      But if they do they have to do a really good job on it

      The guy in the theory was right if they dont do a better job people will get drawn away from this great series of movies.

    • profile image

      Newave 

      6 years ago

      Hi I hated the third one I like the idea of the hunt for hunter the third one was not that scary it wasnt even scary

    • profile image

      lol 

      6 years ago

      BROKE HIS BACK.. WOW

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      I really hope it picks back up. I was really disappointed with the 3rd.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      Pretty interesting theories, as it could go in a variety of different directions from here. I'm a bit interested to see how they're pull off the next movie though..

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)