ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Music

Review of Metallica's "Ride the Lightning"

Updated on July 7, 2012

Introduction

"Ride the Lightning," recorded in Denmark and released in 1984, is heavy metal band Metallica's second studio album. It features the single Creeping Death and has, in 2003, been certified an incredible 5 time Platinum. Obviously well-received, "Ride the Lightning" came before Metallica's breakthrough and before their best material. So, how does it compare to their following works? Read on...

Review

The album begins with an acoustic introduction (yes, on a thrash metal album. But it was rare at the time) that starts Fight Fire with Fire. What follows is speed. And lots of it. What a riff! Duh Duh, DUH DUH DUH! Duh Duh, DUH DUH DUH! Couple that with James' then-killer vocals, and you've got yourself a metal tune. As always, Kirk's solo's impress and Lars' drums were decent. The dual solo heard hear is also worthy of some air guitar an headbanging. From there, we have a great balance between the high notes of the guitars and the beating of the drums and bass to start off the title track, Ride the Lightning. Its lyrics deal with an upcoming execution and the thoughts running through the victim's head. It was also a social stance made against the flawed justice system, but you wouldn't think that it could come in just a badass form with such deadly vocals. The riffing is good, but the vocals are so harsh it's masterful.

Someone help me...Oh please God, help me!

They're trying to take it all awaaaay!

I don't want to diiiiiee!

The song, overall, suffers from a middle section that is a bit too lengthy. Great composition and skill, no doubt, but unnecessary. The third song is called For Whom the Bell Tolls, which is based on the Hemingway novel and details war and death; subjects that would later be prevalent in Metallica and were already evident in metal. It starts with a bell ringing and then shifts to the introducing tune. The bass here sounds like and is commonly mistaken for a guitar. That's Cliff Burton, for you. A very emotional tune, James asks why a man would kill for a hill, but doesn't have an answer (who does?). The intercepting higher notes performed by Kirk here work extremely well. If one word was used to describe this song, it would be "power!" Check it out below:

Review Concluded

The next song on this album is one of the best. Fade to Black, Metallica's first and most beautiful power ballad, circles around depression and suicide. It begins with a solemn tune that is, throughout the song, intertwined with Kirk's varied solo. Lyrically and musically profound, this one is definitely one of the biggest fan favorites, and my personal favorite, as well. Around four minutes into the song, there is the most emotional shift of Metallica's career:

No one, but me, can save myself, but it's too late!

Now I can't think, think why I even should try

Yesterday seems as though it never existed

Death greets me warm, now I will just say goodbye!

The rest fades out after Hammett's solo climaxes and then fades as well. Easily one of the best songs ever written. What follows isn't exactly up to par with Fade to Black, but works well enough.

Trapped Under Ice, in spite of being rather sophomoric in lyrics, works well enough for the album. While it isn't the worst thing they've written, it seems strange when presented on the same disc as the songs that proceeded it. As if it weren't enough, Escape is of even lesser quality. It details a man's escape from prison and anger against society. While the separate verses aren't bad at all, the chorus borders on the painful. Maybe that explains why the band has never played it in its entirety.

The album, to finish, shifts on last time, and for the better, with Creeping Death! Everything about this song is great; the speed, the lyrics, and especially the interlude. Lyrically, it deals with Biblical curses and plagues (so the title makes sense). If the intelude of Fade to Black was the most beautiful, the interlude seen here is the heaviest! A section written by Kirk, originally for Exodus:

Die! By my hand

I creep across the land

Killing first-born man!

A classic Metallica moment, to be sure. And to conclude the entire effort, The Call of Ktulu is the first and only instrumental. It starts slow in an almost haunting manner, and progressively speeds up around a minute and a half into it. As far as Metallica instrumentals go, this one ranks, in my opinions, fourth of the four. Which is not the say that it is bad, but just that the others were much better.

Overall: 8/10 I really wanted to rate this album higher, but the two mediocre songs prevent me from doing so. The vocals, as is the case with all early Metallica releases, are top notch for the music and the musicianship really foreshadowed what Metallica would come to be. If Trapped Under Ice and Escape were replaced by two other songs on the same level as the rest, this would be their best release and a definite 10.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Steve Orion profile image
      Author

      Steve Orion 5 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      @cryptid

      True, but would have to stick with my original rating, as I just don't think Escape or Trapped really are up to par with the rest of the album. I did give Puppets a 10, though!

      Thanks for reading and leaving a comment!

    • cryptid profile image

      cryptid 5 years ago from Earth

      Great Hub Steve. I think I agree with The Heavy Review that Ride the Lightning deserves at least a 9 if not a perfect 10. It's a metal classic, though in tough competition with Master of Puppets for Metallica's best album, IMO.

    • Steve Orion profile image
      Author

      Steve Orion 6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      Really, 9.5? Even with Escape and Trapped? If there were two other songs of higher quality to replace them, then maybe. Thanks for rating, reading, and commenting!

    • TheHeavyReview profile image

      TheHeavyReview 6 years ago

      Awesome review! Either this or the debut is my favorite from them, but I feel this is their crowning achievement in terms of creativity and diversity. About 9.5/10 for me, so it's up there with my all time favorites. Voted up and awesome!

    • Steve Orion profile image
      Author

      Steve Orion 6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      Thanks for reading and commenting! One of my favorite songs, absolutely. Thanks for the rating!

    • dmop profile image

      dmop 6 years ago from Cambridge City, IN

      I'm so with you here, I believe Fade to Black is one of the best songs of all time as well. Voted up and awesome.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is used to quickly and efficiently deliver files such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisements has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)