ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Song Review: What a Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong

Updated on September 5, 2013

Most of us are familiar with the beautiful, inspiring, song called "What a Wonderful World", sung by Louis Armstrong. I heard this song on the radio recently and tears filled my eyes. It reminded me of the first time I heard the song, at a graduation ceremony, and all the inspirational messages in the lyrics. It inspired me to download the song and research the history of the singer, as well as write about the meaning of the song’s lyrics.

Please take a moment to watch this beautiful musical video of the song:

What a Wonderful World Song Rating

5 stars for What a Wonderful World Song

The song, "What a Wonderful World" was written by Bob Thiele and George Weiss. It was released as a single in 1968, but re-released in 1988, after it was used in the movie Good Morning, Vietnam, starting Robin Williams. It was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 1999.

The song is sung by Louis "Louie" Armstrong, a musician and jazz player. Louis Armstrong was one of the most influential jazz artists in history. He became famous in the 1920’s with his unique style of playing the coronet and trumpet.

Meaning:

The song "What a Wonderful World" is one of the most beautiful songs, which inspires all of us to appreciate the beauty and wonder of the world.

Our wonderful earth
Our wonderful earth | Source

How does the song make us feel?

  • It reminds us to not take things for granted, but instead appreciate the wonder of the world around us.
  • It makes us cry.
  • It grabs our attention and makes us think twice.
  • It helps to spread some good cheer among us.

Good cheer!
Good cheer! | Source

Simple But Meaningful Lyrics:

In the opening lines, "I see trees of green, red roses too", this reminds us to take notice of the trees, greenery, and flowers around us. The next time you are outside, walking or driving your car, take notice of the beautiful trees and flowers around you.

The second verse, "I see skies of blue, and clouds of white", reminds us to look up and appreciate the beautiful deep blue sky, and the white fluffy clouds, and the air we breathe.

One of my favorite lines is "The colors of the rainbow, so pretty in the sky". This reminds me of seeing an actual rainbow...have you seen one? It is a glorious feeling and something you cannot take your eyes off of.

"I see friends shaking hands" reminds us of to love they neighbor.

Love They Neighbor
Love They Neighbor | Source

Finally, in the closing verse, the lines "I hear babies cry, I watch them grow" is ever so touching and reminds us of how precious child are, and how quickly children grow into adults, right in front of our eyes.

Happy Kids
Happy Kids | Source

In Closing:

Put simply, the song, "What a Wonderful World" is full of hope, optimism, and joy.

The Lyrics Come to Life in This Colorful Childen's Book (by the same authors of the song)

This hubpage is dedicated to the beautiful voice and inspiring words sung by Louis Armstrong.

Have You Ever Seen an Real Rainbow in the Sky?

See results

© 2012 Amelia Griggs

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • easylearningweb profile imageAUTHOR

      Amelia Griggs 

      3 years ago

      Thanks for sharing. It seems each of us has a special memory that makes this song extra special. For me, I remember when they played it at my daughter's kindergarden graduation and it brought tears to my eyes, still does. My daughter is now 21. The song reminds us about our wonderful world!

      Happiness always to you. :-)

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      3 years ago from Olympia, WA

      I remember when this first came out. We were in college listening to 60s rock and suddenly this song hits the Top 50 and it's like WHAT??? And then we really listened to it and fell in love with it.

    • easylearningweb profile imageAUTHOR

      Amelia Griggs 

      3 years ago

      Thanks, Ron, I'm glad you liked the hub and song, its one of my favorites!

    • RonElFran profile image

      Ronald E Franklin 

      3 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      When I first heard this song, I was disappointed because there was no Armstrong trumpet solo. But then the power of his vocal caught me, and I've loved it ever since. Thanks for reminding me of it.

    • KoffeeKlatch Gals profile image

      Susan Hazelton 

      5 years ago from Sunny Florida

      I love this song. It seems to speak to me. It' one of those songs that make you feel happy to be alive. Up and awesome.

    • easylearningweb profile imageAUTHOR

      Amelia Griggs 

      5 years ago

      Thanks, icmn91!!! It definitely makes me feel wonderful each time I listen to it. :-)

    • icmn91 profile image

      icmn91 

      5 years ago from Australia

      This song always makes me reflect on my life. I remember doing it in a school choir. Just singing (or hearing) the unique melody is so relieving (especially after a bad day), not to mention how beautiful it sounds when in perfect harmony. Really well done.

    • easylearningweb profile imageAUTHOR

      Amelia Griggs 

      5 years ago

      Thanks, timeiske0425!

    • profile image

      timisle0425 

      5 years ago

      great!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)