ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review: Machine Gun Preacher

Updated on February 29, 2012

Machine Gun Preacher is a true story based on the life of Sam Childers. At first Childers was involved in a biker gang as he was also a drug dealer. Sometime in 1992, he explains that he had some sort of revelation that led to him finding God and changing his life around. A few years later he took it upon himself to do some real good by going to Sudan and help out where he could. In this trip he found more evil than he expected as over 30,000 children had been abducted by Joseph Kony and the Lord's Resistance Army (LRA). The children that are often taken are then turned into soldiers or sex slaves until they are rescued, killed or escape. Due to all of this chaos, thousands of children have become orphans. Due to all of this, Sam Childers and his wife Lynn had created the Angel of East Africa , the Children's Village in Southern Sedan where they house and educate any children that they find. This film details Sam's salvation and his experiences in Southern Sudan.

The film begins as we see Sam Childers (Gerard Butler) released from prison as he is now at this point an alcoholic drug abuser biker. He finds that his wife Lynn (Michelle Monaghan) has changed as she has now found Jesus and become a devout Christian effectively quitting her stripper job. This angers Sam despite how much better of a job she is working now, setting him off to go back to see his old friends at a bar. It is there that he finds Donnie (Michael Shannon) who like him is a drunk and drug abuser. Sam goes into the bathroom with a friend of Donnie's who supplies him with drugs that he then gets high with. Following this Sam and Donnie go on a joy ride and pick up a hitchhiker that puts a knife to Donnie's throat. Sam saves his friend but stabs the hitchhiker repeatedly, and when he gets home to wash the blood out of his clothes he has a realization of how far off the rails he has gone. The next day Lynn takes Sam to their local church where he is then reborn.

Sam then changes his life and distances himself from his old friends as he becomes a construction worker which leads to making his own company. He then hears about the chaos in Africa and decides he could do some real good over there. He takes it upon himself to head into the war zone when he does reach Africa, he is then troubled when he sees firsthand the kind of chaos that happens there. The more troubling sight is the fact that nothing is being done to help the children that are suffering. He takes it upon himself to do something and creates a orphanage for the children as he explains that it came to him through a vision from God. He fights off the LRA and protects the children with freedom fighters to the point that the children and the LRA begin to call him "the white preacher or Machine Gun Preacher." He spends an increasingly large amount of time in Sudan helping these children that he has no relation to or bind to, that then begins to separate him from his family. When he begins to realize how much of an uphill battle it is against the LRA, and how many children are being lost he then becomes lost himself.

2 .5 stars out of 5
2 .5 stars out of 5

The film carries a heavy message about the tragedies of Southern Sudan under the tyranny of Joseph Kony and the LRA but suffers from poor characterization and pacing. The script and direction is a bit off as it turns into more of an action orientated film when it really should be a heart wrenching drama. Most would expect that it would follow Sam Childers spiritual journey, and it does to some extent early on which is when the film really shines, but then gets lost when he travels to Southern Sudan and becomes this "Machine Gun Preacher." Gerard Butler stars as Sam Childers, and does an admirable job as he does just enough to come off as a good guy but with a little bit of an edge. Michelle Monaghan does a terrific job as Lynn, despite not being in the film for too long.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      I added to the most recent Avengers article that I did. I saw the trailer like immediately once it came out because it was a slow day at work. I added like 300-400 words to the Trailer Analysis one. Even said something about the Leviathan creature you hinted at (Fin Fang Foom possibility) yeah... I dont think that's him lol.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      well the last avengers trailer came out recently, as you can always write a hub on that one. here's a link to it if you want to see it

      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NPoHPNeU9fc

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      Yes, but this is slightly better than that. I'm curious to read the book as I am sure it's better. I am honestly running out of ideas as to what to review next lol. I really tried to reach 100 Hubs before the end of the month. only 4 short. So sad. lol

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      oh okay. so you're basically saying this turned out to be almost like another "x-men origins: wolverine" right? where it starts off strong, but it sucks around the ending to become an action packed cluttered mess? I gotcha. lol.

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      @Blogurl, I agree completely. I hope that the message gets through clearly enough that something needs to be done to help out in Sudan.

      @Archgirl, No problem, thanks for the view.

      @ Steve, no problem. I enjoyed the first half but the second half was a cluttered mess that went from a clear drama film to a heavy action based film.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      pretty interesting review. i thought about seeing this one myself, but figured it probably wouldn't be worth it. and from reading your review, i can tell i made the right choice. thanks. lol.

    • archgirl1985 profile image

      archgirl1985 

      6 years ago from Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK

      I was hesitant to check this movie out, but I will now. Thanks for the information.

    • Blogurl profile image

      Blogurl 

      6 years ago from Connecticut

      Good Hub. From what you have written, it seems that this is a good plot but it was poorly executed. Hopefully it will stir some people enough to join in and do some good in this world.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)