ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

Stephen King's It 2017 Review

Updated on September 14, 2017

Author Stephen King has entertained audiences worldwide with a vast a collection of suspenseful stories throughout the decades but one character is arguably his most terrifying, Pennywise the Dancing Clown. Pennywise the Dancing Clown made his debut in Stephen King’s 1986 novel “It” and then in a 1990 a made for television film airing on ABC. The made for-television-film “It” was a combined 4 hour film including commercials airing over 2 nights split between a Part I and Part II. The town of Derry, Maine has an unusually high disappearance rate higher than the national average and Pennywise is directly responsible. He emerges every 27 years to torment the residents of Derry, especially children. A group of 7 friends come together to take a stand against Pennywise after each one of them has had their own frightening experience. Pennywise has the ability to become its prey’s worst fears and they call him It. Part I revolves around the group of friends as kids and Part II as adults decades later. “It” was remade and released on September 8, 2017 in theaters coincidently 27 years after the original. The 1990 and 2017 films each have their differences and similarities. “It” debuted #1 in its first weekend of September 8th-10th generating over 123 million dollars screening in 4,100 theaters.

The “It” film of 2017 begins on a rainy day in October 1988, with Bill helping his little brother Georgie prepare a paper boat for sailing. Bill is sick and stays inside the house cautioning Georgie to be careful sailing his boat along the curb of the street. Georgie is having fun running in the street alongside his boat when it suddenly goes down into the sewer. He is distraught and gets down close the sewer opening in an attempt to get back his boat. Pennywise the Dancing Clown appears startling Georgie. He is visibly confused and uncomfortable but Pennywise gains his trust discussing Georgie’s favorite food, popcorn. A nervous Georgie reaches to retrieve his boat from Pennywise and becomes his latest victim.

The 2017 remake of “It” mostly centers on summer recess 1989 of a small group of friends. School friends Bill, Richie, Eddie, and Stanley are the initial group and then are joined by Ben, the new kid, Beverly, who is perceived as promiscuous, and Mike, who is home schooled. Bill never made peace with his younger brother Georgie’s disappearance and leads in the group into an investigation. Each member of the group encounters a chilling experience with Pennywise and one of them is captured. This directly motivates the group of friends to retaliate and rescue their missing friend. The school bully Henry is intent on killing the group as well.

One of the best methods to determine a good film is its ability to engage the viewer and keep them interested. “It” of 2017 benefits from name recognition and keeps the viewer in constant suspense. The writer, director, cast, and the entire production team all do a great job in retelling the story of Stephen King’s “It”. The music sets the tone for every changing mood, the groups of kids deliver a performance that make you recount your youth and cheer for their survival, Pennywise the Dancing Clown is deathly scary, and director Andy Muschietti captures it all brilliantly. The visual effects of the bloody sink scene featuring Beverly is impressively astounding. The remake of "It" is not bound by the restrictions of the made-for-television 1990 version and it clearly reflected in its Rated R rating. IMDb ranks the “It” remake 8.1 stars out of 10 and Rotten Tomatoes 86%. There is currently a sequel in the works.


Box Office: Stephen King’s ‘It’ Officially Opens to Massive $123 Million

Entertainment Weekly

Stephen King’s It: Exclusive new details on the sequel

Which version of Stephen King's "It" is your favorite?

See results

© 2017 Angel Guzman


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Coffeequeeen profile image

      Louise Powles 3 months ago from Norfolk, England

      I've seen the 1st movie, but not got round to watching this one yet though. I'll have to though, as I'm interested to see what it's like.

    • Jackie Lynnley profile image

      Jackie Lynnley 3 months ago from The Beautiful South

      I liked Stephen King because he made me a lot of money, owning a bookstore but I could not read his books or watch his movies.

      Tried watching Cujo and I could not handle it! Have to admit I am just a scaredy cat!

    • poppyr profile image

      Poppy 3 months ago from Tokyo, Japan

      I saw the original It and thought it was boring. I've yet to see the new one, but I'm glad you enjoyed it!

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 5 months ago from England

      By far the best and scariest was the old one. I tried to sit through this one but couldn't get past pennwise's little boy face behind the mask so to speak! Scary? Nah! lol!

    • bethperry profile image

      Beth Perry 5 months ago from Tennesee

      Angel, I've been sitting on the fence about seeing this one as my daughter didn't feel it was scary enough. But your review has made me very curious, so I do think I'll give it a try. Thanks for posting!

    • shprd74 profile image

      Hari Prasad S 5 months ago from Bangalore

      Angel, I will now in liking to watch it, had ignored it. Now after reading your review I wish not to miss :-).

      - hari

    • Ashish Dadgaa profile image

      Ashi 6 months ago

      @Angel Guzman,

      Very nicely written review. I read another review from newspapers and newspapers but your review is something unique and worth reading.

      By the way, Wish you Happy Birthday :)

      Bless You.

    • profile image

      El Mago 6 months ago

      Nice review. I saw the movie and I liked it. Keep up the good work!

    • profile image

      Angel Maldonado 6 months ago

      Hey Tocayo!

      I really enjoyed this review. Your conclusion explaining exactly what made the movie good was insightful and orginal. Keep up the good work and remember to self edit for the sake of keeping it concise. Good work bro. Amor.

    • Angel Guzman profile image

      Angel Guzman 6 months ago from Joliet, Illinois

      Thank you Jo for taking the time to comment. I hope you take some time and watch "It". At least the original. I just spoke with a friend that doesn't really enjoy horror too and one show that can help bridge that divide is called "Beyond Belief Fact or Fiction". Complete episodes can be found on you tube ;)

    • jo miller profile image

      Jo Miller 6 months ago from Tennessee

      Stephen King is one of the best, but I've never like horror stories, especially films. I'm too much of a wimp.