ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Music

Review: "Follow The Reaper" By Melodic Death Metal Band Children of Bodom

Updated on February 4, 2018

Follow the Reaper front album cover

The Grim Reaper is seen here with his scythe in his hand in a graveyard. He has been in many of the band's covers.
The Grim Reaper is seen here with his scythe in his hand in a graveyard. He has been in many of the band's covers. | Source

Track listing for Follow the Reaper

  1. Follow the Reaper
  2. Bodom After Midnight
  3. Children of Decadence
  4. Everytime I Die
  5. Mask of Sanity
  6. Taste of My Scythe
  7. Hate Me!
  8. Northern Comfort
  9. Kissing the Shadows

Follow the Reaper Gets Off to a Good Start With Songs Like Follow the Reaper and Bodom After Midnight

Finnish melodic death metal band Children of Bodom came into the 2000’s on a very high note. Their 1999 album Hatebreeder was an excellent display of neoclassical influenced melodic death metal. In 2000, they released Follow the Reaper and it is one of their catchiest albums ever. However, this writer sees some power metal style riffing in the song Children of Decadence. The song is about children in a state of rebellion against social norms. They are under the moonlight night, running away and it seems like there is no hope for them. In the 1950’s and 1960’s during the height of the social protest movement in the United States, children rebelled against what they thought were unfair rules set by their parents.

How is the rest of the album?

Next comes the classic slow paced song called Everytime I Die. The previous album had a classic song called Bed of Razors that has the keyboard playing that makes it sound atmospheric. Children of Bodom is not just a band that focuses on speed. They have creativity, melody, and technicality. One thing I find very interesting is that the band has this sort of obsession with the Grim Reaper. The Grim Reaper is the 5th boss in the original Castlevania video game and he is sometimes known by his other name of Death. The next song called Northern Comfort makes reference to the Reaper. The Reaper does not save people but he rather acts as a foe trapping unsuspecting travelers.The amount of melody in this song is really amazing and really shows the super talent of guitarist Alexi Laiho. The song also has an excellent melodic interlude as well making it a classic! The original version of the album ends with the catchy song Kissing the Shadows. Follow the Reaper would be the last album to feature the melodic neoclassical playing of Children of Bodom before the band would start using more thrash metal and speed elements in albums such as Hate Crew Deathroll. Overall, Follow the Reaper is a catchy album but it is not as good as the band’s first two releases. Taste of My Scythe starts off with some shouting before transitioning into the heavy melodic music we are used to seeing from this band. The Grim Reaper is one of the hardest video game bosses to defeat because he moves so fast and throws so many of his scythes across the screen. I think you will find the game of Castlevania quite enjoyable to play despite the game's difficulty. Anyway, we are digressing just a bit. For those fans of melodic death metal that enjoy albums full of creativity, Follow the Reaper would be a good album to listen to.

The song Follow the Reaper

The song Taste of My Scythe

The song Northern Comfort


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.