ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review: Paranormal Activity 3

Updated on October 22, 2011
Not foreboding or anything...right?
Not foreboding or anything...right?

It may just be me being in the minority but I may just have been desensitized to the Paranormal Activity formula of conjuring up scares. By all means, the film is still solid and new directors Ariel Schulman and Henry Joost inject some life into the film by adding a nice new tactic of increasing the tension. The scares are much of the same from the previous two installments, but slightly more aggressive. The scares however do not have any signature moment like the previous two installments. I still will never forget how when I first saw the original film I was shaking while walking to my car to leave the theater due to the dragging scene and the intense ending. I never got that feeling during this film or the second film but this film did manage to make me tense up.

The film begins slightly before Paranormal Activity 2 as we see Daniel Ray, Kristi's husband, painting their new house baby blue for the baby boy on the way. It then cuts forward to the point in the second where Kristi and Daniel suspect looters ran through their house. It adds a scene where Daniel and Kristi go to the basement to check the tapes that Katie recently brought over, but sadly the tapes are missing. The film cuts to static and picks up in September 1988 and follows Katie and Kristi as children living with their mother Julie and her boyfriend Dennis, the wedding videographer. Everything seems good but Dennis notices Kristi talking to an imaginary friend named Toby. A child having an imaginary friend is something very innocent, but this is Paranormal Activity so we not it isn't.


The normal Paranormal Activity formula is then in full effect as it has a slow build but kicks up the tension quickly. The main character Dennis begins to really think something is amiss during a earthquake that he caught on tape. When he and his slacker videographer friend view the tapes they notice something odd, and decide to film the house to find out what the source of the noises are inside the house. The tactic that the new directors come up with is genius for this, he places a camera on a fan as it goes back and forth. It does a great job of increasing the tension, and most of the scenes with it deliver some impressive scares even though you can see them coming. Even more impressive was how little of the film is actually in the trailer. They did this in both previous films but it is still appreciated by at least me as I believe to much is shown in trailers nowadays.

The film is solid, and better than the second but the ending made me leave with more questions than answers. It seems that it was done on purpose to set up an inevitable sequel as this franchise is a gold mine at this point. The advertisement of the final fifteen minutes being quite possibly one of the most disturbing things you could see, is a bit dramatic. The ending was done very well as the directors did the most that they could with what they had, but to me it was a bit predictable.

3.5 stars out of 5
3.5 stars out of 5

Closing Comments

Paranormal Activity 3 is the scariest film of the year, but not of the series. In that sense, it is somewhat of a let down to me. The story suffers slightly towards the end but the film benefits from excellent directing and solid performances from the two child actresses. The actress that plays Katie as a child does a fantastic job and is very believable in her bickering with her younger sister Kristi. Christopher Nicholas Smith and Lauren Bittner do a decent job as the parents and its refreshing how the male in the story isn't the one that is completely blind to the paranormal activity taking place.

I'd love to rank the film higher, but the ending truly did disappoint me. The writing could have been a little tighter as well seeing how there are a few holes in the plot that doesn't fit in line with the previous installments. The dialogue at times is also a bit bland, but frankly no one is watching these films for dialogue. The scares are at their best midway through the movie and surely will shock people. This film is deserving of a watch especially if you enjoyed the first two films, and seeing how Halloween is around the corner, you are sure to jump at least a few times during this flick.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Psychics 

      6 years ago

      Visit genuine readers and find out more about the metaphysical aspect of life. Psychic powers do exist!

      http://www.genuinereaders.com

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      just so everyone knows. it has been confirmed there will be a PA4 coming out this time next year. The writers are already getting to work on it. I'm a sucker for the series so i know ill go see it. I will also more than likely in a week or so do a preview of what direction they could take with the fourth film. I have a couple of theories in mind already

    • AlabamaGirl86 profile image

      AlabamaGirl86 

      6 years ago

      It sounds like it good be a good movie to check out next Halloween weekend. Nice review voted up.

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      all the advertisements on the final 15 minutes saying how it'll change your life dissapointed me. I wanted the final 15 minutes to scar me for life lol, but it didn't. Like i said though, i think I wasn't that scared throughout the movie because I've grown used to the formula that they have in place. Most of the scares i saw coming, that being said it is still a solid horror film that will make a good deal of money. thanks for the comments Veronica,Stevennix, and Cogerson

    • VeronicaFarkas profile image

      Veronica Roberts 

      6 years ago from Ohio, USA

      Thanks for the review! I had considered seeing it opening night, at midnight, but decided that the previews didn't entice me enough to do so. =] I do, though, plan to see it this coming week. I'm glad to know that P3 isn't as slow in getting to the "good stuff" as the previous two installments. I hope the ending isn't as bad as you & Cogerson make it out to be!! I'll be upset! haha -Voted up!

    • Cogerson profile image

      UltimateMovieRankings 

      6 years ago from Virginia

      Nice review and thanks for doing it so quick...I image you were up pretty late typing away. I have heard about the last 15 minutes....so I am not surprised that it could not live up to that hype. I am once again not surprised that there are more questions than answers...as I sure somebody in Hollywood is writing P4 and P5. Voted up and useful...and the hub is already linked to my 2011 movie hub.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      You know, you're the second film critic that said that this movie wasn't as scary as the previous installments, but said it was still worth checking out. That's kind of weird. Not in a bad way, but just in a coincidental way. lol. To be honest, i tried to go out to see this movie today, but I couldn't because I was late running errands, but there's always tomorrow. Of course, now I'm a bit curious to see if other critics have said something similar to what you and Jeremy Jahns said about this movie. Hmm..I'll have to look that up.

      Anyway, thanks for another great review, and keep up the good work.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)