ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review: Sherlock Holmes A Game of Shadows

Updated on December 18, 2011

Sherlock Holmes was a successful movie that combined witty dialogue with some superb fighting sequences. It also benefited from having the great actor that is Robert Downey Jr, and his on-screen chemistry with co-stars Jude Law and Rachel McAdams was palpable. Mark Strong provided the movie an adequate foe for Holmes and Watson to face off with. While Strong's character was a bit weak and undeveloped, his actual ability as an actor made the character noteworthy. A Game of Shadows continues the great on-screen chemistry between Downey and Law and the other things that the original did well with. Guy Ritchie still does a good job of directing the action, but the film's pacing is a bit slower. It would have benefited from being 20-30 minutes shorter. However, the villain is still under developed and this time the actor playing the part is much weaker. Jared Harris plays Professor James Moriarty and does not impress. Frequently due to his lack of ability to pull off a good villain, I found myself checking the time to often.

The plot follows Holmes as he and Watson are hot on the trails of the most cunning adversary, Moriarty. Holmes is trying to link murders to him and is in pursuit of stopping an assassination he had planned on another person. Holmes runs into his old flame Irene from the first film and it is found out that she is working with Moriarty. The mark is still assassinated, and Moriarty deeps Irene irrelevant and poisons her. I figured due to Holmes feelings for Irene that he would be more distraught over the loss and that it would effect his decision making in his attempts to take down Moriarty. Instead, all of this emotional drama is thrown to the wayside for bigger action sequences. Holmes focuses all of his attention on bringing down Moriarty but you never get a sense of loss from him minus one scene but after that one scene, it is never brought back up again.

Holmes and Watson come across another one of Moriarty's targets at Watson's stag party, seeing how he is getting married to his girlfriend from the first movie. The target is a gypsy who is the younger sister of a man that Moriarty deems important. Moriarty believes that her brother told her vital information and sees her as a loose end that needs to be eradicated. After saving her, she is seemingly forgotten and disappears until later in the movie. Holmes goes to visit Moriarty at his school and it essentially becomes a pissing contest between the two. They both continuously try to get a one up on each other, the scene was written beautifully but it didn't resonate with me simply because Jared Harris isn't on the acting level of Robert Downey. We were constantly being reminded throughout the movie that Moriarty is a great foe for Holmes, but however whenever he was on screen I couldn't take him seriously or be afraid of him.

After Holmes' pissing contest with Moriarty, he sought out to bring down Moriarty but he also knew the Moriarty would go after his best friend Watson. Holmes is outsmarted a few times by Moriarty throughout the film and the outcome of his investigation looks bleak until he pulls one brilliant trick out from his sleeve to best Moriarty. It leads to another great scene at the climax of the film as the two enemies sit down to play a game of chess. The reasons are also explained in the scene as to why Moriarty has resorted to such devious crimes, which in my opinion could have been a little bit better.

3.5 stars out of 5
3.5 stars out of 5

Closing Comments

A Game of Shadows is an entertaining movie for its excellent action sequences, witty dialogue and the on-screen chemistry between Downey and Law. Downey does an incredible job once again in the title role, and Law does a great job as the sidekick once again. The action sequences are impressive, with the standout coming closer to the end as we see our heroes running through a forest dodging bullets and mortar strikes. The slow-mo action sequences to me are beginning to get to the point of being over done, and there are quite a few of them in this film. Guy Ritchie does a good job of directing this film but the pacing could have been a little better. The original Girl With a Dragoon Tattoo star, Noomi Rapace, also does a good job in her first role in an American film. Moriarty for all intensive purposes is a decent villain as he provides everything that you would want from a foe to face off with one of the smartest men in cinematic history, but Harris is in over his head. There is a reason why we have never seen Harris in a role outside of Adam Sandler movies or other comedy roles.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Nightmarephantom profile image

      Nightmarephantom 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      It sounds like it's going to be good, but not as good as it was hyped to be. Especially with the first movie basically ending on a cliffhanger.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      lol. Yeah, I barely just submitted like 20 of them so far, and I'm not even done yet. lol. Another reason why I said earlier, I wish I had known you could do that sooner, as I would've been submitting my links to them right from the start. lol.

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      I kind of feel like i should submit all of my reviews, but I dont know if I am feeling that pro-active right now lol. I can't imagine how long it would take you to submit all of your reviews lol

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      again, I appreciate it. Just submitted this one to IMDB

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      lol. okay. well let me know if you have any trouble setting it up. It's kind of amazing, as I only wish I would've found out about it sooner.

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      I am about to check it out. My laptop is falling apart so seeing things is the bigger issue lol

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      Plus, it's free too, so you don't have to worry about that.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      Oh it's easy. You just have to register to become a member on that site, then once your a member, you can go up to any movie main page like say "Sherlock Holmes." You know how to get to the external links there to check out what guys like roger ebert, peter travers and etc said about a movie? Well, at the bottom of the page there's an edit option you can click, then you can submit your hubpage link to it. supposedly according to imdb, it takes several weeks to get approved, but it's easy though.

      I just barely found out about it, when I saw smpossello's teenage mutant ninja turtles III review linked on there, so that's how I found out.

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      How do you submit them on IMDB though? You just leave a link?

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      Thanks for the heads up. I appreciate it, Daniel Day Lewis is a hell of an actor I agree. I never thought of him as Luthor though lol. I think he will be great as Abraham Lincoln for Spielberg's flick. I heard rumblings of Chris Meloni possibly being Luthor for the new reboot.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      Hmm..very sad to hear that moriarty isn't portrayed as well as he should be on screen. That's rather sad, but I still plan on seeing this movie anyway, since I liked the first one a lot. It's kind of a shame the rumor about Daniel Day Lewis being attached to the Moriarty role didn't come into fruition, as he makes an excellent villain in movie roles; thus he'd be perfect for Moriarty. Of course, this is also why I want to see Daniel Day Lewis cast as Lex Luthor (assuming he's even in the new superman reboot or possible sequels to it). As I can't help but think whenever I watch "There Will Be Blood", I ALWAYS say to myself...now...THAT is how Lex Luthor should be played in a film. lol. Anyway, great hub Nick, as you never cease to amaze me. By the way, did you know that you can submit your links to imdb, as part of their external reviews for professional critics like Roger Ebert and such?

      I just found out about it a few days ago, and started submitting quite a few of my links to that site, so I can hopefully get some more traffic. I don't know if you know about it as well, but I just thought I'd give you a heads up in case you didn't.

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      So i think we both can agree, the movie would have been 10x better with him as the villain. If only.

    • VeronicaFarkas profile image

      Veronica Roberts 

      6 years ago from Ohio, USA

      Brad Pitt would've been PERFECT as Moriarty!! That would've been very interesting.

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      Yeah i loved the standoff between Moriarty and Holmes but I just feel like they skipped over a lot. If they delved more into Holmes and his loss of Irene, I feel like the film could have been much better. Moriarty could have been played by a better actor to. I read something about how Brad Pitt wanted the role

    • VeronicaFarkas profile image

      Veronica Roberts 

      6 years ago from Ohio, USA

      I just saw this last night. The ending was fantastic.

      I am not sold on Holmes not mourning the loss of Irene, and do not understand why he did so in only one scene. I wonder if that'll be brought up more in the next one? Err... if there is a next one. ;)

      Great review!

    • Nickalooch profile imageAUTHOR

      Nickalooch 

      6 years ago from Columbia, MD

      It's entertaining for sure but I think it could have been better. Anything with Robert Downey is automatically worthwhile to see in my opinion

    • Paradise7 profile image

      Paradise7 

      6 years ago from Upstate New York

      If the movie is anything like the trailers, it's a MUST-SEE-NOW!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)