ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Five Year Engagement - Movie Review

Updated on May 5, 2012
Source

The Five Year Engagement is awesome!

Yes, the title gives it away - a couple who are engaged for 5 years. Could be a recipe for cliche and we've seen it all before. Instead, The Five Year Engagement is a cleverly written and superbly acted and directed tour de force romantic comedy that offers belly laughs, poignancy, and well timed aha moments to its audience.

Written by Jason Segel and Nicholas Stoller (Bridesmaids) and starring Jason Segel, Emily Blunt and Chris Pratt the film takes the audience through the ups and downs of a truly in love couple who just can't manage to make it down the aisle.

In a nice reverse of stereotyping girl follows boy, boy follows giirl and with well timed delivery we laugh our way through the ups and downs of the relationship. There are some tender moments and some great one liners and cameo's by the parents of the bride and groom to be or not to be.

The film is rated 14A and I took both my daughters ages 14 and 13 - there are a couple of scenes that I groaned inwardly having the younger one see but they were all humour moments.

Definitely a good date or family (with teens) or go with a friend movie and a real pick me up if a good laugh is what you are hoping for.

To see the trailer click here: http://movies.yahoo.com/movie/the-fiveyear-engagement/trailers/

5 out of 5 stars from 1 rating of The Five Year Engagement

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Lizam1 profile imageAUTHOR

      Lizam1 

      6 years ago from Scotland

      jools99 I hope you enjoy it and of course good movies are best watched with great friends!

    • Jools99 profile image

      Jools Hogg 

      6 years ago from North-East UK

      Good review - I really like the look of this one becuase both Jason Segel and Emily Blunt have really good comic timing. This review has convinced me I need to see it :o)

    • Lizam1 profile imageAUTHOR

      Lizam1 

      6 years ago from Scotland

      I hope you enjoy it redberry sky!

    • Redberry Sky profile image

      Redberry Sky 

      6 years ago

      Sounds like a nice film to see at the weekend with some popcorn.

      I usually like films with Emily Blunt in, but I hadn't heard of this one until I read your Hub. That's my Friday night entertainment sorted out :)

    • Lizam1 profile imageAUTHOR

      Lizam1 

      6 years ago from Scotland

      I hope you enjoy Rahul0324 - thanks for reading.

    • rahul0324 profile image

      Jessee R 

      6 years ago from Gurgaon, India

      I liked Emily Blunt in The Devil Wears Prada.. and I have loved Jason Segal all through How I met Your Mother!

      After reading the review.. I am looking forward to see the movie!

    • Lizam1 profile imageAUTHOR

      Lizam1 

      6 years ago from Scotland

      Teaches 1234 so long as your friends have a sense of humour:-)...

      Pamela99 yes, light and in my opinion funny but I note on yahoo that others don't agree

      d.william - I love seeing things on the big screen but we don't go that often. A DVD will work too - hope you enjoy.

      cdemp11 I really liked it but there are other opinions out there....

    • cdemp11 profile image

      cdemp11 

      6 years ago from GA, USA

      Thanks for the review! Been wondering about how good it is.

    • d.william profile image

      d.william 

      6 years ago from Somewhere in the south

      I have seen this movie advertised on T.V. and can't wait til the DVD is available, as i rarely attend movies at the theatre. Thanks for the thumbs up.

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 

      6 years ago from Sunny Florida

      This movie sounds like a light, entertaining love story. Thanks for the reviews.

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 

      6 years ago

      I do love a good romantic comedy. This sounds like a good one to catch for a relaxing matinee with friends. Thanks for sharing.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)