ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Music

Review: the excellent hard rock album called "Humanimal" by Swedish band Talisman

Updated on October 29, 2017

A photo of the album Humanimal

Introduction To The Band Talisman

Talisman was a heavy hard rock band but these guys were awesome! What follows is a review of their great 1994 album called Humanimal. It is the words human and animal combined to make the band’s name. Talisman was a Swedish and American hard rock band that featured the vocals of Jeff Scott Soto. Those of you familiar with the talents of this man will remember that he was the main vocalist for Yngwie J. Malmsteen during the 1980’s. His voice has improved considerably since that time having passion, power, and range. Also in this band are Marcel Jacob (1964-2009) on bass guitar, Jamie Borger (drums) and Fredrik Akesson on guitar. Akesson spent time with the Swedish melodic death metal band Arch Enemy. This is a review of the Japanese version of the album Humanimal which has a different track listing than he European version. But both versions are really awesome!

Track Listing for the album Humanimal

  1. Hypocrite
  2. Humanimal
  3. You Cannot Escape the Revelation of the Identical by Seeking Refuge in the Illusion of the Multiple
  4. Animal Ritual
  5. Wasting R Time
  6. TV Reality
  7. Since You’ve Gone
  8. My Best Friend’s Girl
  9. Dear God
  10. Blissful Garden
  11. Lonely World
  12. Delusions of Grandeur
  13. 3233 + Colour My XTC
  14. Fabricated War

Humanimal Japanese Version Part 1 Review

The album opens up with the solid hard rocker Hypocrite. We have all dealt with people like these before. The title track Humanimal is one of my favorite songs from this band and it is about the flaws of the human condition. Technology has computerized our lives and will help the future but with this rise in technology, there has been a huge decline in church attendance. The person says that he believes in GOD but he is scolded for not believing in himself. Faith has a way of helping us get through challenging times. TV Reality is about what can happen to someone who becomes an avid TV watcher. TV watching can become an addiction as the person disconnects themselves from the hustle and bustle of the real world. Since You’ve Gone is about someone who is very sad and he is hurting inside because the one that he loves is far away from him. He is counting the days when she will make her return and they will be reunited.

Huamanimal: the Excellent Title Track

Humanimal: The Rest Of The Review

As the second half of the album begins, we are treated to the very good song My Best Friend’s Girl. He feels that he is in love with his best friend’s girl although he knows what the dangers of that kind of love are. Sometimes we want what we cannot have. Love can be hard for many to find. Blissful Garden is one of the heaviest songs on the album and it is also on the European version of the album. Lonely World is an awesome song about a child that has been left by his or her parents and abandoned, left alone without a home as they have to now traverse and navigate what is sometimes a very cruel world. The lead guitar work in the song is terrific! The last two tracks 3233 + Colour My XTC and Fabricated War are actually the first two songs on the European version. That first one starts off with a little acoustic guitar before transitioning into a high energy rock song.

Official Music Video for the Song Colour My XTC

Final Thoughts About the Humanimal

Overall, Humanimal is a very enjoyable listen for the avid hard rock fan. Soto’s powerful passionate vocals, great songwriting, and terrific guitar work make this album worth it. The only really substandard song on this album is Wasting R Time. Dear God and Blissful Garden are good but not great. This writer gives Humanimal an 82 out 100 points because there are so many solid tracks.

The Song Called My Best Friend's Girl

© 2016 Ara Vahanian


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.