ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Stephen King's It 2017 Review

Updated on September 14, 2017
Source

Author Stephen King has entertained audiences worldwide with a vast a collection of suspenseful stories throughout the decades but one character is arguably his most terrifying, Pennywise the Dancing Clown. Pennywise the Dancing Clown made his debut in Stephen King’s 1986 novel “It” and then in a 1990 a made for television film airing on ABC. The made for-television-film “It” was a combined 4 hour film including commercials airing over 2 nights split between a Part I and Part II. The town of Derry, Maine has an unusually high disappearance rate higher than the national average and Pennywise is directly responsible. He emerges every 27 years to torment the residents of Derry, especially children. A group of 7 friends come together to take a stand against Pennywise after each one of them has had their own frightening experience. Pennywise has the ability to become its prey’s worst fears and they call him It. Part I revolves around the group of friends as kids and Part II as adults decades later. “It” was remade and released on September 8, 2017 in theaters coincidently 27 years after the original. The 1990 and 2017 films each have their differences and similarities. “It” debuted #1 in its first weekend of September 8th-10th generating over 123 million dollars screening in 4,100 theaters.

The “It” film of 2017 begins on a rainy day in October 1988, with Bill helping his little brother Georgie prepare a paper boat for sailing. Bill is sick and stays inside the house cautioning Georgie to be careful sailing his boat along the curb of the street. Georgie is having fun running in the street alongside his boat when it suddenly goes down into the sewer. He is distraught and gets down close the sewer opening in an attempt to get back his boat. Pennywise the Dancing Clown appears startling Georgie. He is visibly confused and uncomfortable but Pennywise gains his trust discussing Georgie’s favorite food, popcorn. A nervous Georgie reaches to retrieve his boat from Pennywise and becomes his latest victim.

The 2017 remake of “It” mostly centers on summer recess 1989 of a small group of friends. School friends Bill, Richie, Eddie, and Stanley are the initial group and then are joined by Ben, the new kid, Beverly, who is perceived as promiscuous, and Mike, who is home schooled. Bill never made peace with his younger brother Georgie’s disappearance and leads in the group into an investigation. Each member of the group encounters a chilling experience with Pennywise and one of them is captured. This directly motivates the group of friends to retaliate and rescue their missing friend. The school bully Henry is intent on killing the group as well.

One of the best methods to determine a good film is its ability to engage the viewer and keep them interested. “It” of 2017 benefits from name recognition and keeps the viewer in constant suspense. The writer, director, cast, and the entire production team all do a great job in retelling the story of Stephen King’s “It”. The music sets the tone for every changing mood, the groups of kids deliver a performance that make you recount your youth and cheer for their survival, Pennywise the Dancing Clown is deathly scary, and director Andy Muschietti captures it all brilliantly. The visual effects of the bloody sink scene featuring Beverly is impressively astounding. The remake of "It" is not bound by the restrictions of the made-for-television 1990 version and it clearly reflected in its Rated R rating. IMDb ranks the “It” remake 8.1 stars out of 10 and Rotten Tomatoes 86%. There is currently a sequel in the works.

Sources:

Box Office: Stephen King’s ‘It’ Officially Opens to Massive $123 Million

http://variety.com/2017/film/news/it-box-office-stephen-king-movie-opening-weekend-1202553361/amp/

Entertainment Weekly

Stephen King’s It: Exclusive new details on the sequel

http://ew.com/movies/2017/09/11/stephen-king-it-sequel-details/amp/

Which version of Stephen King's "It" is your favorite?

See results

© 2017 Angel Guzman

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Jeremy Gill profile image

      Jeremy Gill 

      5 months ago from Louisiana

      @Poppy

      Right with you. The original had a few moments I liked, but wasn't worth the painfully long run-time. I think the brand mostly attracts the following it has because clowns are simply creepy haha. But who knows, maybe the new one will scare us!

    • Coffeequeeen profile image

      Louise Powles 

      9 months ago from Norfolk, England

      I've seen the 1st movie, but not got round to watching this one yet though. I'll have to though, as I'm interested to see what it's like.

    • Jackie Lynnley profile image

      Jackie Lynnley 

      9 months ago from The Beautiful South

      I liked Stephen King because he made me a lot of money, owning a bookstore but I could not read his books or watch his movies.

      Tried watching Cujo and I could not handle it! Have to admit I am just a scaredy cat!

    • poppyr profile image

      Poppy 

      9 months ago from Tokyo, Japan

      I saw the original It and thought it was boring. I've yet to see the new one, but I'm glad you enjoyed it!

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 

      11 months ago from England

      By far the best and scariest was the old one. I tried to sit through this one but couldn't get past pennwise's little boy face behind the mask so to speak! Scary? Nah! lol!

    • bethperry profile image

      Beth Perry 

      11 months ago from Tennesee

      Angel, I've been sitting on the fence about seeing this one as my daughter didn't feel it was scary enough. But your review has made me very curious, so I do think I'll give it a try. Thanks for posting!

    • shprd74 profile image

      Hari Prasad S 

      11 months ago from Bangalore

      Angel, I will now in liking to watch it, had ignored it. Now after reading your review I wish not to miss :-).

      - hari

    • Ashish Dadgaa profile image

      Ashi 

      12 months ago

      @Angel Guzman,

      Very nicely written review. I read another review from newspapers and newspapers but your review is something unique and worth reading.

      By the way, Wish you Happy Birthday :)

      Bless You.

    • profile image

      El Mago 

      12 months ago

      Nice review. I saw the movie and I liked it. Keep up the good work!

    • profile image

      Angel Maldonado 

      12 months ago

      Hey Tocayo!

      I really enjoyed this review. Your conclusion explaining exactly what made the movie good was insightful and orginal. Keep up the good work and remember to self edit for the sake of keeping it concise. Good work bro. Amor.

    • Angel Guzman profile imageAUTHOR

      Angel Guzman 

      12 months ago from Joliet, Illinois

      Thank you Jo for taking the time to comment. I hope you take some time and watch "It". At least the original. I just spoke with a friend that doesn't really enjoy horror too and one show that can help bridge that divide is called "Beyond Belief Fact or Fiction". Complete episodes can be found on you tube ;)

    • jo miller profile image

      Jo Miller 

      12 months ago from Tennessee

      Stephen King is one of the best, but I've never like horror stories, especially films. I'm too much of a wimp.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)