ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Music

Review: "Dark Love Poems" the best album by German heavy rock band Bladflowerz

Updated on February 4, 2018
CELEBSFAN78 profile image

Ara is currently an Accounting student at Glendale Community College in Glendale. CA. His main goal in life is the enjoyment of it.

Track listing for the album Dark Love Poems

1. Sajidas' Song

2. Damaged Promises

3. The Last Dance

4. Healing Hearts

5. Illusionary Fields

6. Anthem for a Stranger

7. Violent Voices

8. The Fool and the King

9. Dark Angel

10. Queen of the Freakshow

11. Cruel Game

12. Dead Love (A Necrology)

The Album Cover for Dark Love Poems


Why is the album Dark Love Poems so outstanding?

Bladflowerz released an outstanding 3rd album in 2006 called Dark Love Poems. This was their finest moment musically before they disbanded in 2006 and returned in 2013. From the first song called Sajidas’ Song, you get the feeling that this is going to be a very special release in the history of Gothic rock. The album is special because it is an album that is exclusively about love and relationships all the way throughout.

Dark Love Poems: songs 1-7

The song is about someone asking the question of what love really is. Kirsten has some of her best vocals here when she says “tell me what is love.” The song is about a relationship that no longer has the same spark as one of the partners realizes that their love died the night before. The person that lost their love starts to question what the meaning of love is when there is intense crying and dreams are dying.The song called Damaged Promises continues on the theme of love. Sometimes we realize that love is a battle that we have to fight just to keep and hold onto. It can be as simple as one touch or one kiss gone wrong that could end it or not. Love is not the same as hate as the song suggests. The song Last Dance is about someone ending a relationship because she was too young to love the person that she loved. The song’s message is that we should never cry because of lost love because there will be opportunities for us to love someone else in the future when we are more mature to understand what it really takes to make love work. The song Illusionary Fields is about the fact that when we don’t know what love is, we are left looking for answers and we don’t seem to get anywhere. The excellent song Anthem for a Stranger is about someone that is trying to get another person’s attention because she loves him. This is because he is unable to hear her and what she is saying even though she tried to be beautiful and wonderful.

The song called Sajidas' Song

The Two Strongest Songs in the Album Are The Fool and the King and Dark Angel

However, the strongest song in the album is this writer’s favorite song The Fool and the King. The song is about someone who knows that they are a fool and they are trying to attract someone that they think is a king. The love turns out to be nothing more than a wasted attempt as the man turns out to be someone that takes advantage of her. Next comes the excellent love ballad called Dark Angel. Sometimes the one that we love is right in front of us and they make us feel complete.

Final thoughts about why Dark Love Poems is the best album from this band

By this point in the album we have already heard nine very good songs in a row, thus putting an end to any debate about what the best Bladflowerz album is. There is no doubt that in terms of songwriting quality, Dark Love Poems is the band’s finest moment and when they disbanded for seven years, they could have done so knowing that they went out on top. I really hope that this band can release a new album in the future because they are really one of the more talented lesser known Gothic rock bands in the world.

Final grade: 90 out of 100 points (A)

The song called The Fool and the King

© 2017 Ara Vahanian


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.