ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review of Judas Priest's metal album "Killing Machine"

Updated on June 21, 2012

Introduction

Recorded in London in 1978, and released October that same year, "Killing Machine" is Judas Priest's fifth studio album and is identified as a "breakthrough" album, of sorts. It's attributed as redefining metal and incorporating the studded leather and long hair look into metal (not Halford, the guitarists, bassist, and drummer). Motorhead, anyone? But did this come at a price to quality, being more commercial? Let's take a look.(When being released in North America, they wanted to retitle it since the word "killing" was so horrible and offensive, I guess. But I do not, in my reviews or conversation, refer to this album in any way other than what the band called it).

Track Listing (credit to Halford, Tipton, and Downing)

1. Delivering the Goods 4:16

2. Rock Forever 3:16

3. Evening Star 4:06

4. Hell Bent for Leather 2:41

5. Take On the World 3:00

6. Burnin' Up 4:07

7. The Green Manalishi (with the Two-Pronged Crown) 3:23

8. Killing Machine 3:01

9. Running Wild 2:58

10. Before the Dawn 3:23

11.Evil Fantasies 4:15

Review

Part of the reason I love this Judas Priest album so much is that it is so influential on both the band as well as the genre. This album brought with it the studded leather and S&M look to heavy metal, as well as the bad-ass, who-gives-a-damn attitude (but mostly the look). Like Black Sabbath did less than ten years previous, the Priest reinvented what it meant to be heavy, as bands like Slayer and Metallica would do in the future.

It starts with what would come to be one of the bands great hits, Delivering the Goods, boasts a great headbanging, almost groovy, riff and some impressive solos. Rock Forever, while it sounds great on their live album, “Unleashed in the East,” is one of the less remarkable songs but does have some dual solos that are instantly recognizable as good ole' Judas. Same is the case for Evening Star, it fits decently enough on this CD, but lacks the heaviness for, say, “Painkiller.”

Next, we have the second hit off the album, Hell Bent for Leather! This song truly expresses what Priest was about at this time. I always wait for the 1:24 mark in anticipation, then cry:

There's many who tried

to prove that they're faster

but they didn't last

and they died as they tried!

Review Continued

Hell yeah! One of the best parts of the whole album. Those who crave more of the heavy awesomeness that was just dished out are advised to press the skip button on the next tune, Take On All the World. This is what critics point to when labeling the album as too “commercial.” It's definitely not what I would call Priest's finest. Burnin' Up is another song that can be said was influenced by Rob's suppressed sexuality. It ranks in the middle of the album, quality-wise. What ranks a bit higher is the cover version of Fleetwood Mac's Green Manalishi. What an example of Halford's vocal skill; he sounds as good as the guitar when it plays that riff (I bet he can hit higher notes, too).

Killing Machine, the title-track, in spite of what American dipsh*ts wanted the album to be called, is one of the lesser known Judas Priest songs, but it is still worth a listen, or two, or three. Apparently, Rob is an assassin when he's not touring. Who knew?

Another hidden gem on the disc is Running Wild, which was performed on “Unleashed” and a live album from the early 2000's from Halford's solo effort. This is really what the heavy metal lifestyle and personality is all about; we live as we please, and damn society's perception, damn the naysayers. It's all about freedom. You tell 'em Halford:

Review Concluded

The last two songs on the album are Before the Dawn and Evil Fantasies, the former of which is quite a ballad, of sorts. As soft as it is to hardened metal fans, it is respectable for what it is: one of Priest's more emotional and sensitive hits. The latter is another “filler” track, and hasn't been, to my knowledge, on any of Judas Priest's fifty “Greatest Hits” records.

Overall: 7/10

This release has some of the most memorable hits from the band, and, as always, Halford's singing is topnotch (literally, the highest notch of vocal range ever attainable by man or machine). But commercialism is too present on the disc, which also has some sub-par filler songs the band should have either improved or thrown out. Recommended for Priest fans who want to learn how the Metal Gods first started to get heavy.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Tim Chirillo profile image

      Tim Chirillo 

      5 years ago from Florida

      still have not listened to Nostradamus in its entirety

    • Tim Chirillo profile image

      Tim Chirillo 

      5 years ago from Florida

      Love Judas Priest - my favorite band .. Killing machine is a cool record.. I think my favorite is Defenders of the Faith.. PainKiller a close second - least fav Turbo

    • Steve Orion profile imageAUTHOR

      Steve Orion 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      Haha! Indeed.

    • hotwebideas profile image

      Bruce Chamoff 

      6 years ago from New York

      Ok, it is Hell Bent For Leather in North America, Killing Machine in Europe, and probably "Hell Bent For Sushi" in Asia. LOL

    • Steve Orion profile imageAUTHOR

      Steve Orion 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      In North America they retitled it "Hell Bent for Leather" because their label in the U.S. did not like "Killing Machine." I consider that two things: 1. Blatantly absurd, and 2. Offensive to the artists. So in an effort to be true to the Priest (and not be a censorship-supporting dumb ass), I consider the title to be "Killing Machine!" A good question.

      Thanks for reading and leaving a comment!

    • hotwebideas profile image

      Bruce Chamoff 

      6 years ago from New York

      Hey Steve, I love Judas Priest and saw them live 3 times on these tours:

      1. Point Of Entry

      2: Painkiller

      3. Angel of Retribution

      All great tours.

      However, I am confused about one thing in your hub. This album is not Killing Machine. It is the cover of Hell Bent For Leather. I mean, the album with this same exact cover and artwork was actually called Hell Bent For Leather, so this is interesting that you have Killing Machine.

      Either way, great hub!

    • JohnGreasyGamer profile image

      John Roberts 

      6 years ago from South Yorkshire, England

      Excellent review of the album, I don't think I could put it any other way. It's not my favourite, but it sure is one of the most revolutionizing ones that changed Metal into something else.

    • Steve Orion profile imageAUTHOR

      Steve Orion 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      It sure is, thanks for the comment! This cd has some really solid tunes, but Painkiller surpasses it, indeed.

    • Audiogeek profile image

      Audiogeek 

      6 years ago

      now that's heavy metal! my Judas Priest favorite is "Painkiller"!

    • Steve Orion profile imageAUTHOR

      Steve Orion 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      Anyone else agree with my observations of the album? Let me know in the comments!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)