ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review: Drive

Updated on September 19, 2011

Drive is a much different film then many will expect, and that's a very good thing. By no means is it your typical Hollywood film that features many car chases instead it's action pops up due to the story driving it's main character to resort to violence. Drive has a familiar plot but due to the excellent directing of Nicolas Winding Refn it stands out above the rest. Refn did a fantastic job building tension and giving the viewer just enough action. At times due to the score by composer Cliff Martinez, the film did feel as if it was set in the 80's. The film will lose many people in the first twenty minutes as it has a very slow build due to the main character, who is named Driver, and his cold silent self says maybe five words throughout the beginning of the film. Driver is built up as a great driver if not the best by his boss, Shannon, who acts as a father to him. Shannon gets Driver jobs as a stunt driver for Hollywood films and during the nights he is a wheel man for various crimes. The opening sequence is incredibly intense as it shows Driver's ability to blend in, which causes more tension, rather then use his car's high horsepower.

Ryan Gosling as Driver and Carey Mulligan as Irene
Ryan Gosling as Driver and Carey Mulligan as Irene

The film then hits a bit of lull, but it is only to build the characters, something that has been forgotten in films of this kind as of late (Transporter, Fast and the Furious and other films of that nature). Driver is a loner who would rather be out driving his cars listening to synth-pop instead of sitting at his seemingly empty apartment until one day he helps his attractive neighbor Irene with her car. The two instantly have a connection despite the fact they hardly speak to each other, which goes to show how talented the two actors are. Driver and Irene seem to say so much to each other with a simple glance instead of bloated dialogue. Things hit a snag between the two when Irene's husband and her son Benicio's father, Standard (Oscar Isaac), is released from jail and comes home. Standard's arrival forces a bit of a strain between Driver and Irene, and during his homecoming party Irene can't seem to stay at the party as she'd rather be with Driver. Driver stays away for quite sometime up until he sees that because of Standard's presence, Irene and Benicio is now in danger. Standard owes money to the mob for protection he recieved while he was in jail, and is told to rob a pawn shop and if he doesn't they will kill Irene and Benicio. Driver decides to help Standard pull of the job and be his getaway driver with some help from Blanche (Christina Hendricks) who seems to be just a bit of eye candy for the little bit of the film she is in.

The heist goes wrong, and gets Driver involved with some bad people as the mob then targets him. The mob finds Driver hiding in a hotel room immediately after the heist and the scene is a bit reminiscent of Scarface in some regards but is also very well done. After Driver dispatches of the two mobsters that come barging in his room with shotguns, Refn makes good use of lighting. Driver's face is covered in blood and light shines brightly on his face up until he slowly retreats into the dark where he stares into the camera. It is almost a representation of his character as up until this point we have not seen any indication of him having a bit of a dark side and how the old reserved Driver is gone. After this scene the film really hits it's mark and never seems to slow down. Driver begins to do whatever is necessary from here on out to protect himself, Irene and Benicio from the mob and begins to really go off the deep end.

Closing Comments

The film in my opinion is a must-see movie. It isn't your typical movie and that is because of Refn's directing, it has the tone of a foreign film, but that may just be what sets it above other films of it's kind. It certain benefits from a great performance by Ryan Gosling. Gosling has often been cast as a heartthrob of sorts in films like The Notebook, Blue Valentine and seeing how this is his first action film of sorts, he owns in it and brings a presence that is felt throughout the entire film. He does a great job with his character, despite having limited lines, he makes his character say a lot with a simple glance. He also handles the emotional scenes very feel, and one of the best scenes in the film comes midway through as he embraces the Irene character and kisses her as it may just be the last time they see each other.

Drive gets 4 1/2 stars out of 5
Drive gets 4 1/2 stars out of 5

Carey Mulligan also does a very good job in the limited time she has with her role as Irene. It helps that she has a great chemistry with Ryan Gosling throughout the film, as that is exponentially crucial seeing how the two hardly talk to each other in their scenes. She is instantly likable as the mother who does whatever it takes to keep things afloat for herself and her son Benicio.

Bryan Cranston provides a good quasi-father role as Shannon and in little screen time manages to make his character pretty well understood. Albert Brooks manages to pull off the role of Bernie, the mob boss very well to the surprise of many. It is a very different role for him, but he manages to make his character fairly intimidating despite the fact his character doesn't do anything menacing up until the latter parts of the film. Ron Perlman plays Nino, Bernie's partner in crime, and does just what we expect from him.

As I've said before, this film is a must-see due to the excellent direction by Nicolas Winding Refn and terrific performance given by Ryan Gosling. It will certainly disappoint a few who would much rather see explosions, sex, and bloated dialogue but this film has something those lack, substance. Some may say the film is weird, I say the film is a budding cult classic.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      SPARTA KICK! I can't stress how much I loved this movie. It actually really frustrates me when i hear someone talk bad about it to.

    • Nightmarephantom profile image

      Nightmarephantom 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      I was on the fence about seeing this film, but not only did you push me over the fence, you practically knocked it down!

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      7 years ago from Columbia, MD

      yeah Green Lantern was hyped up to be better than TDK. howd that work out? time to call my lawyer

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      7 years ago

      lol. Well if you ask me, I think she's nuts, as she should've read the plot synopsis first before seeing the film. I don't see what she was complaining about. Although I did liked "Fast Five" too, I thought "Drive" was a much better film as you pointed out. All I can say is that I agree with the article, if this woman wins her case (I doubt it but lets say for the sake of argument), then I think we should be allowed to sue Warner Bros. because "Green Lantern" wasn't "The Dark Knight." lol. j/k

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      7 years ago from Columbia, MD

      yeah i heard about it before. and that's my problem with America lol.

      "i was expecting something like Fast Five and instead i get an artsy fartsy movie with substance."

      thats me paraphrasing but still lol

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      7 years ago

      Hey nick, you should read this article that I found online. It's hilarious, as someone actually tried to sue the film makers of this film for NOT being "Fast Five." lol. it's funny. here's the link if you want to check it out:

      http://www.starpulse.com/news/NextMovie/2011/10/10...

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      7 years ago

      Aw come on, "fast and furious" wasn't that bad, as we did get to see Dwayne Johnson fight Vin Diesel in the movie. Plus, it had fast cars and hot girls in it. lol j/k

    • bethperry profile image

      Beth Perry 

      7 years ago from Tennesee

      A very interesting review. Now I just have to see it.

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      7 years ago from Columbia, MD

      i highly recommend it to everyone. the people that say they hate it will be the one's that like films like Fast and the Furious.

    • Cogerson profile image

      UltimateMovieRankings 

      7 years ago from Virginia

      Great review...this could be the guy's surprise hit of they year....girls have had two so far this year....Bridesmaids and The Help....now we have Drive...voted up and awesome.

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      7 years ago from Columbia, MD

      I honestly loved it. One of my favorite movies on the year. it was a great action thriller, i saw it with some friends and I seemed to be the only one that liked it. I know that more people with hate it rather than love it, which is incredibly sad.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      7 years ago

      Wow, from reading your review, this sounds exactly like my kind of movie. I'll definitely be sure to check it out sometime. Thanks for the heads up. :)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)