ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Secret Obsession Film Review

Updated on July 24, 2019
Actor
Character
Brenda Song
Jennifer Williams
Mike Vogel
Russell Williams
Dennis Haysbert
Detective Frank Page
Ashley Scott
Nurse Masters

About the film

Directed by: Peter Sullivan

Produced by: Jeffrey Schenck, Barry Barnholtz

Running time: 97 minutes

Genre: Thriller, Drama

Distributed by: Netflix


About the film

The film begins with Jennifer clearly in a state of terror and running away from someone. As she is running, she is knocked down by a car. She wakes up in hospital with no recollection of who she is or how she got there. She is suffering with short term memory loss and has difficulty in remembering anything previous to the accident.

Ryan turns up at the hospital claiming to be her husband and even provides evidence that she is his wife, like photographs. On getting released from hospital when she recovers, Jennifer returns home with the man she believes to be her husband. Throughout the film we see how Jennifer gets little flashbacks of what happened to her prior to her accident.

And then we have Detective Frank Page, played by Dennis Haysbert. He has his suspicions about Ryan and sets out to prove that his man isn't who he claims he is. Over the course of the 97 minutes, we see how Jennifer slowly starts regaining some of her memory and begins to realise that Ryan isn't the man he claims to be. With the help of Detective Page, we get to see just how dark and sinister he is and the reasoning behind his obsession with Jennifer.

My thoughts

I found this film interesting and intriguing. It got me thinking just how vulnerable someone can be, especially when you suffer with amnesia after an horrific accident or attack. I did feel really sorry for Jennifer. She didn't realise at the time that members of her family had been murdered and that Ryan was not her true husband. It just goes to show, I thought, that when someone has a real obsession with someone else, there is no stopping them and the lengths they will go to to get that person. And with Jennifer being in such a vulnerable position at the time, she really believed Ryan was her husband. Why wouldn't she? At the start of the film he treated her just like any kind and loving husband would do.

There are only 4 real main characters in this film. Ashley Scott, who plays the Nurse, I have seen in films before so knows she's a good actress. She doesn't have a great role in this film, but she played the role well. I think a little bit more could have been done though to question Ryan's involvement in Jennifer's life. It does make you wonder what would happen if this was real life. I like the role of Frank Page in the film. He came across onscreen as a kind man and wanting to get to the bottom of who Ryan really is. I don't really know much about the actors who played Jennifer and Ryan, but I think they played a good part and worked well together.

Yes, I did find this film really creepy. It goes to show the lengths some people will go to to get what they want, and who they want. Some people are, indeed, very deceptive - and good at it too. This film has proved that. Would I recommend this? I would yes, I did enjoy this film. Although, like I say, I think the staff at the hospital could of done a little bit more work in proving who Ryan really was.

Official Film Trailer

© 2019 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      10 months ago from USA

      I like mysteries and thrillers so I’m going to put this on my list of movies to watch. It’s too bad they didn’t try a little harder to cover the husband’s tracks but it is a strait to Netflix movie.

    • Rachel M Johnson profile image

      Rachel M Johnson 

      10 months ago

      Thank you for your insightful review of this film, Louise. I’ve been very curious to watch it and have heard a lot of buzz about it. Now I’ll definitely check it out!

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      10 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I've never heard of this movie, but it sounds interesting. It would be very scary to lose one's memory in real life and end up in Jennifer's situation.

    • Tim Truzy info4u profile image

      Tim Truzy 

      10 months ago from U.S.A.

      Thank you for this wonderful review of a flick I probably will enjoy, Louise. The story sounds along the lines of some Hitchcock movies. Greatly appreciated.

    • lambservant profile image

      Lori Colbo 

      10 months ago from Pacific Northwest

      I just watched this movie the other night and loved the suspense. Yes, it was creepy and a bit scary. Like you, I thought about vulnerability. I thought the acting was excellent.

      Although over all it was a great movie I felt Russell's trail was a little too easy to trace, like he didn't cover his tracks as well as he could have. I think the screenwriter could have made this aspect of the story much stronger, more mysterious and cunning. But I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it.

    • profile image

      Michael115 

      10 months ago

      Good review! This seems like a good movie to watch if you want a good thriller. Keep up the good work!

    • Eurofile profile image

      Liz Westwood 

      10 months ago from UK

      This is a good film review. It sounds like a real suspense drama, edge of the seat stuff.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)