ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review of Two And Half Men with Ashton Kutcher Episode 1. For all 2 and 1/2 men fans.

Updated on September 20, 2011

Two and Half Men with Ashton Kutcher Intro

Source

Alight Two and Half Men fans, the first episode with Ashton Kutcher titled "Nice to meet you, Walden Schmidt" was pretty good, but in a nutshell, it is too early to tell how this will turn.

I think most Two and A Half Men fans are simply happy to have the show back on, but the episode opens with the funeral of Charlie Harper. To get to the point, I thought it was funny and I laughed through the entire show. Also, the writers instilled a little suspense into the episode by bringing in Ashton Kutcher after 15 minutes, where most fans were waiting to see his debut in the first minute.

My Full Review in a Nutshell:

In order for a full review, we really will need to see more future episodes. The description of the show was "internet billionaire with a broken heart" and Ashton Kutcher's character is totally different from Charlie Harper. In a way, I still miss Charlie Sheen on the show and I am sure most fans will. After all, he was there for 8 seasons. It will take a while to get used to Walden Schmidt as Kutcher was only on for 15 minutes. So far, it looks promising and I am already in suspense about what will come up on future episodes.

Also, we only got to see how Walden Schmidt and Alan Harper interact with each other as Walden has not interacted with the other characters.

The funeral of Charlie Harper

The first scene wastes no time showing Charlie's funeral and most of the people to paid their respects were Charlie's disgruntled girlfriends, fiancees, and lovers. For those of you who kept track of his girlfriends, almost all of the significant girlfriends were there including Mia (Emanual G), Sherry (Geri Ryan), Courtney (Jenny McCarthy), and of course Rose. Courtney made a funny comment "I didn't come here to spit on a closed casket". Some of the girlfriends went on about some of the diseases they got from Charlie. LOL

Both Alan and Rose gave eulogies and we found out that Charlie proposed to Rose and she accepted and then came home and found out that he was cheating on her. We never found out what happened to her pseudo husband, Manny Quinn.

We even found out how Charlie died. When Rose caught him cheating on him, she pushed him onto the tracks of an oncoming train and said "he exploded like a balloon full of meat" LOL.

Evelyn, Charlie's mother, made it totally clear that she was only interested in selling Charlie's house (yes, she got the listing) and she brought brochures to the funeral home for this beach house on Malibu.

The Package Arrives For Alan

Alan receives a box and it was Charlies ashes from the crematorium. After talking to the box and deciding to sprinkle Charlie's ashes all over the beach, Walden Schmidt (Ashton Kutcher) appears out of nowhere looking into the living room from the deck.

At that point, Alan spills his brother's ashes all over the floor and later vacuums it up with a dustbuster LOL.

So, what is the story with Walden Schmidt (Ashton Kutcher)?

It appears that Walden was dumped by his wife and he was about to drown himself in the ocean when he failed because the water was too cold, so that his entrance into the show. After having sex with two girls that Alan and Kutcher picked up in the local bar, Walden decides that he wants to buy Charlie's home and that's where it starts.

We also found out that Walden Schmidt is kind of a nudist. He likes parading around the house nude and has already stressed out Alan with his obsession about how he became worth a billion dollars and how to Alan's dismay "Walden is also well hung" and has gotten the attention of Berta (the housekeeper) and Judith (Alan's ex-wife).

My final review

As I said, it is too early to tell what will happen in the show, but it looks promising now that Walden Schmidt will by Charlie's home and the story starts from there. Ashton Kutcher was funny and he does not seem too far away from his role as Michael Kelso on That 70's Show, but according to Alan, he will probably be going through the same stress as he did with Charlie, so I do not see his role changing much from there.

Ashton Kutcher does seem to add a new dimension to the show and all the rest of the characters seem to pick up from where they left off. I am not sure if Rose (Melanie Lynsky) will continue, but only time will tell.

I give the writers a big thumbs up for steering the show back into its course with the new dynamics added by the Ashton Kutcher character.


Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • hotwebideas profile imageAUTHOR

      Bruce Chamoff 

      6 years ago from New York

      Love that scene. Made people take charlies leaving seriously.

    • hotwebideas profile imageAUTHOR

      Bruce Chamoff 

      6 years ago from New York

      I think the producers are looking for new angles now. The mothers are now lesbians in the story.

    • hotwebideas profile imageAUTHOR

      Bruce Chamoff 

      6 years ago from New York

      Thanks, Stevennix2001. Glad you liked this. I do not see the show moving quickly after 4 episodes, so a lot of Two and Half Men fans are disappointer. Afterall, when Charlie Harper died, the hookers stopped coming to the house and Walden is the total opposite of Charlie. I am not used to that yet, but I am still willing to give the new format a chance. Let's hope it speeds up.

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 

      6 years ago

      I think only time will tell if whether or not Ashton's character will work out. However, I think Ashton is a good actor, so I'm sure he'll be alright. The only thing that would concern me here is that his style of comedy is vastly different than what Charlie Sheen brought to the table; hence it could cause a change up in the chemistry that the show previously had established. However, here's hoping for the best, and thanks for the write up, as it was interesting to read this.

    • hotwebideas profile imageAUTHOR

      Bruce Chamoff 

      7 years ago from New York

      @Alecia Murphy, thanks. Glad you like the hub. We will wait and see how this turns out after a few episodes.

    • hotwebideas profile imageAUTHOR

      Bruce Chamoff 

      7 years ago from New York

      @optimus grimlock, yeah. That was pretty funny.

    • Alecia Murphy profile image

      Alecia Murphy 

      7 years ago from Wilmington, North Carolina

      Yeah, I'm with you. I'm not too sure how this will work. Replacements or new characters are always tough to integrate them to new shows. Great Hub!

    • optimus grimlock profile image

      optimus grimlock 

      7 years ago

      the best moment was when allan dropped charlies ashes after that it got dull. Ill keep watching to give the kutch a chance,

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)