ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Stick Man Film Review

Updated on December 30, 2017
Source

About the film

Film Information:

Director: Jeroen Jaspaert, Daniel Snannon

Producers: Martin Pope, Michael Rose, Mike Buckland (co-producer), Barney Goodland (associate producer), Daryl Shoote (associate producer)

Running time: 27 minutes

Genre: Short, Family, Animation

Distributed by: Magic Light Pictures


Stick Man is based on the book written by Julia Donaldson. This was on our television screens on Christmas Day. Although I've seen this before, I decided to watch it again as I really enjoyed it first time round and it's such a cute animation. Although a short film at just 27 minutes long, it is a beautifully made story about a stick man and his family. First aired in 2015, Stick Man is out for his usual morning jog when a series of unfortunate events happens which takes him further and further away from home. And as the seasons pass, will he ever be able to make it home for Christmas?

Stick Man lives in a tree with his stick wife and 3 stick children. The film begins with Stick Man playing with his children and riding a sledge in the snow as his wife happily watches them from their tree house. As Stick Man goes out for his morning jog, things start going horribly wrong for him. It's through no fault of his own that things start happening to him. In the first instance, a dog catches him, thinking he is just a lifeless stick to be played with. Then, throughout the course of the short film, we see how he ends up in the sea going further and further out to see, is used as part of a nest and very nearly used as kindling on a fire! We see how Stick Man survives his ordeal and how poor Stick Lady is at home worrying. Will Stick Man ever make it home to his family?

Source
Actor
Character
Jennifer Saunders
Narrator (voice)
Martin Freeman
Stick Man (voice)
Sally Hawkins
Stick Lady (voice)
Isabel Ainsworth
Stick Girl (voice)
Hugh Bonneville
Santa (voice)
Source

My Thoughts

This is a beautifully made animation. At just 27 minutes long, this is a lovely short film which children will love. The stick family look really cute, especially the small children of twigs. I love the storyline and I feel the story keeps you watching as you want to know what happens to Stick Man. Some parts of the film are a little bit worrying, especially when he gets picked up by the little boy and drifting out to sea. But I think it's well worth watching.

The animations are really clear and well made. The twigs and sticks look really good, and even when they talk, you can see their little facial expressions. Really cute! For anyone who's got small children, I would definitely recommend this short film. The storyline is really good, and it keeps you watching right to the end to see what happens. The animations and graphics I found to be superb too.

Source

Stick Man Official Trailer

© 2017 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • kikalina profile image

      kikalina 

      8 weeks ago from Europe

      I haven't watched this yet but will definitely watch it with the kids after reading this review. Thanks

    • profile image

      Shizette 

      7 months ago

      My kids (and I) loved this movie... and still occasionally watch it!

    • Shyron E Shenko profile image

      Shyron E Shenko 

      8 months ago from Texas

      I love cartoon movies and don't know how I missed this one. Thank you Louise for telling us about it. I will look for it.

      Blessings my friend.

    • Jackie Lynnley profile image

      Jackie Lynnley 

      8 months ago from The Beautiful South

      I saw this, too, it was really cute. I love cartoon movies that are done up right. I am a kid at heart I guess. Wish there were more of them.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      8 months ago from Norfolk, England

      Thankyou. Yes, it is a lovely little film. I really enjoyed it. And Stick Man is sooo cute!

    • NessMovieReviews profile image

      Mother of Movies and Series Reviews 

      8 months ago from Moreton Bay, Queensland

      I’ve seen this twice too. The first time by happy accident. I adore this story. It’s so simple and so well executed I think I could happily watch it a few times more. My two sons wanted more the last time we watched it.

      I would love it if they played these types of thing more regularly on free to air as I have seen there are Gruffalo stories with a similar vibe to it.

      Good that you are promoting this, its a lovely 27 minutes to watch with kids.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      8 months ago from Norfolk, England

      It was made for the BBC, so maybe it'll show in other Countries before long. It's a great story for the children.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      8 months ago from USA

      I've never heard of Stick Man but based on your review, I'd watch it. I sure welcome any good new Christmas movies. Short movies are good! Cute little characters.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)