ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The BFG Film Review

Updated on March 20, 2018

About the film

Released: 2016

Director: Stephen Spielberg

Producer: Stephen Spielberg

Running time: 1 hour 57 mins

Genre: Family, Fantasy, Action

Budget: $140,000,000

Distributed by: Walt Disney Studios

The Cast

Mark Rylance - The BFG

Ruby Barnhill - Sophie

Bill Hader- Bloodbottler

Jemaine Clement - Fleshlumpeater,

Penelope Wilton - Queen Elizabeth II

The Film

Based on the Roald Dahl book, The BFG has had a makeover with this 2016 film. Sophie is a 10 year old little girl who lives in an Orphanage. It's not a very nice one either, and she's not very happy there. One night she can't sleep and is reading a book. When she looks out of the window she spots a giant of an old man. The giant captures her and takes her to Giant Country. Because Sophie has seen the giant, he informs her that she must stay with him for the rest of her life because she spotted him. Initially, she is scared and nervous, but she grows to like him and nicknames him The BFG. She thinks he is a big friendly giant, so shortens his name to BFG.

Giant Country also inhabits 9 other giants, who are much bigger and taller than The BFG. Actually, they make The BFG look like a midget when you see them together! And these giants are hungry for 'human beans.' Fleshlumpeater is the leader of the giants and smells Sophie when he goes into the BFG's home. With a world full of mystical dreams and nightmares, we see how Sophie warms to The BFG and he, in return, protects her from these giants. The BFG is being bullied by these larger giants, and we see how The BFG and Sophie stand up to these horrid giants.

My Thoughts

Of course, with this being a Stephen Spielberg film, you can expect excellence. And you get this in abundance. The magic of Giant Country is lovely and I love how they make The BFG and the other giants look so realistic. The part I really enjoyed the best was when they visited Dream Country to catch dreams. I thought this was beautifully done, and so magical.

The Queen, played by Penelope Wilton, plays a good part. Sophie and The BFG go to visit her after giving her a nightmare about the giants eating children. They plan to ask her to send soldiers to help with getting rid of the giants and stop them from eating children. It's quite surreal seeing someone play the Queen and having a child and giant round for breakfast. I found this scene quite entertaining to watch.

I've not read the book or watched the original BFG film, so the story is new to me. I've always admired Stephen Spielberg, so new this would be another one of his great movies. Although aimed for children, I really did enjoy watching this. The graphics are excellent. I love how they made the giants look so realistic, and Sophie so tiny stood next to them. Even The BFG looked small compared to the 9 other, more larger giants. I love how The BFG talks and the words and phrases he used. This is a beautifully well made film, and would thoroughly recommend it if you haven't seen it already.

Us giants is making whizzpoppers all the time! Whizzpopping is a sign of happiness. It is music in our ears! You surely is not telling me that a little whizzpopping is forbidden among human beans.

— The BFG

The BFG official trailer

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Leland Johnson profile image

      Leland Johnson 

      4 weeks ago from Midland MI

      Louise- I just looked and this movie is on Netflix so I'll be watching it today :) Thank you for your awesome review. I love how concise and to the point your reviews are. I also like that you include the vital statistics at the top of the page and then include the trailer. It makes for a very good, easy read. I'm going to emulate your formatting technique I think. I can be a little long winded. Great job!

    • Sean Dragon profile image

      Ioannis Arvanitis 

      2 months ago from Greece, Almyros

      I loved the film, but I liked your review too. My dear Louise, you have a Heart which I admire!

      Keep on the excellent work!

      Sean

    • jo miller profile image

      Jo Miller 

      3 months ago from Tennessee

      I haven't heard of this movie but since I have grandchildren visiting next week, I'll have to check it out. Thanks for the review.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      3 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      I loved watching the trailer. I want to watch the movie and read the book now that I've read your article. I've enjoyed reading other Roald Dahl books, so I expect I'll like The BFG as well.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      3 months ago from The Caribbean

      Stephen Spielberg has an imagination to be reckoned with. Sounds like a film the grandchildren will like.

    • RoadMonkey profile image

      RoadMonkey 

      3 months ago

      I have read the book, several times and seen the original cartoon many times too. I have not seen all of this but most of it and it is really good, brings Roald Dahl's story to life, again.

    • Penny Sebring profile image

      Penny Sebring 

      3 months ago from Fort Collins

      As a fan of the book, I was thrilled to see that this movie was filled with the same wonder.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 

      3 months ago from Ontario, Canada

      I haven't seen this one yet and after reading your hub, I will definitely watch it. The director is great so I would expect it would be worth watching.

    • Claire-louise profile image

      Claire Raymond 

      3 months ago from UK

      I agree with you on this one, it's an enjoyable film for adults. I adored the books as a kid.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      3 months ago from USA

      I missed this one, although I often catch the kid movies because I take my nephews and nieces to the movies. Thanks for drawing attention to it. I’ll have to find it on Amazon or Netflix.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)