ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Supernatural Season One Review

Updated on March 13, 2011

The Official Supernatural TV Series Companion Books On Amazon

The Pilot Episode - The Woman In White

Sometimes there are some great points about pilot episodes that make them the best, if the show is the right show to be on air like Supernatural has proved itself over the years.

The pilot episode plays like a movie that obviously has to set the story up, so it's a plot point flash back 23 years ago when Sam and Dean are very young(well Sams a baby and dean is a young kid!) and the kids have been put to bed and all is well until the baby monitor and lights in the house start to flicker,later in the series that follow we learn that this is the sign of the yellow eyed demon when he is around there are electrical disturbances.

Mary Winchester checks on Sam and Sees what appears is their father at Sam's crib, so she thinks nothing of it and walks downstairs, but she sees the father aspleep in the chair with the telly on and then she runs back upstairs.

The father wakes up and goes to check upstairs, but sees the mum on the ceiling with a gutted stomach and then she bursts into flames, the father grabs Sam and gets Dean and they escpape the burning house....

After we see this introduction sequence we cut to Sam at 23 years of age and at University on the verge of graduation and later on that same day Sam's older brother Dean turns and says that their father has gone missing and wold Sam come with him to help him find him.

This pretty much sets thing up for the rest of the series, with the hunt for their father and the yellow eyed demon that killed their mum and Sam's girlfriend Jessica

The first series looking back had to find it's roots and like any show it did go through a routine monster of the week formula like the X-files, but towards the end of the series it did redeem itself by expanding the demon mythology and with a classic cliffhanger that left us wondering - oh dear what now?

The supernatural elements of every episode play like little movies and there are some obvious nods to other classic horror films, which if you're a fan you'll notice and like the references.

All in all this was a great opening series and one that got better and better as time went on.

It's worth checking out if you haven't watched any Supernatural episodes.

Supernatural Series 1 On DVD From Amazon

Supernatural First Series Review

Supernatural First Series Review and opening episode.
Supernatural First Series Review and opening episode.

Supernatural Comments On The Pilot Episode

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      I do too, tis a good show!!

    • suziecat7 profile image

      suziecat7 

      9 years ago from Asheville, NC

      We watch this show all the time. Thanks for the review.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers Sweets and Dame

      It's a great series and one that has lots of horror an gory moments in it which is nice, but bad if you don't like that sort of thing.

    • SweetiePie profile image

      SweetiePie 

      9 years ago from Southern California, USA

      I had never heard of this series before, so thanks for sharing.

    • Dame Scribe profile image

      Dame Scribe 

      9 years ago from Canada

      I have enjoyed the series so far also and have my sons interested now. Can't forget to mention the young girls love the Winchester boys, lol. :)

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      9 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      It really is a good series, but you may be able to see repeats on your tv as we are up to season 5 now and it's still a good tv show!! and as there are demons in it, there are also angels in it that are sometimes a bad as the demons!! which makes for a nice contrast.

    • robertsloan2 profile image

      robertsloan2 

      9 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      Interesting. I'm glad it went farther into the dramatic than the usual round of 'ooo ghosts.' The titled didn't suggest it'd be anything that great, just ghosts and Oh Is It Real and Do You Believe and all that. But the pilot you described has a much bigger conflict and a more comics-like formula. It's something specific and personal for those characters to fight off that demon. Coolness. I might have to rent this and see if I like it.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)