ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Sister Act Film Review

Updated on July 27, 2017

Sister Mary Clarence

Main Characters

The Actor
The Character
Whoppi Goldberg
Sister Mary Clarence
Maggie Smith
Reverend Mother
Wendy Makkena
Mary Robert
Kathy Najimy
Mary Patrick
Mary Wickes
Mary Lazarus
Bill Nunn
Eddie Souther
Harvery Keitel
Vince LaRocca

Film Synopsis

  • Released: 1992
  • Running Time: 100 minutes
  • Genre: Crime, Comedy, Fantasy
  • Budget: $31,000,000 (estimated)

Sister Act is one of those films I could watch over and over again. Whoopi Goldberg has always been a fantastic actress. She excels at any films she does, and I've always enjoyed watching the movies she's appeared in. This is a film I've had in my DVD collection for a number of years now, and still enjoy watching it when it comes on TV.

The film begins in 1968 in a strict Catholic school when she is told off by her Nun teacher for being rude and disobedient. She tells her she'll get nowhere in live, with Delores grinning the whole time. Roll on a few years and Delores Van Cartier is now a lounge singer in Reno, Nevada. The club is run by her mobster boyfriend, Vince. When Delores inadvertently walks in on Vince and his 2 henchmen murdering the chauffeur for betrayal, Vince orders them to murder her too. Joey and Willy, the 2 henchmen, aren't the brightest sparks around though, but still, do as they are told and whilst Delores flees from the club, they hotfoot it after her.

Delores makes it to the local Police Station where she meets Lieutenant Eddie Souther, who tells her he will hide her in the last place they will expect to find her - a convent. This is where we first meet Maggie Smith, who plays the Reverend Mother. Delores is most certainly not the religious type and finds it very difficult to adapt to life in the convent. It is comical to see her adjust to life, and with the Reverend Mother slowly losing patience with her, we watch how the pair learn to live and cope with each other.

With Delores under the assumed name of Sister Mary Clarence, she is given the task of sorting out the failing choir of nuns. With a musical background, it only seems apt that she tries to get these nuns to sing in unison. With Delores/Mary now in charge of the choir, and by all accounts, doing a good job of it, she has the dilemma of still remaining undercover from her mobster boyfriend and trying to do a good job with her fellow musical sisters.

Vince with his 2 cronies

Source

My Thoughts

Sister Act has since been on stage as a musical production. I think Whoopi Goldberg excels herself in this film. It's one I can watch again and again and still enjoy singing along to the songs. It has dramatic moment in it, yet has comedy value to it too. Similarly, Maggie Smith is a renowned and admired actress, and I think both her and Whoppi make an excellent partnership on screen. I like how Whoppi interacts with the choir and the songs they sing are foot tapping and catchy. This is an uplifting, feel-good film which I always enjoy watching.

The storyline is good, and I like the part Harvey Keitel plays as the mobster boyfriend. Although the DVD I have in my collection doesn't have many extra's on it, it's still a DVD I'm glad I got in my collection. Just out of interest, the group that Delores is in at the start of the film, The Ronelles, is a combination of The Shirelles and The Ronettes, groups from the 60's. There are plenty of songs in the movie. The Ronelles, the group Delores is in at the start of the group, sing a selection of 60's music and I feel this is a good setting for the storyline. We get to see right at the beginning that is going to be a film packed with a variety of music and classic songs we can all sing along to.

Sister Act Trailer

List of sings in the movie

The song
Performer
'The Lounge Medley'
Delores & The Ronelles
The Murder
Instrumental
Getting In The Habit
Instrumental
Rescue Me
Fontella Bass
Hail Holy Queen
Delores & The Sisters
Roll With Me Henry
Etta James
Gravy For My Mashed Potatoes
Dee Dee Sharp
My Guy (My God)
Delores & The Sisters
Just A Touch Of Love (Everyday)
C & C Music Factory
Delores Is Kidnapped
Instrumental
Nuns To The Rescue
Instrumental
Finale: I Will Follow Him (Chariot)
Delores & The Sisters
Shout
Delores & The Sisters & The Ronelles
If My Sister's In Trouble
Lady Soul

Sisters Mary Lazarus & Mary Clarence

Sister Act DVD

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • fairychamber profile image

      Niina Niskanen 

      6 months ago from Wrexham

      Oh sister act. This is my feel-good-film. I always watch it when I´m feeling down and every time it puts a smile on my face. I love it! music, whoopi, Maggie Smith, everything!

    • k@ri profile image

      Kari Poulsen 

      15 months ago from Ohio

      I have to agree. I love "Sister Act"!

    • annart profile image

      Ann Carr 

      18 months ago from SW England

      I love this film and watch it whenever it comes round again on TV. I agree the music is great. The whole film is full of humour, great songs and definitely gives the 'feel good' factor. I didn't realise it was that old - says something about me I suppose!

      Ann

    • profile image

      Tamara Moore 

      19 months ago

      I saw this movie! It was funny :-) I really enjoyed watching Whoopie Goldberg. She also played a cute character role in the movie with Demi Moore, Ghost. She is such fun to watch in her comedy roles! Love her.

      Tamara

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      20 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I love this movie. I've seen it a few times, but not for several years. I like the comedy, the drama, and the music. Your review has reminded me of how much I enjoy the film.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      21 months ago from USA

      I need to watch this again. You did a wonderful job with your review.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      21 months ago from The Caribbean

      I'm never tired of watching the nuns and hearing their songs. Thanks for the memory. You did a great job with the review.

    • always exploring profile image

      Ruby Jean Richert 

      21 months ago from Southern Illinois

      This is by far one of my all time favorite movies. I bet I've watched it 3 or 4 times. I adore Whoopi, and I watch her daily on ' The View ' Your review was presented well and was interesting to read..

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      21 months ago from Olympia, WA

      I saw this when it came out in 1992 and I haven't seen it since. That's not a negative review on my part. I actually thought the movie was wonderful...now you have me thinking it's time to watch it again. Has it really been 25 years?

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)