ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Entertainment and Media»
  • Movies & Movie Reviews

"The Artist" Review

Updated on January 3, 2015
Jean Dujardin as George Valentin
Jean Dujardin as George Valentin
Jean Dujardin and Berenice Bejo
Jean Dujardin and Berenice Bejo
John Goodman in "The Artist"
John Goodman in "The Artist"

"The Artist"

The Artist is a charming black and white mostly silent movie about George Valentin, a major silent film superstar who resembles Rudolph Valentino, and his difficulties making the transition from silent film to "talkies" in 1929.

Jean Dujardin is marvelous as the lead, capturing the exaggerated facial and body language by used silent film actors in their craft. Bernice Bejo was outstanding as well as the young Pepper Miller who Valentin helped get a start in Hollywood and who soon eclipsed her mentor as sound quickly supplanted silent films. John Goodman captured his role as the cigar chomping silent film producer, and James Cromwell was superb as Valentin's driver and manservant.

This clever, well acted movie, directed by Michel Hazanavicius, is one of the best I've seen recently. Highly Recommended.



The Artist Trailer

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Millionaire Tips profile image

      Shasta Matova 5 years ago from USA

      It does look like a good movie. I am going to have to see it.

    • tschaunerb profile image

      tschaunerb 5 years ago from Medicine Hat

      This one kind of snuck up on me. Can not wait to see it.

    • Jools99 profile image

      Jools99 5 years ago from North-East UK

      I really like the look of The Artist but not at the cinema, it'll be too quiet, except for people munching popcorn etc. I will wait til it's out on DVD though and see it then. Good hub, very interesting, voted up.

    • Ralph Deeds profile image
      Author

      Ralph Deeds 5 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Thanks for your comments.

    • phdast7 profile image

      Theresa Ast 5 years ago from Atlanta, Georgia

      Looks interesting. Thanks for the review. :)

    • profile image

      Nina Meister 5 years ago

      It was riveting. People who are worried about it being silent need not worry.

      It is SO uplifting and SO entertaining that it compensates for dialogue. You can HEAR the words in your head as you see the actors' mouths move.

      The actress's character's name is PEPPY (not PEPPER) Miller....very related to her character!

      What this film does is emulate the feel-good movies made during the Great Depression, to make Americans feel better. This movie does that, and more!

    • Stevennix2001 profile image

      Steven Escareno 5 years ago

      Excelsior! Excellent review, as i think you summed it up best. I think "The Artist" is hands down one of the best films of last year. :) Thanks for the review.

    • Ralph Deeds profile image
      Author

      Ralph Deeds 2 years ago from Birmingham, Michigan

      Thanks, Nina and Stevenn.

    Click to Rate This Article