ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review of Metallica's "...And Justice for All"

Updated on August 12, 2012
Thanks to Wikipedia for unknowingly providing the picture!
Thanks to Wikipedia for unknowingly providing the picture!

Introduction

While this album was nominated for a Grammy in the now defunct heavy metal/hard rock category (Master of Puppets wasn't?...), it lost to Jethro Tull's “Crest of the Knave.” Yes, those guys who did Aqualung beat out Metallica for a metal album award. Yep. They did not receive proper recognition until their self-titled effort, which was not so great compared to their previous works, but I digress. The album “...And Justice for All” is a metal classic, not only for One ( and its badass music video), but the the other great tunes the CD holds. (It is also important to note that, for this review, I've listened to the remastered, or “fixed,” version of the album, which holds the proper amount of bass throughout).

Review

The album starts with the building whine of two guitars, and throttles full-speed into an apocalyptic tale that is Blackened! Why this song was not a single is beyond me, though I might guess it has something similar to do with the tastes of the people who chose Jethro Tull over Metallica? The solo work here from Hammett is very impressive as are the vocals from Hetfield, throughout the album, really. This is the signature “end of the world” song from Metallica, whereas Slayer has about... well... dozens. About 2:53 is where things start to get really heavy; the echo is condemning for each word reiterated. “Termination! (termination). Expiration! (expiration). Cancellation! (cancellation). Human race! Expectation! (expectation). Liberation! (liberation). Population! (population). Laid to waste!” Pretty damn heavy.

Review continued

The next song is ...and Justice for All, the title track. Clocking in at about 6 hours, it is one of the longest Metallica tracks ever. Or tracks ever. Unnecessary length aside, it's a proper anthem to justice, or the lack of it. It also holds true to one of the major themes of the album. Injustice, believe it or not. The lyrics here are some of the most brutal of Metallica's existence. “Justice is lost, justice is raped, justice is gone! Pulling your strings, justice is done!” While the song has more than one section that should have been trimmed, the overall impression is that this tune has itself a solid place on this record. Eye of the Beholder, while listenable, is probably the worst song here. That isn't saying much, really, but boring riffs and sub-par vocals detract noticeably from this setlist.

Now, we have the most popular song in the album and, indeed, one of the most popular metal songs of all time. Starting with cool, gentle riff and melodic strumming from Hammett, this is easily one of the most well-known tunes from Metallica. I almost feel it unnecessary to review it, but I will. The song, One, tells the tale of a wounded veteran in a hospital bed. He can't experience anything from his surroundings, and cannot feel the release of death. The epitome of helplessness, the man can only suffer and hope. Musically, the song shifts from ballad like notes to piercing metal riffs that lead, at around 4:30, to the most headbang worthy section of their entire careers! What a climax... Watch and listen:

Review Concluded

Right after that beast of a song, comes its closest rival in heaviness; The Shortest Straw. This song has so much damn aggression it is hard to sit still. While following under the same old themes of the album, the riffs and volatile lyrics are what make this song such a monster:

Behind You, Hands Are Tied
Your Being, Ostracized
Your Hell Is Multiplied
Upending
The Fallout Has Begun
Oppressive Damage Done
Your Many Turned to None
To Nothing
You're Reaching Your Nadir
Your Will Has Disappeared
The Lie Is Crystal Clear
Defending

Following this, we have Harvester of Sorrow. A pretty decent mix of groove and heaviness, with all the lyrics, appropriately, assimilating to the rest of the songs. No love tunes here,folks. The riffs from this one impress, especially the balance and shift seen at 4:40ish. The chiming at the beginning and end of the songs also work well, securing this song's rightful place on the disc. Frayed Ends of Sanity, on the other hand, works pretty well until it gets unnecessary after the first two choruses and before the last. The musicianship is top-notch, no doubt, but you don't want listeners to fast forward through parts. That criticism aside, it is a great song and, interestingly enough, one of the few Metallica songs that have yet to be played in its entirety live.

The nest song is an instrumental and a tribute to the late Cliff Burton, Metallica's bassist who died in a bus crash. To Live is to Die may be the best of all four of Metallica's current instrumentals; starting with soft acoustic guitars that fades out and is replaced by a heavy beat of drums and heavier guitars. The shift lasts until the end of the song, where it fades back into acoustic. In between these shifts contains such a mix of power and beauty that it summons perhaps the strongest emotions of the whole album. From the solos to the main riffs, the song entire is worth several listens. To conclude the entire effort, Dyers Eve is the fastest (and perhaps angriest?) song on the record. Although the whole teens angst against one's parents is a bit too typical, the songs seems, to me, to have a bit more to it. James not only expresses hatred for his parents for their overprotection of him, but of them not being able to fully protect him from the world that he sought to experience. It could work, but is not meant to, as satire for the typical teens going through those things.

Conclusion: 9/10

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image

      Justin W Price 

      5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      The first Metallica record I ever heard was the Black album, which holds a place of fondness for me. I haven't liked much since then, aside form a few tasty tracks. I also don't like the edition of Trujillo. He can't hold a candle to Newstead of Burton.

      My fave Metallica record is Master of Puppets...not a bad track on that thing.

      Good review. Sharing...

    • Steve Orion profile imageAUTHOR

      Steve Orion 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      @cryptid

      That's right, Dyer's Eve has to be one of their absolute fastest, too! Thanks for the comment!

    • cryptid profile image

      cryptid 

      6 years ago from Earth

      One gets all the glory from this disc, but for me Dyer's Eye is the best song on the album, and one of my favorite Metallica songs of all time. Another great metal Hub!

    • Steve Orion profile imageAUTHOR

      Steve Orion 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      @Shinkicker

      Thanks, I aim to enlighten! The award they won was a Grammy for their self-titled release, for which a review is on its way. Thanks for reading and commenting!

    • Shinkicker profile image

      Shinkicker 

      6 years ago from Scotland

      Thanks for an interesting Hub on a great album Steve. I actually learned 2 new things. That there is a re-mixed version with the bass level sorted and now I know why Lars Ulrich made that 'Jethro Tull' comment at an awards ceremony later.

      Cheers

    • Steve Orion profile imageAUTHOR

      Steve Orion 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      @TrevorBasile

      Yep, definitely a classic! Thanks for the comment.

    • TrevorBasile profile image

      Trevor Basile 

      6 years ago from Rockaway, NJ

      Classic album one of the best of all time!

    • Steve Orion profile imageAUTHOR

      Steve Orion 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      @Raevyn14

      Indeed, some great tunes on this record! Very aggressive, very metal! Thanks for the read and comment.

    • Raevyn14 profile image

      Raevyn14 

      6 years ago from Tecumseh, Oklahoma

      This album is one of the best metallica albums of all time, it has some of my favorite songs I still love today

    • Steve Orion profile imageAUTHOR

      Steve Orion 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      @TheHeavyReview

      Luckily anytime I listen to this album it is with the proper amount of bass! I believe it was remastered or at least rerecorded by someone else and posted on the net, which I grabbed.

      Monotonous? At times. I think, though, 9/10 is pretty fair. (EDIT: I see that I gave it 8/10 and not a 9, like I thought I did. This has been corrected.)

    • Steve Orion profile imageAUTHOR

      Steve Orion 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      @JohnGreasyGamer

      I can understand the sense of reluctance many people feel when listening to such an over-hyped record. And while, I feel, it is a true masterpiece, its quality has been overstated. Thanks for the read and comment!

    • Steve Orion profile imageAUTHOR

      Steve Orion 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      @FatFreddysCat

      Definitely is a timeless record! To JT's defense, the flute is, as they've said, a heavy, metal instrument. Thanks for the comment, as always!

    • Steve Orion profile imageAUTHOR

      Steve Orion 

      6 years ago from Tampa, Florida

      @dmop

      Yeah, they're my second favorite behind Judas Priest, probably. Thanks for reading, commenting, and rating!

    • TheHeavyReview profile image

      TheHeavyReview 

      6 years ago

      Great review! I'm not really a fan of this album, but "Blackened" and "Dyer's Eve" are awesome tracks. It's their most progressive work, but it suffers a little from monotony. I wish the bass had been louder. Good job, voted up!

    • JohnGreasyGamer profile image

      John Roberts 

      6 years ago from South Yorkshire, England

      It's not my favourite album, and several friends ramming its reputation down my throat doesn't help me like it any more. Some songs on there stuck on my head, and others I really didn't like. Nice review, as always! ^^

    • FatFreddysCat profile image

      Keith Abt 

      6 years ago from The Garden State

      This album was the soundtrack to my life for a good two and a half years. Saw the tour for this album as well, one of the best shows I've ever seen!!!

      By the way - the reason "Master of Puppets" wasn't nominated for a Hard Rock/Metal Grammy was because there was no such category till the year "Justice" was released. And yes, I remember the controversy brought forth by Jethro Tull's surprise win ... I haven't paid attention to the Grammy Awards since. Haha.

    • dmop profile image

      dmop 

      6 years ago from Cambridge City, IN

      Metallica is probably my favorite band of all time, enough said. Voted up, all but funny, and shared.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)