ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review of the Romantic Movie: City of Angels

Updated on February 9, 2012

.

City of Angels is a Romantic movie:

I have always had a fascination for Angels and watched this movie again recently. The first time I watched it, was a few years ago. It’s about Meg Ryan (a beautiful surgeon) and Nicholas Cage (An Angel).

In the beginning, he could see her but she couldn’t see him, even though he was around her. There was a time she sat on the stairs in hospital crying because she had lost a patient on the operating table and he was just by her, looking at her tenderly and probably feeling her pain, but she didn’t see him.

It got to a point where she was able to see him and talk to him, then he fell in love with her. I won’t reveal much more. It’s a beautiful, touching movie with a twist that you would definitely not expect and one you would most likely watch again.

.

On a personal note, I feel that in life, as we go about our days, there are beings all around that we can’t see. Some are Angels, some are not. (don’t ask me about those ones. Lol). Also, I would have liked that the Angels in the movie wore white, instead of all black.

To have a feel or glimpse into this movie, watch the 4 minute video of the Soundtrack below. The song is called “In the Arms of the Angels” by Sarah Mclachlan and it shows clips of the movie.

Enjoy.

.

.

The Theme Track

.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • James-wolve profile image

      Tijani Achamlal 

      5 years ago from Morocco

      Yes ,that was a great movie too besides to Matchstick Men,Adaptation, World Trade Center,Gone in Sixty Seconds..

    • Lady_E profile imageAUTHOR

      Elena 

      5 years ago from London, UK

      Hello James,

      He is a great Actor... and yes that is quite a nice touch. My favourite movie of his is... "Face Off" with John Travolta. So funny, so crazy...yet so grippin. I have watched it so many times. Thanks for stopping by and voting up. :-)

    • James-wolve profile image

      Tijani Achamlal 

      5 years ago from Morocco

      It is one of my favorites.Nicola Cage is my favorite movie star.I like to watch his movies.He is awesome and great person in real life.

      The very touching of the movie scenes for me is when he takes Meg Ryan s palm and moves one of his fingers on it. I like that kind of touches.Thanks for reminding us of that sweet romantic movie.I voted up.

    • Lady_E profile imageAUTHOR

      Elena 

      6 years ago from London, UK

      Hello Moms-Secret

      Lovely of you to stop by. I look forward to reading the unpublished Hub Poem and I will include the link in this Hub. Cheers.

    • Moms-Secret profile image

      Lissette 

      6 years ago from Central Florida

      I loved this movie. Needless to say, I have not been able to watch it recently and I don't think I will be able to for just a bit longer. You made me realize that I have an unpublished hub poem that goes with this movie really well. I will have to let you know when I publish it.

    • Lady_E profile imageAUTHOR

      Elena 

      6 years ago from London, UK

      @MarieCoester ~ Thanks Marie, it's lovely of you to stop by.

      @Acaetnna ~ Hi Acaetnna, hope you enjoy it again, second time around. Good to see you. Thanks.

    • acaetnna profile image

      acaetnna 

      6 years ago from Guildford

      This is such a great film, I loved it. It's reminded me to watch it again. Thanks Lady_E!

    • MartieCoetser profile image

      Martie Coetser 

      6 years ago from South Africa

      City of Angels made a deep impression on me! And also this review of yours, Lady_E.

    • Lady_E profile imageAUTHOR

      Elena 

      6 years ago from London, UK

      @shimmeringdawn

      I hope you enjoy watching it. Thanks for stopping.

      Have a Blessed day too. xx

    • shimmering Dawn profile image

      shimmering Dawn 

      6 years ago

      Lady-E I hardly ever watch movies, but then I am a true blue romantic, maybe just this once, I will watch this one.. Thanks for the tempting review.. Have a blessed day! Love!

    • Lady_E profile imageAUTHOR

      Elena 

      6 years ago from London, UK

      @Anglnwu - Hi Angeline, I think you will enjoy it. Lovely to see you. God BLess.

      @Robwrite - Thanks - I didn't know it was based on an original version. I will see if i can get a peek of it's trailer on youtube. I look forward to seeing it.

    • Robwrite profile image

      Rob 

      6 years ago from Oviedo, FL

      Hi Lady E. If you liked this, then I strongly recommend you see the film this movie was based on. The original version was a German film called "Wings of Desire" (1988) Its a lyrical and fascinating fairy tale/romance. I thinks its better than the American remake.

      Rob

    • anglnwu profile image

      anglnwu 

      6 years ago

      I've yet to watch this movie but it seems like a nice one. I know we have guardian angels watching over us--thank God for them.

    • Lady_E profile imageAUTHOR

      Elena 

      6 years ago from London, UK

      @Karen Awwwh... I know what you mean. Why oh why did they end it like that? Still lovely though. Thanks for stopping. :)

      @donnaisabella - I am sure you will enjoy it. Thanks so much for stopping. Good to see you again. :)

      @Always exploring

      Hi Ruby.. I love the song too. I have listened to it so many times. Thanks for sharing. Always a pleasure to see you. :)

    • always exploring profile image

      Ruby Jean Richert 

      6 years ago from Southern Illinois

      Oh, I love that song. I have not seen this movie but i want to..Thank you..I believe there are angels around..We just have to believe....

    • donnaisabella profile image

      Donaisabella 

      6 years ago from Fort Myers

      Sounds like a movie I would like to watch. Nicholas Cage acting as an angel! Well, that is something, I am so used to seeing him act mean or something else weird. I will seek it out. Thanks for sharing.

    • Karen Hellier profile image

      Karen Hellier 

      6 years ago from Georgia

      I liked this movie up until the end. Terribly disappointing.

    • Lady_E profile imageAUTHOR

      Elena 

      6 years ago from London, UK

      @Imkarn23 - Hi, Ghost is an awesome movie but sad. Whoopy Goldberg makes it hilarious in some parts though. lol. Thanks for stopping.

      @Debby ~ Cheers Debby. I like the fact that there are Angels on earth too.

    • Lady_E profile imageAUTHOR

      Elena 

      6 years ago from London, UK

      @Ahorseback ~ Thanks for stopping. I haven't seen Flesh and bone, but will look out for it. Hope it's not scary. :)

      @taherrudin ~ Thanks. I'm glad you liked the song and hope you enjoy the movie. Regards.

      @JDove-Miller ~ It's nice to know you've watched it. I like what you wrote in your comment. Best Wishes.

    • Debby Bruck profile image

      Debby Bruck 

      6 years ago

      Elena ~ What a beautiful and tender story. There are angels, both walking the earth and in heaven. Love, Debby

    • ImKarn23 profile image

      Karen Silverman 

      6 years ago

      Shades of...oooo, what's that movie called with demi moore and patrick swayze??? GHOST..

    • JDove-Miller profile image

      JDove-Miller 

      6 years ago from YOUNGSVILLE

      I remember that movie. It was very moving. I like the idea that angels are among us and that we sometimes act as angels to others.

    • taheruddin profile image

      taheruddin 

      6 years ago from Khulna Bangladesh

      The music "In The Arms Of The Angel" - is very nice

    • taheruddin profile image

      taheruddin 

      6 years ago from Khulna Bangladesh

      going to collect and watch it ....

    • ahorseback profile image

      ahorseback 

      6 years ago

      Lady E.....I dislike sad endings , always have .....Too Haunting , But it is a great movie ....Awesome....ever see "Flesh and Bone " Meg Ryan , dennis quaid .

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)