ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Five Year Engagement - Movie Review

Updated on May 5, 2012
Source

The Five Year Engagement is awesome!

Yes, the title gives it away - a couple who are engaged for 5 years. Could be a recipe for cliche and we've seen it all before. Instead, The Five Year Engagement is a cleverly written and superbly acted and directed tour de force romantic comedy that offers belly laughs, poignancy, and well timed aha moments to its audience.

Written by Jason Segel and Nicholas Stoller (Bridesmaids) and starring Jason Segel, Emily Blunt and Chris Pratt the film takes the audience through the ups and downs of a truly in love couple who just can't manage to make it down the aisle.

In a nice reverse of stereotyping girl follows boy, boy follows giirl and with well timed delivery we laugh our way through the ups and downs of the relationship. There are some tender moments and some great one liners and cameo's by the parents of the bride and groom to be or not to be.

The film is rated 14A and I took both my daughters ages 14 and 13 - there are a couple of scenes that I groaned inwardly having the younger one see but they were all humour moments.

Definitely a good date or family (with teens) or go with a friend movie and a real pick me up if a good laugh is what you are hoping for.

To see the trailer click here: http://movies.yahoo.com/movie/the-fiveyear-engagement/trailers/

5 out of 5 stars from 1 rating of The Five Year Engagement

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Lizam1 profile image
      Author

      Lizam1 5 years ago from Victoria BC

      jools99 I hope you enjoy it and of course good movies are best watched with great friends!

    • Jools99 profile image

      Jools99 5 years ago from North-East UK

      Good review - I really like the look of this one becuase both Jason Segel and Emily Blunt have really good comic timing. This review has convinced me I need to see it :o)

    • Lizam1 profile image
      Author

      Lizam1 5 years ago from Victoria BC

      I hope you enjoy it redberry sky!

    • Redberry Sky profile image

      Redberry Sky 5 years ago

      Sounds like a nice film to see at the weekend with some popcorn.

      I usually like films with Emily Blunt in, but I hadn't heard of this one until I read your Hub. That's my Friday night entertainment sorted out :)

    • Lizam1 profile image
      Author

      Lizam1 5 years ago from Victoria BC

      I hope you enjoy Rahul0324 - thanks for reading.

    • rahul0324 profile image

      Jessee R 5 years ago from Gurgaon, India

      I liked Emily Blunt in The Devil Wears Prada.. and I have loved Jason Segal all through How I met Your Mother!

      After reading the review.. I am looking forward to see the movie!

    • Lizam1 profile image
      Author

      Lizam1 5 years ago from Victoria BC

      Teaches 1234 so long as your friends have a sense of humour:-)...

      Pamela99 yes, light and in my opinion funny but I note on yahoo that others don't agree

      d.william - I love seeing things on the big screen but we don't go that often. A DVD will work too - hope you enjoy.

      cdemp11 I really liked it but there are other opinions out there....

    • cdemp11 profile image

      cdemp11 5 years ago from GA, USA

      Thanks for the review! Been wondering about how good it is.

    • d.william profile image

      d.william 5 years ago from Somewhere in the south

      I have seen this movie advertised on T.V. and can't wait til the DVD is available, as i rarely attend movies at the theatre. Thanks for the thumbs up.

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 5 years ago from United States

      This movie sounds like a light, entertaining love story. Thanks for the reviews.

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 5 years ago

      I do love a good romantic comedy. This sounds like a good one to catch for a relaxing matinee with friends. Thanks for sharing.